We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumbo Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jumbo Lodging
Ranked #32 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great location in Old Town ! The house is 200 years old and has all the character and charm to prove it. The owners Luis y Maria were very gracious and always willing to help. Luis is a unlimited source of knowledge, so be sure to chat him up. We arrived at all times into Quito airport..and Luis was always there to meet us with a smile. In short..Great place, Great location and Awesome people ... We will be going back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    12
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
64
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was a great hotel. We stayed 3 nights, 1 night when we first came to Quito before our Amazon Jungle Eco Lodge tour and then two nights before going to the Galapagos. Luis and his family were terrific. He picked us up and returned us to the airport (not free, but almost as cheap as a taxi), gave us great breakfasts with fresh coffee made from beans from his family's farm, and a good narration of the sights we passed to and from the airport (we also arranged our own private tour of Quito). The location was in the old town/historical area, although we did not walk outside on our own (no time). But, it made a convenient location for when we did our day tour. Rooms were comfortable, but I think the most enjoyable thing was the feeling that we were guests of family friends, not just another person to fill up a room vacancy. That family feeling greatly enhanced our stay in Quito. For the price you can't beat the amenities, friendliness, location, etc. It makes all the difference in traveling.

Room Tip: Higher is better since it is away from the usual traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrantonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Luis and his family rent out six rooms. We booked a standard double room which was confirmed as a 'small' room but I it was more than big enough. Spotlessly clean, bright and colorful but you might need the ear plugs they provide due to traffic in the early hours. We also stayed in a large room which was absolutely enormous but if you're on a budget the small rooms are fantastic so there's no need to spend the extra money

Location is is good and Luis will advise you on where to go (and where not to go!). Jumbo Lodging was our home from home during our Ecuador trip and Luis' help and advice was invaluable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I travelled with some friends and they chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were met at the airport by our host Luis - the best part of our Quito experience by far. It was like we had friends in Quito who took care of us just like family. Our room was spacious with high ceilings and a big comfortable bed. We had windows out onto the street with lovely views of the old city and the mountains. Breakfast was just like mom would make it - fresh, lots of choice and very plentiful. We also decided to use Luis as our tour guide, and he took us on some great day trips out of the city. This is a very small hotel with only 4 guest suites, so the personal service is hard to beat. I think Luis plans to install new windows next year, which will help with the noise of the barking dogs at night, but really, this didn't bother us too much as they seemed to keep the same hours as us, and we were in a busy city after all. My one wish would be for a slightly larger bathroom - it was a little cramped, but again, not a big deal, especially when Luis took such good care of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Staying at the Jumbo Lodging worked out great for us. We used it as a base while we traveled around both Ecuador and Peru. Luis (the host) is a classy, trustworthy and dependable guy for sure (he spoke some English too). He picked up us from the Airport and was more than willing to drive us to the Quito airport a couple of times very early in the morning (The Quito airport takes forever to get to. One of the big drawbacks of Quito). I had a single room and it was huge and had a nice view of the city. There was no TV in the room; but that was fine with me. I wasn't interested in traveling all the way to Ecuador to watch TV.
The neighborhood is OK, some steep hills, narrow streets and lots of older buildings. There are some barking dogs in the neighborhood, but that didn't bother me too much. And there were ear plugs in each room. I never used them.
You are a five to ten minute cab ride to the Historical district. So the location is superb.
Luis made us a very nice breakfast each morning at the time we designated and answered any questions we may have had about our stay in Ecuador. We felt fortuante to have stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our stay at jumbo Lodging was very short. We arrived at around 6pm and were picked up at the airport by Luis. By the time we arrived at the hotel we were famished. After freshening up Luis happily drove us to a nearby restaurant and arranged a taxi to bring us back after dinner. This hotel is tucked away and off the beaten path. There was not much outside noise, but there are dogs in the area that bark throughout the night. The room/sheets/bathroom were clean and plenty of towels. Earplugs were on the nightstand (for the dog barking) but we didn't feel the need for them. We only stayed one night, as our tour picked us up early the next morning, and I was surprised to see Luis up at 5:30Am with hot coffee to see us off. A quaint litttle place with very nice staff! If you need a good night rest, this is the place, as long as the dog barking does not matter to you. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
210 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

When we arrived at 10:00 pm. Luis was waiting for us, helped with luggage, showed us to his secure car park, recommended 2 restaurants up the hill for a late supper.
The rooms are spacious, atmospheric, nicely decorated.
Breakfast was excellent.
Luis kept some of our things, not required until our return to Quito.
As I write this, he has taken one member of our group shopping.
Some English spoken, but it helps to start with a little Spanish.
Two negatives: Jumbo is difficult to find, even with a GPS which led us to blocked streets and suggested the wrong direction on one way streets. There is no sign outside.
Luis offered to do laundry, but lost 2 pieces and gave us something belonging to a stranger.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.6 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#24 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#106 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#96 of 114 in Quito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Capital Inn
Hotel Capital Inn
#102 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumbo Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Lodging

Property: Jumbo Lodging
Address: Esmeraldas E4-86 y Los Rios | Calle Esmeraldas E4-86 y Los Ríos, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now come and enjoy of the traditional CUY ASADO, salads and other delicious plates at DAWN'S LODGE COFFEE! More information at our web page or e-mail or call us to reserve your dinner! We are located in the historical centre of Quito, near of tourist emblems: the Basilica of the national vote, Itchimbia Park, San Francisco church, the Church of the Jesus, the Palacio de Carondelet, National Sucre theater, etc.We offer a warm stay in a colonial House of 200 years built in the neighborhood of San Blas, founded in 1568.Preserves its colonial infrastructure and the era, such as brick walls covered with mud, straw and role adobe's own materials. Although his main property is its ability to earthquake.There are patrols 24 hours, there is a unit of police 15 meters from our facilities, who make our neighborhood a safe place.All the rooms have private bathroom, 24h of hot water and beautiful views of the city. The price includes a delicious Jumbo-breakfast with natural fruits.We offer the following services: laundry, internet*, luggage store (included), room service (included), touristic information, free maps, parking to 150 metres, taxi 24 hours, in the afternoon free tea or cofee.FREE earplugs (because the noise from the street).Schedule of breakfast: 7.30 To 09.30 Am.*Earliest check-in: 14:00Latest Check-out 11:00*If you want to have breakfast before or after, it costs $4.***Prices don't include taxes.Ofrecemos una calida estancia en una casa colonial de 200 anos construida en el barrio de San Blas, fundado en 1568.Conserva su infraestructura colonial y materiales propios de la epoca, tales como ladrillos de adobe en sus paredes cubiertas con barro, paja y papel. Aunque su principal propiedad es su capacidad antisismica.Contamos con los siguientes servicios:-Lavanderia.-Internet.-Bodega de equipaje (incluido).-Servicio de habitaciones (incluido).-Informacion turistica.-Parking a 150metros.-Horario de desayunos de 8:30 a 11:00. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing