We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”
Review of Hostal Marsella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Marsella
Ranked #72 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
montreal, canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile


The room was ok, the bed wasn't confortable at all and it was pretty noisy at night. The bathroom had a weird smell that it even got into my clothes. You could pratictly hear everything in the other room. I stayed for a couple of days because i was never in my room so it wasn't a big deal for me. the staff was ok sometimes i felt i was bottering them. but for a 10$ room with a private bathroom its not so bad i guess... oh ya and the wifi sucked!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
23
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The staff of the hotel doesn´t talk to you and ignoring you as much as possible. Even saying ´hi´ is too much for them. There is a coffee lounch which is mostly closed. Most of the staff doesn´t speak english. It made a horrible athmospheer.
The bed was as hard as a stone, i never felt something like that before. The room was clean when we got there, but during the week it wasn´t cleaned once, also not the dustbins.
The worst thing was there were DOGS walking around in the hotel (probably of the owners, who live there) and the POO and PIE aswell in the hotel/ on the terras.
Though the shower was hot and there was wifi, which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quito hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Most of the reviews on tripadvisor appear to be positive. With that and the $20 a night rate, why not? After the first night of our reservation, we left. The room and bathroom both had an odd smell. We couldn't really figure it out. The bed had two definite divots and the pillows felt like deteriorating styrofoam. There were exposed wires to the single fluorescent fixture on the ceiling. The shower door was cracked and had a hole in it. There was mold on the floor and on the wall in the shower. There was NO hot water the entire 12 hours we were there. Yes, only 12. Oddly, the 'manager' didn't seem concerned when we decided to leave early - 2 days early. Didn't even ask. Maybe it's just room 14. If that's the case, avoid it at all cost. Also, when we were leaving, we noticed that the wifi was stronger on the sidewalk out front than in room 14. I have included pictures so as to not seem entirely crazy. Hopefully they will not be removed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hostel is awful. The room is dirty. The sheets smell old. The mattress should be thrown out. The bathroom is dirty as well. There is mildew in the shower. They don't allow you to put toliet paper in the toilet. Other hostels we stayed at in rural towns did. Their "hot water on demand" is a joke. Only ice cold water the entire shower. And to top it off their wifi is terrible. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The owners of this hostel were super friendly and helpful. They provide airport transport for a competitive price even from the new airport. They offer a range of options for breakfast. The rooms are clean and comfortable as are the common areas. Very great for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Ok in general you probabely won't find anythin better for this price.
Rooms are basic in our bed where some long black hairs which I asume they didn't clean the sheets.
The only thing I had a big problem with was the manager his lack of fix room prices.
If you will book it on hostelworld you will pay $14 for a double room with private bathroom. If you come back and make a reservation with him personaly you will pay $20. That is what happend with friends of us.

We had a room with shared batroom and he asked $16 because it was a big room he said he asked $8 per person. We whent back a week after got a smaller room and he asked again $8. When I pointed him on that issue he said these are the prices. You could say thats South-America buth a couple blocks furder you pay a bith more with a nicer atmosphere an no hustle.
So if you book online you will get the best deal in this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I don't think you can find anything better in Quito for this price. The rooms were allright, the bathrooms are big but could be cleaned more often when there are a lot of people. It's nicely located between the old and the new centre, the owner is a nice guy and very helpful, the rest of the staff a bit less but certainly not unfriendly. The breakfast (not included) is good but overpriced. There were some problems with the wifi when we were there, but they were going to be fixed.
All in all, it's very good value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 263 in Quito
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Margarita 2
Hostal Margarita 2
#37 of 263 in Quito
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 263 in Quito
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#3 of 233 in Quito
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa CarpeDM
Casa CarpeDM
#2 of 233 in Quito
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Marsella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Marsella

Property: Hostal Marsella
Address: Rios n 12-139 y Espinoza, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Marsella is located in the north of the city center, close to the main tourist attractions and public transport in the city. Our rooms are cozy to meet the needs of our customers. The hostel has rooms with private bathrooms and others with shared bathroom, all of them are simple, cozy and comfortable, the hostel is a colonial house and is run by an Ecuadorian family, have been working approximately 38 years serving our customers. We have cafeteria services, laundry, book exchange, daily cleaning, we have a terrace with a great view and space or area for smokers. Attentively Stuart and Gabriela ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Marsella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing