We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time in Quito, Casa San Marcos played a big part.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Marcos
Ranked #13 of 233 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Had a great time in Quito, Casa San Marcos played a big part.”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Spent 4 nights at Casa San Marcos and recommend it highly. Mayra is a lovely lady and her staff were warm, friendly and very attentive to our needs and requests. The hotel is in the Old Town and its location provided easy walking access to the town and its sites. The hotel is in a nice quiet street.

There were three of us and we had a triple room. Our room was in a converted attic which was a rustic and very comfortable. It was very clean and of a good size. As we were tall we had to watch bumping our heads on the beams at the low parts. The bathroom was small but it was modern and worked perfectly. There was a skylight in the room which let in plenty of natural light and gave a bit of a view of the surrounding hills. I'm a light sleeper and I found the skylight kept the room a bit bright but my trusty eye shades fixed the problem.

The sitting rooms were large and very comfortable. The rooms and the entire hotel is decorated with all types of wonderful art and beautiful fresh roses. We dined outside which was undercover with a view of the surrounding hills. The breakfasts were excellent, I particularly enjoyed the eggs.

We were there for New Year's Eve and had a terrific night. Mayra took all hotel guests to the local fiesta and put on a special dinner with entertainment - it was excellent, a fun and first class night. Thank you Mayra.

I would love to visit Quito again and if I do I will stay definitely stay at the Casa San Marcos.

Room Tip: Very close to town centre and in a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    28
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
55
102
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I am quite certain, fellow travelers, that after your stay in this hotel you would all gladly come back to this fetching hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glen1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Have no doubts or second thoughts: simply book Casa San Marcos right now for your stay in Quito! Trust the reviews here: this boutique hotel is an absolute gem and you'll regret it only if you do not take the chance to stay there and sample the beautiful house, lovely bedrooms, wonderful staff and extraordinary welcome that awaits you.
The four of us spent five nights at Casa San Marcos in late March/early April 2011, arriving and departing three times as we went off from Quito first to Napo in Amazonia and then to the Galapagos, leaving various bags behind in safe keeping at the hotel each time. And in between each journey, it was such a pleasure to return to our 'home' in Quito, the amazing Casa San Marcos where we felt so comfortable and at ease.
Where and how to begin to describe what a paradise this is? First there is the house itself; as described in other reviews it is simply magnificent with artworks and tasteful decor throughout the reception rooms and is also conveniently located very close to the centre of the historic Old Town of Quito. And then there is the charm of the owner Mayra who will welcome you as if you are a member of her family. Nothing is too much trouble for her and her knowledge and advice about Quito and its surroundings is second to none. For example the hotel seamlessly and inexpensively arranged all our transfers to and from the airport plus two guided tours using the services of local resident Juan who started our Old Town visit by taking us to his labyrinthine nearby home built in the old colonial style.
Back at the hotel, when we could tear ourselves away from the fascinating lounges and rooms full of art treasures, the bedroom suites proved both beautiful and very comfortable and all of the three which we used had lovely views across the city. In the later evening and at breakfast, we were superbly looked after by the ever-smiling José who doubled (tripled?) as waiter, overnight concierge and breakfast chef. On two evenings he was assisted in his duties by a remarkable schoolboy friend of the owner's grandchild who aspires to be a waiter and also treated us to a violin concert after dinner. Such are the ways of Casa San Marcos: this is no ordinary hotel for sure! And finally, there is perhaps the ultimate star of our time at the hotel: Katerina. She was truly everywhere, from greeting us on our arrival at the front door to delighting us with her amazing cooking and shaming us by literally running up the stairs with our bags (the altitude makes this no mean feat). The hotel has a semi-open terrace restaurant with great city views where we took breakfast and lunch (when we weren't on a tour) and above it is a charming enclosed dining room for the evening dinner. Menu? Katerina would simply ask what we would like, reel off a long list of what she had available and then prepare it superbly. Served with a smile by José and accompanied by the erudite conversation of Mayra and, if you're lucky, even a violin recital, what more could you ask? We absolutely loved it. You will too!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, NC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My wife and I went to Quito to visit our daughter and had looked at the standard hotels. My wife read about Casa San Marcos on Trip Advisor and got really excited..... she found a jewel!!!

I have only GREAT things to say about our stay at Casa San Marcos. The staff was excellent, food was excellent, room was more than we expected and they exceeded all our expectations.

We wanted to make one overnight trip to Mindo during our stay and were a little indecisive which night. The owner, Mayra assure me not to worry as they were very flexilble and it would be no problem when we needed to leave for one night. She also let us keep our extra luggage in the room and helped us arrange our trip.

Breakfast every morning was simple but good. Choices of eggs, fresh fruit and bread. Every night they asked us what time we wanted breakfast and never rushed us. Also have good coffee and a variety of juices each day.

We didn't realize they served meals other than breakfast until another guest told us about their dinner. The next night they prepared a meal for the 3 of us........Chicken with a fig sauce, pork in a passion fruit sauce and a talipia dish. We shared and THEY WERE ALL GREAT. Also shared ice cream and banana cake they made. The chef, Katarina, is really good and was open to preparing basically anything we wanted; she wanted to please us. The next night, we got back late and didn't want a big meal so we asked for grilled ham and cheese sandwiches with fruit. WELL, that was the most unbelievable ham and cheese I've ever had. Prices we very reasonable for such good meals. The small indoor dining area off the art gallery was really nice on cooler nights, but the coverd patio outside was by far our favorite.
One afternoon we came in to relax with a glass of wine and Jose ask if we wanted a snack. He brought us a couple really good small pizzas they prepared in the kitchen. Again, we had no idea they would prepare these items for us when we booked out stay.

Our friend, Jose, not sure what his job was because he was everywhere. He helped us make arrangements, served meals, called taxis, met us at the door every time we arrived and every time we left, gave us suggestions..............the guy was everywhere. We wondered if he ever slept. He is awesome; always had a smile and very attentative. My daughter works with some street kids and teens; one of her co-workers stopped by one evening to drop something off with 3 of the the kids and Jose invited them in, showed them around and treated them with great respect.

There were other staff at the front desk from time to time; they were always friendly and willing to help.

The B&B is quite a showplace itself. The art gallery, sitting area, rooms, patio and hallway down to the outdoor patio is a treat in itself. Plenty of room to relax and enjoy some quiet time.

Area attractions we walked to is the LaRonda area for dinner and Friday night street shows; Basicillica, other churches, several small shops, Presidential palance, central park among other small parks. Wouldn't suggest walking around late nights, but otherwise felt very safe.

I could go on about Casa San Marcos, but if I'm ever back in Quito again, I won't even consider another B&B or Hotel...........this IS where we will stay.

Room Tip: Just call or email Mayra, the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCLADDS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Dear Ladd family; thank you very much for your kind comments , for us was a real pleasure to have met such a fine family. I was so impressed with your daughters spanish, she did not have any accent, besides being such a charming and well educated young lady. Just remember that you always will have a home here, please do come anytime, you will always be welcomed. If your daughter is in need of anything, please let her know that here she has a good gradmother, that will help her in anything she requires. José and Kathy sends you their thanks and regards.
Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durango co
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

there can't be anyplace better to stay in quito. mayra and her staff make guests feel absolutely welcome and at home. they threw a new year's eve party for their guests to welcome in 2011, with wonderful food and drink plus music and dancing. we'd go back again just to celebrate another new year like that one. great memories thanks to our extended family at casa san marcos.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa San Marcos. The accomodations are more than comfortable, the location is convenient to Quito's many attractions, the breakfast is
very good, and the staff is always willing to help. Owner-manager Mayra is a fabulous resource on a huge variety of aspects of Quito life, history and culture. She was even able to find a bridge club for us!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayMB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Casa san Marcos should be rated as a five star attraction in its own right as well as the most beautiful B & B. Everything about our two stays there - before our Galapagos Cruisa and afterwards - was perfect. The Casa is just exquisite, the interior decoration and the public galleries in which guests can sit and admire the works on display are fantastic. The staff were delightful and helpful, one young lady spent nearly two hours helping my husband to walk to different pharmacies to try and obtain a particular medication he needed. We had two very early starts for the airport and each time a hot breakfast was cooked for us at the hour of our choice. No problems.
Our rooms were ideal - the parents' room facing the lights of Quito and the beautiful statue. To the left of the entrance to our room, some steps led up to the triple single room for our three teenagers.
This is a small B&B and I am sure it will soon be heavily booked. It opened in 2009 and I expect it will soon rank in the top ten for Ecuador, if not South America.
I strongly recommend that if you are planning a holiday to Ecuador that you make sure it includes Quito and an early booking to stay at Casa San Marcos.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryrosomane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#7 of 110 in Quito
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#1 of 110 in Quito
675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Marcos

Property: Hotel Casa San Marcos
Address: Junin E1-36 y Montufar, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Marcos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Marcos, a house of treasures Publicado el 10/Noviembre/2011 | 14:51By LANCE BRASHEAR on the Miami HeraldCasa San Marcos - a boutique hotel along what is slowly becoming a cultural corridor in central Quito - was, until recently, a house obscured by time. But the passage of time has a way of not just hiding treasures, but also revealing them when the right person comes along. The name Jose Jaime Ortiz was all but lost as the architect of Casa San Marcos until archives discovered in recent years revealed the hand behind the craftsmanship. Ortiz is now recognized as one of Quito's most formidable architects from the turn of the 18th century and is credited with a dozen structures in Quito including the El Sagrario Church, the reconstruction of La Merced Church, and the tower of Santo Domingo Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Marcos Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing