We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our 3-week Ecuador trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Secret Garden Cotopaxi
Ranked #6 of 231 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our 3-week Ecuador trip”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My boyfriend and I originally booked 2 days at the Secret Garden Cotopaxi, but we ended up staying for 5 days. I have nothing bad to say about our stay. We slept on comfortable beds, ate the most delicious food EVER, had amazing hikes with wonderful guides and made awesome friends from all over the world. We didn't want to leave. Next time we go back to Ecuador, we will go straight to the Secret Garden Cotopaxi. Worth every penny!!

Room Tip: The dorm beds were extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraFrasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    38
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
98
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Although this hostel costed $40/person for a 8 person dorm, we loved this hostel so much. There were unlimited towels and teas, a fireplace in the dorm and a jacuzzi. They have free guided trips to little waterfalls and the food was amazing. The locations is not really close to Cotopaxi and the tours for it are really expensive. The staff were all very kind and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in the dorm room and loved it. It was very spacious and clean with a cozy fireplace in the middle. Despite it being expensive, it is worth the money. The food was so good, there is unlimited tea/coffee/water, we did a fun complimentary waterfall hike and used the bikes and jacuzzi. I definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I had such a wonderful time here. Maybe it was because of the people who were at the hostel at the time, but the location, the rooms, the service, just made it a great place to be. I stayed in the dorm which was so spacious and down right gorgeous at night with the log burner and candles lit. The beds are huge you don't eve feel like you are staying on a bunk bed. And then in the morning you open the door to a stunning view of cotopaxi. I loved the cost evenings by the open fire, with a glass of wine chatting to everybody after delicious home cooked food. Not to mention the jacuzzi which is brilliant at night lit by candles and if you are lucky you can see the glow of the Cotopaxi glacier and a star lit sky through the glass roof. I did two walks whilst I was there which were beautiful, one being to Cotopaxi glacier which is excellent value and Marco is a brilliant guide. I can recommend anybody in Ecuador to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonbeam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I had such a beautiful time at this hostel. Maybe I was lucky with having great people there at the same time, but besides this the location is just stunning. You open your room to a view of Cotopaxi and open countryside. I stayed in a dorm room and the beds are very big, the room spacious and so cosy when the log burner is lit in the evening. The food is delicious, and its like home from home sipping wine, chatting to other guests over an open fire. The guided tour to Cotopaxi is very good value and the other walks also well worth doing. I recommend this place to everybody. Oh and I almost forgot the jacuzzi! Wonderful at night, lit by candles.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonbeam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Secret Garden Cotopaxi was an unforgettable experience. Such a breathtaking location, delicious food (3 meals included in the price), beautifully designed communal areas with an open fire, majestic gardens, hammocks, a jacuzzi with volcano views AND an endless amount of different excursion opportunities (hikes, mountain biking, horse riding etc...) We stayed in our tent at the property so cannot comment on the rooms, though friends reported they were lovely. The camping was wonderful value for money. A big highlight for us on our 6 month trip through Sth America!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PaznMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This place is bliss. One of the best things we did in Ecuador was to stay here and do their guided tour to the glacier line of Cotopaxi.
We agonised over the cost, but in the end decided it was worth every penny. We paid $86 (+tax) for a cabana, with the most sublime view of the volcano. The price also included all our meals - which were fabulous – plus unlimited tea and coffee, drinking water, free bikes, a jacuzzi and a 2-hour guided walk to a nearby waterfall. It seemed like a big splurge for our budget, but to put it into context – we got mulled wine on arrival, then lunch of lentil stew and rice. Later we were served pre-dinner snacks, then a heavenly and seemingly never-ending meal of different types of thin-crust pizzas (done in their wood-fired oven) and salad, then brownies and cream. The living/dining room is unbelievably cosy, and the huge fire is lit in the evening for everyone to sit around. During dinner a member of staff goes into all the guests' rooms and lights a fire in the room – it was so toasty when we went to bed! In the morning we had wholegrain pancakes with fruit salad, bread, juice etc. We paid $35 each for a tour to the volcano, and hiked to the refugio and then the glacier. It was one of the best trips we have done, and the guide Marco was fantastic and a lot of fun. We had loads of time to acclimatise to the altitude, and to take photos and enjoy the glacier. The tour price included lunch when we returned to the lodge. Although we had checked out that morning we were able to shower and hang around for as long as we liked.
If you want to stay here you can arrange transport through the lodge – best done by phoning or emailing their sister hostel, Secret Garden Quito, as there is no internet at the Cotopaxi lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremyandpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
20.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#3 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
20.0 mi away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#1 of 14 in Latacunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden Cotopaxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Cotopaxi

Property: The Secret Garden Cotopaxi
Address: | Via El Pedregal, Quito EC170350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katherine and Tarquin, the owners/creators of The Secret Garden Quito, have moved to the countryside where they have been building their dream home and hostel. It's spectacular mountain scenery, it's a beautiful traditional lodge made of mud bricks and thatched roof, it's an eco-friendly self sufficiency project, it's great homegrown herbs and spices,with an exquisite home style food, it's considered an adventure center and it's a relaxation center. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing