We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very budget and dirty”
Review of Hostal Marsella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Marsella
Ranked #64 of 258 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very budget and dirty”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I realise you can´t expect much for a place that is so cheap however it could be much better than what it is. I wouldn´t stay there again.
Pros
- Cheap
- Good location, can walk to old town & new town
- It would have a good kitchen if it wasn´t always dirty, unwashed dishes everywhere, dog food on benches.

Cons
- Common areas filthy and smells
- don´t empty the bathroom bins for the whole time we were there. Best to pack some toilet paper.
- Pillows possibily the worst we have come across. Actually woke up with dimples on my face because they are that lump.
- Don´t get Laundry done there. We were due to check out but they hadn´t done our washing. When we asked about it they seemed to have just forgotten about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
22
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a comfortable place in between new and old town. We stayed 5 nights and had no complaints. The owner is very nice and had a lot of great suggestions (basic Spanish helpful here). He also took us to the airport for the same price a taxi charges, but much safer and nicer. Breakfast is good, coffee is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here several times during our journey in Ecuador. (since Quito is the central place of which all busses leave to other cities/places in Ecuador). The location is perfect in between old en new town. The price of 15usd for a clean and comfortable double room (shared bathroom, also clean) is great value. Owner is friendly and helpfull. You can ask him for a citymap and taxi prices. Wifi available in the public hall and it also works in some of the rooms. Cold beer and other drinks also available for reasonable prices. Breakfast is not included in the room price, but available if you need it. Also several (simple) restaurants are close to the hostal if you walk down to the nearby park Alameda. (Tip: try the delecious BBQ sticks from the vendor in the middle of the park for only $1,50)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I walked in to this hostel and booked it immediately. We got a room at the roof top which had a great view of Quito, couple tables and hammocks. Our room was small and cozy, we had private bathroom and TV. I think its a great value for $18 a day! The best thing about this hostel is that its filled with tourists. We met several people from the US and Australia. All of us would hang out on the roof top and drink beers (you can purchase beers from them for the same price as at the store), and the owner was very cool. Honestly, my husband and I came to Quito for couple of days, but we loved our hostel and new friends we made so much, we ended up staying 5 nights! We also met couple people from UK from hostel nearby and even they said that our hostel was better! The only bad thing I can say about this place is that our bed wasnt very comfortable, but its not that big of a deal. If you are backpacking through South America and love having fun, definitely check this place out!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliyatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed here for several weeks upon arrival and before I returned to the states. The owner Estuard is very nice and helpful although he doesnt speak much English. Very tight security and fantastic views from the rooftop. It's noisy the same as anywhere in Quito. There's also a nice Chinese food place open late right down the street, a grocery/goods store, a park, and many other must-sees within in walking distance. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silgray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A very good price for a hostel in a capital city: we paid 18 USD for our double room. Even if our bed seemed to be very old and was not very comfortable, we liked the place. Located close to Parque Alameda with it's Trolley-Station it's between Quito's old city and the new Mariscal quarter. The owner gave us a good map of the city and explained where it's safe to go, how much the taxis cost and what we can do in and around the city. Breakfast was not included in the price but you can get it on most of the days, just ask the owner about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

As some of the other reviews have written here the welcome is not exceptionally friendly but i should say that neither is it rude. The staff do not speak English at all which may explain some of this.

After staying a couple of days the staff did warm up and would give us a smile at least when we said hello. The owner (i think) was much more friendly and smiley and tried his best to help us so not all is bad on this front. Admittedly he was not there the whole time though.

The room was very good and the shower was nice and hot. We had the double room with ensuite on the top floor next to the roof terrace which had quite a nice view over the mountains. This was only partially obstructed by a couple of ugly tower blocks.

The hostal was pretty empty and as such lacked atmosphere so probably not ideal for a single traveller. As far as the location is concerned it is about half way between the old centre and gringolandia which makes it convenient and a 10 minute walk to each. However Quito is not a safe city so making the walk after dark is not advisable! Taxis are a couple of dollars in either direction and the hostal is right next to the Bolivar trolley bus stop (25 cents per trip) so not a big deal.

We arrived on a sunday and the entire area was like a demillitarised zone including gringolandia where almost everything was closed and had the metal shutters up which made everywhere feel unsafe. Avoid sundays if you plan a trip to quito.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a view. If you can manage that in spanish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansdreamworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Margarita 2
Hostal Margarita 2
#34 of 258 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aleida's Hostal
Aleida's Hostal
#14 of 258 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Inn
L'Auberge Inn
#23 of 231 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Melanie
Hostal Melanie
#77 of 231 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chicago Hostal
Chicago Hostal
#56 of 258 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 258 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Marsella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Marsella

Property: Hostal Marsella
Address: Rios n 12-139 y Espinoza, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 258 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Marsella is located in the north of the city center, close to the main tourist attractions and public transport in the city. Our rooms are cozy to meet the needs of our customers. The hostel has rooms with private bathrooms and others with shared bathroom, all of them are simple, cozy and comfortable, the hostel is a colonial house and is run by an Ecuadorian family, have been working approximately 38 years serving our customers. We have cafeteria services, laundry, book exchange, daily cleaning, we have a terrace with a great view and space or area for smokers. Attentively Stuart and Gabriela ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Marsella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing