We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made Ecuador trip a success”
Review of Jumbo Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jumbo Lodging
Ranked #35 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made Ecuador trip a success”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We are only english speaking and were arriving in Quito at night on the way to Octavalo.We had read that Luis of Jumbo Lodging was very dependable,After several email questions and confirmations from his daughter Alba which were prompt and very professional we felt confident that we had made the right choice.We elected to spend the night in Quito and travel to Octavalo the next day with Luis furnishing the transportation.Luis made everything go smoothly and we spend our last five days back at Jumbo Lodging.Luis will do whatever you need to make your trip a success from directions and recommendations to full personal tours.He is very proud of his country and anxious to pass on facts he thinks are interesting.He and his family treated us like friends and we feel like we have one now in Ecuador.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davib5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    12
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
64
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Our Ecuador adventure began when Luis met us at the Quito airport - a wonderful start to a fantastic vacation. Luis and family were the perfect hosts and we stayed with them 2 nights in April. Everything from the room furnishings, to the generous breakfast (great coffee), to the Spanish lessons, to the tips on exploring Quito and navigating the city buses, to restaurant recommendations were great - I only wish we could have stayed longer. I would highly recommend Jumbo Lodging (Luis's last name) if you want to be in old town staying with an owner that makes you feel like you are part of his family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Luis and his family provided a wonderful oasis in busy Quito. It was centrally located, allowing us to walk all over the old town, new town, and Mariscal neighborhoods. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and with reliable wifi (which I'm using right now!). My husband, daughter, and I were greeted with smoothies, a map, and recommendations for our time in Quito. Breakfast was excellent and happily tailored to our gluten-free needs. We loved the unique look and feel of the hostel and the incredible generosity of the hosts.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kymberw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with a very nice owner and manager. Rooms are quite vibrant in colors, spacious, with big comfortable beds. One draw back, the walls are made of "paper", you can hear everything. It is situated on the outskirts of the old town, with a 2-3 block walk to the center.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mace4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at Jumbo Lodge for 2 nights at the beginning and 3 nights at the end of our trip. Don't be misled by the name - this is a very cozy place to stay, and you actually feel like personal guests of Luis, Maria and their 2 daughters. Jumbo does apply to the size of the rooms and the bed, which was also very comfortable. The breakfast was by far the best we had in Quito, and a little different every day. We loved the location in Central Quito, and could walk where we wanted to go.
But the most outstanding feature was the service. Luis acted like he was there only to serve us, and his knowledge of Quito and the surrounding area is amazing. While we were there, Quito opened a new airport much further from town. It was very reassuring to have Luis offer to drive us there at 5 am, and he was waiting for our luggage when we opened our door!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

If you choose this hotel you will be sure to have choosen a good hotel for your visit in Quito. Very nice quite central located hotel. Everything worked perfect in our room. The rooms are nice and fairly big. Clean and the beds are good. The staff are nice and serviceminded. You will have very good value for your money in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Let me previce, I have NEVER written a review. Most everything of what you read in other reviews about Jumbo Lodge, Luis and family is accurate and on point. Our story, Luis met and dropped us off @ the airport at midnight and 4 am respectivley 7 days later.
Day 2, A friend was supposed to pick us up from Jumbo Lodging, coming from Cayambe, a 2 hour drive away. Her car broke down. Luis offerd to drive us on a Sunday afternoon to Cayambe, and p/u our friend, at much less than a taxi or rental would have cost. We were stuck and it would have cost us more to stay an extra night at the hostal than Luis' nominal "fee" to drive us. The point is Luis and family does whats right and does it well!! He even took the scenic route and made a few stops at "attractions" we would have never seen on our own. They helped turn a "trip" into a wonderful adventure! You won't get this "service" at any "upscale" hotel, you can't purchase "genuine" goodness!!

Mucha's Gracias Luis, Alba and Family,
Ricardo Y Melanie

BTW, After we left you, Peru and Machu Picchu were awe inspiring!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.6 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#24 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#108 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#53 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#98 of 115 in Quito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumbo Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Lodging

Property: Jumbo Lodging
Address: Esmeraldas E4-86 y Los Rios | Calle Esmeraldas E4-86 y Los Ríos, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now come and enjoy of the traditional CUY ASADO, salads and other delicious plates at DAWN'S LODGE COFFEE! More information at our web page or e-mail or call us to reserve your dinner! We are located in the historical centre of Quito, near of tourist emblems: the Basilica of the national vote, Itchimbia Park, San Francisco church, the Church of the Jesus, the Palacio de Carondelet, National Sucre theater, etc.We offer a warm stay in a colonial House of 200 years built in the neighborhood of San Blas, founded in 1568.Preserves its colonial infrastructure and the era, such as brick walls covered with mud, straw and role adobe's own materials. Although his main property is its ability to earthquake.There are patrols 24 hours, there is a unit of police 15 meters from our facilities, who make our neighborhood a safe place.All the rooms have private bathroom, 24h of hot water and beautiful views of the city. The price includes a delicious Jumbo-breakfast with natural fruits.We offer the following services: laundry, internet*, luggage store (included), room service (included), touristic information, free maps, parking to 150 metres, taxi 24 hours, in the afternoon free tea or cofee.FREE earplugs (because the noise from the street).Schedule of breakfast: 7.30 To 09.30 Am.*Earliest check-in: 14:00Latest Check-out 11:00*If you want to have breakfast before or after, it costs $4.***Prices don't include taxes.Ofrecemos una calida estancia en una casa colonial de 200 anos construida en el barrio de San Blas, fundado en 1568.Conserva su infraestructura colonial y materiales propios de la epoca, tales como ladrillos de adobe en sus paredes cubiertas con barro, paja y papel. Aunque su principal propiedad es su capacidad antisismica.Contamos con los siguientes servicios:-Lavanderia.-Internet.-Bodega de equipaje (incluido).-Servicio de habitaciones (incluido).-Informacion turistica.-Parking a 150metros.-Horario de desayunos de 8:30 a 11:00. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing