We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really honest”
Review of Hostal Marsella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Marsella
Ranked #97 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Ok in general you probabely won't find anythin better for this price.
Rooms are basic in our bed where some long black hairs which I asume they didn't clean the sheets.
The only thing I had a big problem with was the manager his lack of fix room prices.
If you will book it on hostelworld you will pay $14 for a double room with private bathroom. If you come back and make a reservation with him personaly you will pay $20. That is what happend with friends of us.

We had a room with shared batroom and he asked $16 because it was a big room he said he asked $8 per person. We whent back a week after got a smaller room and he asked again $8. When I pointed him on that issue he said these are the prices. You could say thats South-America buth a couple blocks furder you pay a bith more with a nicer atmosphere an no hustle.
So if you book online you will get the best deal in this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

I don't think you can find anything better in Quito for this price. The rooms were allright, the bathrooms are big but could be cleaned more often when there are a lot of people. It's nicely located between the old and the new centre, the owner is a nice guy and very helpful, the rest of the staff a bit less but certainly not unfriendly. The breakfast (not included) is good but overpriced. There were some problems with the wifi when we were there, but they were going to be fixed.
All in all, it's very good value for your money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I realise you can´t expect much for a place that is so cheap however it could be much better than what it is. I wouldn´t stay there again.
Pros
- Cheap
- Good location, can walk to old town & new town
- It would have a good kitchen if it wasn´t always dirty, unwashed dishes everywhere, dog food on benches.

Cons
- Common areas filthy and smells
- don´t empty the bathroom bins for the whole time we were there. Best to pack some toilet paper.
- Pillows possibily the worst we have come across. Actually woke up with dimples on my face because they are that lump.
- Don´t get Laundry done there. We were due to check out but they hadn´t done our washing. When we asked about it they seemed to have just forgotten about it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a comfortable place in between new and old town. We stayed 5 nights and had no complaints. The owner is very nice and had a lot of great suggestions (basic Spanish helpful here). He also took us to the airport for the same price a taxi charges, but much safer and nicer. Breakfast is good, coffee is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here several times during our journey in Ecuador. (since Quito is the central place of which all busses leave to other cities/places in Ecuador). The location is perfect in between old en new town. The price of 15usd for a clean and comfortable double room (shared bathroom, also clean) is great value. Owner is friendly and helpfull. You can ask him for a citymap and taxi prices. Wifi available in the public hall and it also works in some of the rooms. Cold beer and other drinks also available for reasonable prices. Breakfast is not included in the room price, but available if you need it. Also several (simple) restaurants are close to the hostal if you walk down to the nearby park Alameda. (Tip: try the delecious BBQ sticks from the vendor in the middle of the park for only $1,50)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I walked in to this hostel and booked it immediately. We got a room at the roof top which had a great view of Quito, couple tables and hammocks. Our room was small and cozy, we had private bathroom and TV. I think its a great value for $18 a day! The best thing about this hostel is that its filled with tourists. We met several people from the US and Australia. All of us would hang out on the roof top and drink beers (you can purchase beers from them for the same price as at the store), and the owner was very cool. Honestly, my husband and I came to Quito for couple of days, but we loved our hostel and new friends we made so much, we ended up staying 5 nights! We also met couple people from UK from hostel nearby and even they said that our hostel was better! The only bad thing I can say about this place is that our bed wasnt very comfortable, but its not that big of a deal. If you are backpacking through South America and love having fun, definitely check this place out!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliyatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed here for several weeks upon arrival and before I returned to the states. The owner Estuard is very nice and helpful although he doesnt speak much English. Very tight security and fantastic views from the rooftop. It's noisy the same as anywhere in Quito. There's also a nice Chinese food place open late right down the street, a grocery/goods store, a park, and many other must-sees within in walking distance. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silgray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 116 in Quito
801 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
10.5 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 116 in Quito
721 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Marsella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Marsella

Address: Rios n 12-139 y Espinoza, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £9 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Marsella is located in the north of the city center, close to the main tourist attractions and public transport in the city. Our rooms are cozy to meet the needs of our customers. The hostel has rooms with private bathrooms and others with shared bathroom, all of them are simple, cozy and comfortable, the hostel is a colonial house and is run by an Ecuadorian family, have been working approximately 38 years serving our customers. We have cafeteria services, laundry, book exchange, daily cleaning, we have a terrace with a great view and space or area for smokers. Attentively Stuart and Gabriela ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Marsella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing