We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Jorge Eco lodges - heaven in Equador”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were looking for a Sth American holiday that featured natural beauty and great birding, and we found the San Jorge Eco lodges in and around Quito. Can't speak highly enough of the whole San Jorge experience. The birding was certainly spectacular, as were the lodges we visited, at Quito, Tandanyapa, and the very special Milpe,, the jewel in the crown.
And as a bonus, San Jorge was able to arrange our 8 day Galapagos cruise including all transfers, on the excellent 16 berth boat The Eden.
Owner Jorge Cruz, his family and all staff at the different lodges were inspiring in their knowledge of and dedication to their environmental ideals - and to our creature comforts! Booking on line was a breeze, thanks to Cheryl, another outstanding member of the team.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I spent 8 days with three fellow bird photographers visiting the Quito, Tandayapa and Milpe lodges. We photographed birds on the hotel grounds at all three, superb photo-ops. In addition, Dr. Jorge Cruz skillfully guided us for additional photography at Yanacocha, Antisana, Jerusalem, the Milpe lodge grounds, and Angel Paz's Cock-of-the-Rock lek and antipittas near Mindo. His knowledge of the birds of Ecuador is outstanding, and he is lively and fascinating company. Food, by cooks supervised by Irina Cruz, excellent! Rooms and service outstanding. The staff uniformly helpful and friendly. We spent a full 2.5 days photographing from the restaurant area at Tandayapa, sensational for hummingbirds and tanagers. Don't miss the feeding stations at Yanacocha, or Angel Paz's refuge, but all the areas we visited were worth the visit. This was my first visit to mainland Ecuador; the birds are sensational, and it would be hard to beat the three San Jorge lodges as places to see and photograph them, and Jorge as a bird guide.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I spent 10 days at lodges in Quito, Tandayapa and Milpe. We saw 211 species of birds, most of which I have never seen before. The guides were always excellent. The trail maps were not reliable, and the trail signs not always helpful. But don't let that stop you! We didn't. There are plentiful trails and many adventures awaiting the undaunted hiker. The Jesus Christ lizards at Milpe and spiders on the highland trail at Tandayapa made for interesting storytelling at the end of the day. The food at each lodge was fabulous! The accomodations, especially at Milpe and Tandayapa, were nothing less than inspirational. We went on an optional 7 day tour of the Galapagos Islands, which is beyond my ability to describe! My 18 year old son joined me on this fantastic trip. It was worth it to see the joy on his face, exploring the primary forests, and swimming with sea lions and dolphins. Don't think twice. Just do it!

Room Tip: The pool and spas were not maintained and unusable during our stay in Quito.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenandnooneelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is my 2nd trip to Ecuador with San Jorge Eco Lodges August 2013. Excellent pre-departure reservation assistance, guide service, lodges, new Milpe lodge, hiking at private nature reserves, birds, flora, fauna, food, yeah and what FOOD, those cooks are outstanding. After San Jorge Eco Lodges, we traveled on to the Amazon for 4 days all organized by Cheryl, the US agent. (I think she even returned some of my phone calls at midnight.) My co leader and I set up this Sierra Club Angeles Chapter Travel Adventure trip just after our first visit in 2011. 15 happy travelers this past August and ready to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SierraRaven682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A fantastic location and excellent guiding by Jorge who is extremely knowledgeable. We had a few days at the Quito lodge, one brilliant night at Tandayapa (more than 1 night would have been much better as the place was magical), and a day trip to the Milpe lodge. The food was excellent, staff were attentive and the whole experience thoroughly recommended - especially if you want to sit and watch humming birds for hours! We'd be very happy to pay a return visit, hopefully to spend longer in this lovely relaxing place.

The only slight criticism was with the timekeeping. Most day trips left late (which was a little irritating as on one occasion we had got up especially early) - including our departure when a taxi had been ordered for the wrong time; this caused us some embarrassment as we were linking up with another trip and kept the group waiting.

Room Tip: Be aware that most of the rooms are considerably higher than the dining area, which can be a challen...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

You're reading this because you're into birds in Ecuador, right ? Our birding experience was as good as all the reviews say - excellent located lodges across the Andean transect, and an eagerly awaited new one due on the east slope, expert guidance from everyone, timely logistics to use all daylight hours etc. All true. But what was quite unexpected was the cultural side, including emphasis on local ingredients and an amazing ethnogastronomic experience. At every meal there was at least one request ¿qué es esto - for identification of fruits, vegetables or grains outside our experience. Wonderful.
We were three biologists, one a seriously keen (professional) birder, me an interested amateur ad my partner a general biologist. With guides knowledgeable also about plants, and keen to learn from our knowledge of insects, we had a great time as biologists for the 16 day tour. The pre-tour days in Quito were valuable for getting over some jetlag (ex-Australia) and for acclimating to the altitude, which was not a problem even to 4500m., and to see the old town and start to familiarise with some of the commoner birds around the Quito lodge (yes, even in eucalypts).
On a serious note, ecotourism should benefit the host country. The Magic Birding Circuit uses local people in all lodges - your cash stays in country. Ecuador has immense pressures to develop its natural resources (including oil) while the world wants its nature conserved, but it seems that conservation-orientated international donors are unprepared to fund it -
see http://www.theworld.org/2013/08/ecuador-amazon-drilling-plan/
As individuals we can make a difference - visit Ecuador and use local guidance like San Jorge.

We'll be back again when the amazon side lodge opens up (we saw the site).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was my third trip to the Magic Birding Circuit and it was as spectacular as the first two. One thing is for sure, if birds, butterflies, and botany are your interests, you will have a fabulous time at San Jorge Eco Lodge & Botanical Reserve.
The service beginning with pre departure reservation and pickup at the airport in Quito was great.The information on what to bring is always helpful, especially for first time visitors.
The guides are exceptional and know all the birds by sight and sound, and are a real pleasure to be with.
To have every meal ( which are very good) in the presence of dozens of hummingbirds is an added bonus. The trails that have been made in the forests make it possible to see birds you ordinarily would not. Dr. George Cruz and all of his employees will make sure you have a memorable experience in Ecuador. The new airport in Quito makes traveling to and from Ecuador much easier. Although I have been to San Jorge before, I was able to see one hundred and seventy new species of birds,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
14.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
10.3 mi away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#44 of 112 in Quito
200 reviews
17.4 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
110 reviews
17.5 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
7.2 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve

Address: Km 4 Cotocollao-Nono Road, Quito 00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#10 Family Hotel in Quito
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve/Quito (High Barren Plains/Highland Rainforest) 18th Century Spanish Hacienda located in the Pichincha Foothills offering airport transfers 24/7 or pick up from downtown Quito. Comfortable Andes hacienda rooms with private bath/hot shower, decorated in typical decor; game room, lounge, restaurant, bar and small museum. Free Wi-Fi offered in upper level rooms. We are the only private nature reserve near the city of Quito, situated on a 230 acre reserve, offering nature and complete relaxation, yet 25 minutes away. Explore our beautiful gardens, birdwatching & hiking trails, hummingbird feeders, delicious cuisine and views of 11 mountains & volcanos in the distance overlooking Quito. Pre-reserved guided tours are available for birdwatching, hiking & natural history, medicinal plants, cultural tours & add on extension cruises to The Galapagos Islands or Amazon Jungle. We also own San Jorge de Tandayapa Hummingbird Lodge & Sanctuary (Cloud Forest) & two Lodges at San Jorge de Milpe Orchid & Bird Reserve - San Jorge Cliff Lodge & NEW San Jorge Forest Lodge (Upper Tropical Rainforest) listed #1 in Trip Advisor. All private reserves & lodges are within 2 hours radius of Quito. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve Hotel Quito
San Jorge Eco-Lodge And Botanical Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing