We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Quito Cultural
Ranked #19 of 228 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bayfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great people, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Quito this time because of the great hotel we found I'd time. It is in a great location right in the middle of old town. The first place we stayed at the begining of our trip wasn't near as nice. This one had a great spacious room on the third floor with a private balcony overlooking the street for our family of five. I would say it had the best shower of our month trip in Ecuador. And nice beds, pillows and sheets. Everything was clean and comfortable the staff was really helpful. They held onto our luggage for the day while we went around town and had to leave on a flight late in the evening. So close to the vibrant street life and the hotel felt very safe and secure. Old town Quito was surprisingly safe feeling as well. We walked all around at night with our three teens and never felt unsafe. There are many well lite streets and police presence is significant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandykthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    107
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
48
110
80
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We got a very big cornered room with an amazing view of the old city. The room was very clean and nice. We always had hot water in the shower.
We arrived in the middle of the night and the hotel offered us a shuttle for a very reasonable price, the driver was waiting for us at the airport he was very nice and polite and explained to us about Quito on the way.
We used the laundry services of the hotel and the cloths came clean the next day.
The owner was lovely! For some weird reason our credit card didn't work at the checkout and we ended up making a wire transfer only when we got back to the US, the owner trusted us and that was very nice of her.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShlomitL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal Q, Director de Recepción at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por escribirnos, esperamos su regreso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We checked the hotel before easter week & choosed the big room(no shelf space,old small tv,noisy street but good location) specifying in details room nr. etc.before paying 1/3 cash as deposit to the receptionist for our 7 days stay!
When we arrived with all our luggage 2 days later ,the owner was at the reception & asked
us for more money then the signed agreement , all cash, if not.....We paid, it was the last week of our 6 month trip and had to ask several times for a receipt!
After 1 hr. unpacking,we wanted to leave the hotel ,when we were stopped at the reception by the owner ...she wanted MORE money...it was horrible! The receptionist was crying & made my wife also crying....we went to the tourist police at once.
She did not come, so the police went with us to the hotel.....she gave us back our money, not before waiting a looong time, because she did not have our money any more.
The police was very patient & even walking with us to the next hotel ,1 block down on Chile street...Thank you we will not forget you! First experience, never happend before..50 years travelling!
Hotel Centro was 1/3 of the price...big room, flat screen tv,garderobe, great view with big window,quiete walking street,very friendly, all day free coffee etc.We had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9Helmut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal Q, Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por escribir una reseña.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

this hostal is in middle of historical centrum with nice rooms hot shower and very friendly staff.
only some minutes to walk to the grand place where the hop on and off bus stopped.
A lot of restaurants and sightseeing points just aaround the corner.
From airport Quito take the bus service to the old airport and than taxi. Its more cheap than taxi if you are travelling alone.
Wifi on all aereas

Room Tip: Try to get a room inside not to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal Q, Owner at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario, siempre pensamos en el cliente y en su bienestar esperamos su regreso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

10Naomi April 25, 2014
The staff were brilliant. Very helpful. Location was perfect. We would go back for sure. If the lovely woman that helps run the places recommends a restaurant.... Go there!
Wifi was a little weak. But we weren't there to hang out in our room so it didn't matter that much. Location really is perfect! It's a lovely city too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomiammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia V, Propietario at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
Google Translation
Estimados amigos
Gracias por su amable presencia.
Agradesco tambien su comentario favorable.
Siempre bienvenidos esta es su casa en Quito.
atte
Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayama, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Alicia Vega, owner and manager of Hostal Quito Cultural, has created an environment that is rich with artistic expression in an old mansion that has been in the family for generations. The three story building, in the center of Quito's magnificent historic district--within walking distance to most sites--has a central patio filled with exuberant tropical plants and flowers and artwork created by Alicia. Every corner of the hostal is covered with native artifacts that give it a very Ecuadorian ambiance. It is good to keep in mind that the house is antique, the mahogany stairs are steep and squeaky--all contributing to the special atmosphere of the place!! The rooms are comfortable, well lit and airy. The bed was soft as a cloud! Plenty of hot water and private bathroom. Cleaning service was very efficient. The breakfast offer was better than the usual continental found at similar places (eggs in any way desired, coffee, tropical fruit juices, delicious freshly-baked buns, coffee or tea). The staff is courteous, although somewhat shy. Excursions are available through the services of Pablo, an experienced tour guide, who really knows his way around Ecuador and is only a phone call away. My wife and I contracted his services to visit: Mitad del Mundo, Otavalo, Pululahua Crater, the Cable car to Pichincha, Cerro Panecillo, Cotopaxi Volcano... He was courteous, very knowledgeable about all these places and, above all, patient with my wife's continuous shopping!! He is definitely an asset to the hostal. His tour fares are very reasonable. We enjoyed Alicia's company at breakfast, even on a tour of the bohemian street filled with cafe's, bars, street singers and youth enjoying their beautiful city and each other. I think it's name is Calle Loja, not sure, but don't miss it. She also accompanied us to a performance of traditional Ecuadorian folk dancing at the Archbishop's palace. Alicia has certainly made for herself and her guests a veritable wonderland. Don't expect the Hilton when you book--or the price-- just a great place that feels like a home away from home. We loved it, enjoyed it, and will certainly book again when we return to Quito next year!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 751Roberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keremeos, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

first off, this hostal has a great location for the old centre sites, and the staff are all very nice. Having said that, during our stay we witnessed that the breakfast staff, some mornings only one lady, were very overworked, with no support, which made us feel awkward at breakfast time. Breakfast itself was only warm on the most un-busy mornings, or when there were at least two ladies working. Simple eggs, coffee or tea, terrible thick juice, and some yogurt and the usual "hockey puck" buns and jam. The highlight of the room was the comfort of the bed, with ample blankets. It was however, very dated, and very small, nowhere to put our large bags. There was good hot water and pressure, if you let it run for a few moments. Wi-fi worked in the room, barely, and snail speed. Very common for Ecuador. Our room became very noisy after 6 am, as we were on the busy street with trolly cars. There was only one staff member who spoke English, and he was only there in the mornings, before the tours or transportation services that he has as a business. We had left our valuables with one lady, and when we wanted to retrieve the package, she was not there that day, and no one spoke english, and no one knew where she had hidden it. Turns out there is no safe, only some hiding spot for valuables. I was not impressed. We also did not like having to be let in and out via ringing the buzzer at the front door gate, although it is good security, it was very inconvenient. There seems to still be something strange going on with some booking agencies, who want to advertise less money for a room than the owner(whom was not there at the time of my stay)is willing to take for it. Everywhere we travelled, we got a better rate than the booking agency price, but if you are one of those people who have to have a room confirmed in advance, be prepared to usually pay too much. Overall, this is not a bad place to spend a couple of nights, but it was the second most expensive place on our 6 week trip, and not nearly the nicest!

Room Tip: Try for a room on the not so busy cross street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainronanejo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mia Leticia
Hostal Mia Leticia
#21 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Quito Cultural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Quito Cultural

Property: Hostal Quito Cultural
Address: Flores N4-160 y Chile, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Quito Cultural 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Quito Cultural born of a XVIII century building at the hands of a French architect, this house currently consists as a heritage of Barrio San Marcos the oldest in Quito. With a rich pre-Columbian history, the capital of Ecuador was founded on the ruins of an Inca city, but offers everything a modern traveler may need. Still one of the best preserved historical sites in Latin America and the UNESCO declared world heritage. The location of the hostel is convenient because it allows travelers to move around the old Quito and know all the baroque jewels, like the monasteries of San Francisco and Santo Domingo, as well as the church and the college of the Company. The hostel rooms have all the amenities to make guests feel comfortable and can enjoy their holiday as they deserve, our main seal of the fraternity is offered by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Quito Cultural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Quito Cultural Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing