We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Introduction to Biodiversity of Equador”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific Introduction to Biodiversity of Equador”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Our tour was in early July of 2013, and it is still a vivid pleasant memory of an enjoyable experience. Our tour was arranged through Natural Habitat Tours and included a day at San Jorge before going to the Galapagos. We extended the tour for an extra day at San Jorge. In addition to the beautiful grounds and tasty meals, the most memorable part of our stay was having the good fortune to have Jorge Cruz as our tour guide for two days. He is the owner of the San Jorge Lodges and shares his remarkable knowledge of the country and its biodiversity in a way that is unique. Jorge is a trained veterinarian with a love of nature. He can spot birds when they are nearly invisible to the untrained eye. He will then explain the type of bird, its gender, and whether it is an adult or an adolescent. Jorge is also extremely knowledgeable about using the native plants for medicinal purposes (so knowledgeable that he has written a book on the subject). If you enjoy nature, want to see a vast array of birds, want to learn about the people of Ecuador, want to learn about the geography of the Ecuador (like it has the highest mountain on earth if measured from the center of the earth), then you could not find a better guide than Jorge while staying at one of his Eco Lodges.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    57
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
58
138
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Trip Adviser

My brother and I had tickets to Ecuador with the idea to travel on to the Galapagos Islands. We got a late start and as we researched our options mainland Ecuador emerged as more and more appealing for its highly concentrated biodiversity and unique and wildly varying geography. As life-long ardent amateur nature-lovers and hikers we agreed that birds were always “peak” experiences in our past adventures so we Googled birds & Ecuador and came up with links to San Jorge's Magic Birding circuit. After reading reviews and comparing this Eco-lodge with similar lodges and tours, my brother booked a 9-day tour(!). His contact, Luis, was extremely helpful in hoestly and completely answering all and any questions – there was no “hard-sell” just useful information and suggestions. We still had no idea what to expect, but from the moment we arrived until our tour was (regretfully) over, we were warmly welcomed and “taken under the wings” of this remarkable family-run system of lodges. Our guide Jorge Luis Cruz was remarkable for his breadth and depth of knowledge – not just in the field of birds (for which he had eyes and ears on the back of his head) but he was equally knowledgeable about the plants and other marvelous and unique creatures of Ecuador as well as the area's history – ancient to the present – Needless to say he was a fascinating guide for a “generalist” (which we are in comparison to “birders”) although I found it hard not to start a list ....– so who knows?

This would have been enough, but in addition the people who kept up the lodges were also extremely knowledgeable, warm and welcoming. The food was fresh, local (wonderful fruits and vegetables and spices I'd never tasted before) and delicious sometimes even spectacular – and always beautifully presented. The rooms were spacious with beautiful views, and for a moth enthusiast, there was never a dull moment late into the night. Jorge Cruz also took us on a night hike and we had the thrill of seeing an enormous bull and delicate tree frogs as well as experiencing our first encounter with a “common” (far from it!) night jar – its eyes gleaming like two perfectly round marble-sized vermillion high-beams in the middle of the path about 20 yards in front of us– Jorge immediately recognized what I had been thinking were some exotic bio-luminescent insects, called to it (he could recognize and return the calls of any and all of the thousands of area birds!!)-- and followed the night-jar with his flash light as it raised up from the path,unfolded itself and flew in the most bizarre and captivating display of wings and legs-- seemingly all akimbo – the feeling was of slipping into a time warp and encountering something prehistoric.

To try and sum it up -- this extraordinary trip was definitely a peak experience – not just for the astonishing beauty of the wildlife and dramatic rich landscapes but equally for the remarkable generosity, warmth and intelligence that Dr. Jorge Cruz and his entire family and staff brought to the experience of our stay on all levels. We were sorry to have to leave and are very much looking forward to returning--!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tamarakrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My sister and I took a 7 day tour staying at all three lodges. The tour was perfectly pre-arranged by Luis before we started for Ecuador. He also recommended superb hotels in Quito where we stayed before and after our tour began. Hacienda Jimanez near the airport had its own small nature reserve to explore, and Patio Andaluz in the heart of the old town. Rooms at the lodges were fabulous. In the Quito lodge, we had a roaring fire lit in the room's fire place each night by Stephan, very welcome considering the cool evening temperatures at that altitude. The rooms at Tandanyapa and Milpe had wonderful panoramic views of the cloud forests. The birds were amazing. We needed only to stay at or near the lodges and wait for them to appear although we did also take some lovely guided walks through the forests. Jorge, our guide and owner of the properties, is absolutely brilliant. He knows virtually every species of bird in the area and can spot them at great distance. His knowledge of local plants and insects (such as beautiful butterflies) is also impressive. He is a master photographer and showed us ways to improve our techniques so that we came away with some great pictures. The meals were great as well. We particularly liked the exotic fruit juices they served, many from fruits we had never before heard of. I would enthusiatically recommend this to anyone and would love to repeat the experience myself.

Room Tip: Luis will choose the best rooms for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our visit to Tandayapa lodge by two couples in early December was excellent. The location in the cloud forest was well suited to seeing a wide variety of birds – especially hummingbirds! Booking over the internet was straight-forward and efficient, and the arrangements for transport from our Quito hotel to the lodge, and then to the Quito lodge and on to the airport were well-organized. The staff at the lodges were friendly and helpful, and their knowledge of local birds was impressive. The meals were very good (lots of fresh fruit and variety), and every meal came with delightful entertainment – a constant stream of hummingbirds visiting the feeders at the dining room terrace! We stayed in the new lodge, and the accommodations were lovely, comfortable and clean. Clearly the highlight of our stay was the guided walk with Jorge whose knowledge of natural history, birds and plants made the forest come alive. The only suggestion for improvement we would make would be better signage on the trails – we were never lost, but a bit unsure at times.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renkum, the Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

With 6 friends we stayed three days at the lodge in Quito and one couple spent a day at Tandayapa. We are not all birdlovers, but the accomodation was adequate to adapt to high altitudes after our trip to Galapagos Islands. The lodge in Quito is surrouded by wood and it is a nice area to hike and spot birds and enjoy botanical beauties.
Services are excellent: we were fetched from the airport with two cars for six persons and the Luggage. The meals are good and gorgeous and the caretaker was always at our service when we needed him. One of us was even guided to a hospital for medical reasons by dr. Georges Cruz himself.
Beware that the evenings are cool at this altitude and the appartments have to be heated.
For birdlovers: a Paradise, for others recommended if you want to be close to Quito but not in the city itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

From the moment we booked our birding tour with Cheryl we were treated like family by the San Jorge family and team.We were picked up at the airport by Jorge and personally escorted by him for our entire stay .We stayed at three of the San Jorge lodges,Tandayapa, Milpe and Quito. They were all fantastic. We had million dollar panoramic views over the rainforest and canopy from our large rooms at Tandayapa and Milpe and you felt you could pick the stars from the sky while lying in bed. At Quito in a beautiful traditional hacienda the lights looking down on the city were magical. All the lodges had delicious, fresh traditional food. We even had a lesson on making tampanadas at Tandayapa. Jorge was a constant source of information on topics ranging from birds,wildlife ,trees , history,geography and cooking to world politics! You could do as little or as much as you wanted and Jorge enthusiastically filled our days with hikes up and down hills,over rivers,and past waterfalls . He and his wife even took us to the Otovalto market for a day driving through small villages to see rural life rather than the main highway. The birding was fantastic,beyond our imagination and Jorge enthusiastically pointed out and named every sighting for us never losing patience when we forgot the names again and again.My husband and I would highly recommend a visit to San Jorge lodges in Ecuador . Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer !! Thank you again Jorge and family for such a memorable vacation. Gail from Ontario,Canada

Room Tip: They are all great rooms but some have panoramic views so ask for top floor and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a great Ecuadorian birding holiday which included a few days at Sacha Lodge and the entire San Jorge Magic Birding Circle. Cheryl, the agent for San Jorge, smoothly and efficiently arranged our entire stay with stays, pickups, transfers, tours and all. While in the birding circle we stayed at San Jorge Quito, Tandayapa and Milpe and found all these lodges nice and comfortable and with good and plentiful food. The upgraded room at Tandayapa offered beautiful views of the valley and that at Milpe merged with the nearby rainforest with all its sights and sounds. We did several of the special tours offered including Yanacocha Reserve where we could closely observe Rufous and Tawny Antpittas. From Milpe we went on the Cock-of the Rock and Umbrellabird Tours and we were rewarded by observing displaying Cock-of the Rock and yet two more species of antpittas. While birding along trails in Milpe we twice saw a Band-tailed Ground-cuckoo which is about as rare a bird as one can see. We also visited remnant forest along the Western Slope. From Quito we went high up to Antizana National Park which was a unique experience and where we saw Andean Condors, Lapwings and Gulls in a spectacular high altitude setting that included several volcanoes. From Quito we also visited the East Slope by passing through Papallacta Pass. From there we even went higher to 4200m where we were rewarded by a stunning Rufous –bellied Seedsnipe which made its way among short tussocks and moss-covered hummocks. In all we saw some 430 species of birds, including an astonishing 53 species of hummingbirds. Many of them were seen at ease at lodge feeders but others were seen in more natural settings like the Ecuadorian Hillstars and Giant Hummingbirds up in Antizana National Park. And how can we ever forget the many colourful tanagers including such stunners as the Flame-faced Tanager? It will take us ages to sort through all the bird and other pictures we took. For part of the Magic birding Circle we were ably guided by Jorge Louis Cruz who has excellent local knowledge, eyes, ears and identification skills. He is also enthusiastic and simply a pleasure to be with. For the rest of the circle George Cruz and his wife Irene guided us and they too did an excellent job. They were very persistent getting us to the birds and for example did not rest until we all had seen a Lyre-tailed Nightjar even though it was in the night. Apparently the Cruz family is in the process of opening up yet another lodge, San Jorge Cosanga on the East Slope. Like the other lodges it will include an extensive private reserve with well-maintained birding and hiking trails for easy access. Cosanga might then close the San Jorge Magic Birding Circle which we highly recommend for those intending to visit Ecuador.
Reto and Marg Zach, Manitoba, Canada

Room Tip: The upgrade rooms are well worth it and reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margaretha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
14.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
21.1 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
17.4 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#44 of 110 in Quito
199 reviews
7.2 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#1 of 110 in Quito
675 reviews
17.5 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve

Property: San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve
Address: Km 4 Cotocollao-Nono Road, Quito 00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#10 Family Hotel in Quito
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve/Quito (High Barren Plains/Highland Rainforest) 18th Century Spanish Hacienda located in the Pichincha Foothills offering airport transfers 24/7 or pick up from downtown Quito. Comfortable Andes hacienda rooms with private bath/hot shower, decorated in typical decor; game room, lounge, restaurant, bar and small museum. Free Wi-Fi offered in upper level rooms. We are the only private nature reserve near the city of Quito, situated on a 230 acre reserve, offering nature and complete relaxation, yet 25 minutes away. Explore our beautiful gardens, birdwatching & hiking trails, hummingbird feeders, delicious cuisine and views of 11 mountains & volcanos in the distance overlooking Quito. Pre-reserved guided tours are available for birdwatching, hiking & natural history, medicinal plants, cultural tours & add on extension cruises to The Galapagos Islands or Amazon Jungle. We also own San Jorge de Tandayapa Hummingbird Lodge & Sanctuary (Cloud Forest) & two Lodges at San Jorge de Milpe Orchid & Bird Reserve - San Jorge Cliff Lodge & NEW San Jorge Forest Lodge (Upper Tropical Rainforest) listed #1 in Trip Advisor. All private reserves & lodges are within 2 hours radius of Quito. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Jorge Eco-Lodge & Botanical Reserve Hotel Quito
San Jorge Eco-Lodge And Botanical Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing