We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept being recommended”
Review of Mama Clorinda

Mama Clorinda
Ranked #92 of 1,397 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ecuadorian cuisine restaurant just off Plaza Foch serves tasty national specialties . Try the llapingachos (fried pancakes of mashed potatoes with cheese) with steak or, for the adventurous, cuy (guinea pig). Mama Clorinda's as the place to have traditional Ecuadorian food.
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kept being recommended”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We got recommended to go to the restaurant by 5 different people. It was OK, nothing special but not bad either.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank wa_ha_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    170
    116
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Food was average, not bad but not spectacular either.The location is good and people are very nice. Dont order chicharron!!

Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, CA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good source for local fare”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Enjoyable local fare. We found it suprisingly pricy, though. We did not try their guinea pig, but it is available. Upper dining area was somewhat cramped.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlie
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“enjoyed eating here”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

MY daughter and I ate here on the recommendation from our accommodation place. We ordered empanadas which were served quickly and tasted good. I had beef and my daughter had chicken and both were delicious. Along with 1 soda this cost us $32. Restaurant clean and service good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieFairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Recommended by locals”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice modern restaurant in the Marsical district. The restaurant was recommended to me by some local teachers. Fast, friendly service. Menu is in English and Spanish. I have eaten here twice. Average entree is $12. Recently I had the 'Churrasco' which is a small steak topped with fried eggs. Sounds a bit different but delicious. You must use the spicy mushroom sauce that they give you with most meals. It truly adds to the experience.

Friendly fast service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Clorinda also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Mama Clorinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing