We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Quito Cultural
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reina Isabel(Quito)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$540
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$467
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$686
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
160
108
33
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
108
33
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationpedestrian streethistoric districtrooms are basic but cleaneggsplace to staytop floorhot showerinternet accessfree breakfastla rondamitad del mundocommunity hostelaliciaplazataxihammocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

As I had read in other reviews, the rooms on the street are noisy. So when i made my reservation I specifically asked for a room in the back on the third floor and they indicated this is what i would get. When I got there the very lovely and warm owner greeted me and proceeded to have her assistant direct me to a second floor room, right on the street. My head was splitting open from the altitude and i wanted to just lay down and recover, but the room was NOISY overlooking a busy street. Then once the traffic died down, the owners lovely family had their dinner right underneath my room, they sounded quite happpy but it made it very difficult to sleep. The inner courtyard is lovely, her art is lovely. Other reviews say they are helpful, this was not my experience, I asked for restaurant suggestions and places to visit that night and received no suggestions besides, "walk around". I asked for water she charged me .50 for an 8oz bottle. I would not recommend this place if you you like quiet. Also The room looks really clean, then I pulled back the bedspread and the blanet had sticky stains.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mray2b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Oké Guest,

Thank you first of all for your honest respons which we can appreciate...
For the time you we here in the hostal i would have liked to been able to help you with your inconveniences.

Noise from the street we have tried to eliminate as much as posible by giving it some extra demping around the windows. Needs to be seen if this will be the solution, but we are working on it. Attention to a guest is always what we try to give, but in your case it lacked some attention. so. Perdon, we haven´t been able to serve you to your wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

The hostel is two min walking from the main square in the old town, it'a very picturesque building, very chilled atmosphere and the staff is great. On my way to quito LAN lost my luggage and the owner of the hostel helped me in every possible way. I'm very thankful and had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear you had a great time here in Quito and your time at the hostal has been a pleasent one. Whenever you feel like coming even back to Ecuador and visit Quito again we hope to see you back!!

Regards,


Dominique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

What you will find when you just arrive at the hostel is the awesome hospitality!
The owners help you a lot how to do tours without agencies and guides, so you can save money and enjoy by yourself.
It's a charming colonial building with comfortable rooms.
If you like to sleep until a litlle bit late, try do not stay at the rooms in the main street (Flores), otherwise you will be awake since 6am, when the loud of the traffic starts. Until that time, it is really really quite.
The breakfast is also good.
If it fits in your bugget, surely is the place where to stay in the Old Town!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are not in the main street (Flores) side.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Hi Nadia,

Thank you for your respons and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality so much!
Feel free to visit us in the near future when we managed to change to hostal to an even better place for our guests.

Saludos desde Quito,

Dominique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I loved staying here. The customer service that the two women who work the front office offer is outstanding; they are very sweet and attentive to the needs of those staying at the hostel. Spanish is the only language offered fluently...most of the English exchanged between hostel stayers and hostel staff was done through Google Translate. But things worked out in the end and there were few, if any, misunderstandings. The breakfasts consisted of a freshly blended delicious fruit smoothie (batido, I think, or something like that), a semi-sweet bread pastry with a soft mild white cheese, coffee, and an omelet scramble with many standard ingredients. It all tasted very good to me. The room was relatively spartan, but clean and more than adequate, and wifi is offered hostel-wide. Shower was a little fickle with water temperature, but not aggravatingly so, and the toilet ran slowly, but got the job done. The bed was comfortable, but street noise always found its way into my room, necessitating ear plugs one of the nights...I was already having trouble sleeping due to one of my traveling mates being mugged at machete-edge near El Panecillo earlier that day (takeaway: ALWAYS be aware of your surroundings and yourself in Quito, and visit El Panecillo via taxi or tour bus). The inner courtyard is much quieter, picturesque, and a nice place to unwind. I wish I could have stayed at this hostel longer (the latter part of my trip landed me in Hotel San Francisco de Quito, which was nice and somewhat more labyrinthine, with a beautiful almost-hidden balcony that overlooks most of the city, but more expensive with a less creative breakfast and wifi only in the lobby). This hostel is in the Centro Historico with plenty of eating options and sites to see nearby. For the price, Hostal Quito Cultural is a winner and I would most likely stay here again when/if I make it back to Quito. I felt secure and all of my belongings, including thousands of $$$'s worth of camera gear destined for the Galapagos, but too bulky to bring on city walks, remained intact and in my possession (albeit locked into a luggage bag that was bicycle-cable-locked to the bedframe...but I never got the feeling that the things I left in the room were at high risk of theft or damage, beyond that of a normal stay at a hostel anywhere).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Bryson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear friend,

It has been a pleasure having you here in our hostal located in the centre of the old town. As far as i can read your stay has been very pleasant. For the future we hope to see you back again. I respond on behalf of Sra. Alicia and my name is Dominique, currently taking care of responding to our guests. We are very pleased to hear your stay has been to your likings; everything except for the noise coming from outside the streets and we want to see for how we can eliminate this for future if possible.


With friendly regards of everybody here in HCQ,

Alicia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

I'm currently staying at the Hostal Quito Cultural and I'm enjoying my stay so far. My first impression was just how cute this place is. I'm a single traveller so I had their one bedroom with a double bed and private bath. The bed is adequately comfortable for the price. The overall cleanliness of the room is average (compare to the Hilton, where I stayed just prior to this). The comforter looks a little dirty. And I probably won't go bare feet on the floor. However, everything else is clean. It can get a little loud from the traffic, people, and street vendors below, but I brought ear plugs so I had no problem falling asleep. The inclusive breakfast was pretty good-I enjoyed the smoothie and the super strong coffee. I'd also like to note that I feel quite safe here. There front door is locked at all times and you need to be buzzed in. I never had to wait more than 2 minutes for someone to open the door for me.

Overall, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOchick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal Q, Gerente at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Viajero agradecemos su comentario y nos comprometemos en mejorar en los pequeños detalles que Ud. nos hace en referencia. Siempre estamos trabajando para ofrecer la mejor experiencia a nuestros huespedes.

Atentamente,

Alicia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews