We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location between Quito & Airport”

Ventana Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ventana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #148 of 251 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is a 40 min drive only from the new airport, quietly located with view into a valley. The family cooks dinner quite tasty. The hotel allowed us to leave the luggage there for our 5 day trip to Galapagos free of charge. This was very nice. The hosts were nice, but not very welcoming and did not care a lot about the guests (e.g. closed gate whenever we arrived taking us long to get into the hacienda - no apologies etc.). We had an electric breakdown the night, so no light for dinner, no warm shower even in the morning. Unfortunately the hotel still charged full price, no discount offered due to all the hassle we accepted. This was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TitschMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

It is common for people from North America to fly into Quito late at night and then have to spend the night in the Quito area before catching an onward early flight to Cuenca, for example.

Here is a much better idea - spend the day relaxing between your flights instead of rushing back to the airport to catch an early flight. It takes between 25 and 30 minutes to get to this B&B, which is really more of a resort style place. It has nice views, plenty of flowers and paths to explore, as well as places to just sit and relax.

Settle in for the evening after you arrive, sleep in if you want, then enjoy the peace and get yourself ready for your next flight.

Room Tip: If you have less than excellent night vision, ask for a room closer to the entrance as the paths are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had some business in Quito but my wife developed a bronchial infection the first week in a Quito hotel. We looked for somewhere with cleaner air and less altitude for her recuperation whilst I concluded our business. Found Ventana B&B, about 30 minutes from Quito, on the internet and drove out to check it out. Guadalupe showed me around this sprawling B&B on the side of a hillside outside Tumbaco with it's spectacular valley views.
We moved the next day, expecting to stay a week, but we stayed two. On arrival Guadalupe made a traditional coca tea for my wife and brought fresh fruit to our room. During her recuperation Guadalupe made a traditional medicine each day, which really helped. It was like having a mother to help my wife recover.
We ate so well during our stay. Guadalupe and daughter Cynthia are amazing cooks and the food was delicious. Our room with a balcony overlooking the valley was a very relaxing experience. There is also a pool filled with spring water to refresh.
We invited friends to dinner to experience an amazing three course meal, with some great wines.
Being out of town means you need transport or taxis to take you anywhere, but this is why it is so peaceful.
The beds were so comfortable it was hard to get out of bed each morning.
All the staff were wonderful; and very patient with our very very limited Spanish. Cynthia speaks very good English and by the end of our stay Guadalupe, who only speaks Spanish, was getting the hang of the iPad and Google translator.
If you expect room service then it is not for you. It is run by a family with few staff. But if you want to feel welcome and comfortable like at home, then enjoy this great location and this wonderful family.
We will definitely be staying again whenever we need to go back to Quito.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450TonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Most taxis, even local ones, don't know this location. I had a good map, but our really professional hotel driver had to look at it about 10 times or more. From Quito he stopped three times or more, asking local taxis and local people, and finally found it. Took 40 minutes, and he only charged $15. Could have been $30 or more. Unless you really want to be out in the countryside with a very nice, but not great view, you might want to stay elsewhere. The property is very extensive..but also ancient, in a bad way, and crumbling. Mostly unusable. If you look carefully (we did), you will notice that some of the improvements, made MANY years ago, seem to be falling off the cliff due to earthquake damage, most probably. When it was new, it was certainly a luxury villa for some rich guy from Quito. NOT today. The gardens are grossly overgrown. I just wanted to get out my shearing scissors and start working. We were looking forward to the pool/ spa, so upon check-in (they helped with the luggage, at least) we asked if the spa was heated. She said "It's almost too hot to get in"..Since we like it hot, we were excited. What we found..cold, dirty water..wouldn't dream of getting in! Basically, looked abandoned. Oh, well. That's why we have Tripadvisor! To warn people. The room is just OK, the included breakfast was about average for Ecuador..smallish but good quality..the airport is 25 minutes away (early morning traffic) and the staff generally friendly..but the price..ended up being over $90..They added on the tax and service..the only hotel in Ecuador that did that..including the Galapagos. We paid much less ($50) in the center of Quito, half as much in Galapagos, and 1/4th as much in Banos..4 nights for $90..all similar grades of lodging, but nicer. They are charging what they would if the property was pristine/new/usable, which it isn't. Sorry..stay away..would definitely NOT go back!

Room Tip: Choose another lodging!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jinbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Only 40 minutes from the new airport, we booked here in order to avoid going all the way into Quito and it was SOOOOO worth it! The staff is incredibly helpful--let them know you want dinner because their food was hands down the best of the trip. The sweeping vista views and pristine rooms were fantastic (only downfall was lack of a/c, which wasn't a dealbreaker in the altitude) but the best part---was drinking a beer while playing pool on the back patio--absolutely fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The new Quito airport is at least an hour from Quito - and that's if you are travelling late at night when the traffic is only bad and not horrific. Ventana is a good alternative if you need to get to the airport for an early international flight. It is about 25 minutes away.

It can be a bit of a challenge for taxis to find, but we made it after a last minute booking and were warmly greeted by the owner.

The service is very friendly and the included breakfast was better than average. The staff also gave us helpful tips for the rest of our trip.

We liked it so much that we changed our reservations so we could stay there for our last night in Ecuador. Because we were leaving before breakfast would be served, the owner brought a couple of sandwiches and juice to our room for a late night snack - very nice touch. They also provided a ride for us to get to the airport on time - much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here the day before we departed from Ecuador on April 9, 2013. It was about 25 or so minutes to the New airport so it was much more convenient than staying in the city, which is about an hour or so with traffic. The place is beautiful! the rooms were clean and the view out of our window was breathtaking. It overlooked the valley below with a raging river cutting through the landscape. We watched the sun set and then had dinner (not included, but worth it!) and it made the night complete. We left for our flight by 2:45 AM and the cab ride got us there in plenty of time for an international flight. He did charge us $25, which we thought was too much. The pool was under renovation so we could not use it. Overall, it made our trip complete because I realize that not everything can be perfect on a trip in a foreign land.

Room Tip: The corner room has the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 116 in Quito
800 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 116 in Quito
721 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventana Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via intervalles km 5.5 y calle Manuel Castro, Quito 1123, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 251 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £67 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventana Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot hill of the Ilalo sacred mountain, 20 minutes drive from the financial area. This is the perfect place to enjoy tranquility and what mother nature has to offer. go to sleep to the sound of the San Pedro river, enjoy the best food in the area at the Cafe de las Cinco Restaurant. The entire property is a Gallery, magnificent gardens, breathtaking views. Make Ventana your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ventana Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing