We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly”
Review of Hostal La Ronda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Ronda
Ranked #102 of 253 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I picked this hostal out of the blue. It turned out to be a great decision. First, its location is unbeatable. Our suite overlooked La Ronda and for two of the three nights we had front row (balcony) seats to Festival La Ronda. This was totally unexpected and a perfect adjunct to a family vacation.

Secondly, our plans to visit the coast fell through. Gloria and Hernan stepped in to drive us to the coast. They attended to our every need and we felt like royalty. More importantly, we became extended family of sorts. These eight days were fantastic and we spent every one of them involved somehow with Hernan and Gloria. Did this tour cost money? It did but I have no idea if the price was good or bad; all I know is it met our needs and assisted us in a travel crisis.

Hernan and Gloria and their family manage this hostal. It is not without some problems such as have been mentioned and the beds are pretty typical of Ecuador (not especially comfortable). But, its clean and incredibly reasonable and the location is without equal. You feel like a member of their family the minute you walk through the door. If this is the experience you hope to find in Ecuador, you need look no further.

Room Tip: Hot water in Ecuador is often a problem no matter where you are. It is rarely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustyRelique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

I spent three glorious nights at this hostal. The location is unsurpassed. My balcony on the third floor overlooked an ancient street which offered endless entertainment due to the interesting types of people against the backdrop of quaint architecture. I can't imagine a better spot to enjoy the many attractions of the Historical Centre. It was a bit noisy but I occupied a suite where one of the bedrooms was away from the constant bustle of the street. It would be a good idea to bring earplugs. There is a price to pay for atmosphere and it is a small price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leblanc_louise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My stay at this hostal was unexpectedly wonderful. The environment was picturesque, safe, and very clean. I felt secure in my surroundings and this would be a perfect place for a family to stay. In addition to the surroundings, the hostal staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgable. The hostal even provides tours at a very reasonable price. I loved my stay here and would recommend to anyone planning a visit to Quito.
-Roxana and Graciela

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxanaPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I spent a total of 7 nights at Hostal La Ronda. Hernan was very helpful throughout and organised various trips for me to and from the airport and elsewhere. The Hostal is good value - a suite with 3 beds, though I was traveling alone! Hernan does charge more for his transportation, but I was happy to pay extra for the knowledge I was traveling safely and that he was there waiting for me even at remote locations such as Yanacocha. Some others have mentioned the shower and it's true it's not great, though at very low power it was warm. That is the one thing that really could be improved. The restaurant downstairs Negra Tentacion is run by some nice people and the food is good. There and anywhere along the street you can get local delicacies like Empanadas de Morocho and Canelazo.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Great location in the very safe heritage-listed area. Atmospheric old house with wonderfully friendly and helpful hosts, Hernan and Gloria. They organised day trips for us, arranged for our washing to be done and cooked breakfast each morning. At lunch and dinner times the courtyard downstairs became a restaurant. The rooms were comfortable, but unfortunately the old plumbing didn't deliver good hot showers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jands297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We spent an enjoyable 4 nights here. Gloria and Hernan are welcoming hosts. A decent breakfast was served everyday with great coffee.
We were in suite 1 which had a fantastic view of La Virgen del Panecillo. The suites were comfortable and spacious and had a small balcony to soak up the ambience.
Calle La Ronda is a fantastic location in the centro historico and walking distance to all the main sites in the area.
Be aware that it gets very lively on this street at the weekend, so if you are early to bed, you will want to pack your earplugs if you're not prepared to join in the fun.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaMFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Very spacious rooms some with own kitchen and separate bedroom.
Its really in the center of the old town. The rest of Quito including the new town with more disco's, bars etc is easy reachable by bus.
The breakfast is very simple. One sandwich with ham and cheese, scrambelled eggs, fruit juice and tee or coffee.
One minor point is definitely the restaurant which is situated in the patio of the possada, just beneath all the rooms. Especial in the weekend it can be very loud with all the guests staying until 1 am. Forget the sleeping before 2 am. Gloria however (the owner) is very nice and helpful. They can drive or pick you up from the airport for $15. However a taxi is cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john53aruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 113 in Quito
795 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
11.5 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.2 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
715 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 113 in Quito
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Ronda

Address: Juan de Dios Morales Oe 330 Y Guayaquil - La Ronda, Quito 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £29 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUITES - APARTAMENT - HOTEL - HOSTEL "LA RONDA" is located at the heart of Quito's historic center, declared a Cultural Heritage site by UNESCO. The city's history and tradition comes alive when visiting the churchs, museums and national monuments that surround this wonderful colonial building, offering its visitors an experience into the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing