We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, modern, and clean”
Review of Hotel Finlandia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Finlandia
Ranked #29 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, modern, and clean”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I only stayed one night in Finlandia on a short trip through Ecuador for a wedding. The staff was extremely polite and professional; the room was spacious, comfortable, and clean; and it was in a great location close to a park, a shopping mall, and various stores and restaurants. The city tour bus also stops just a few blocks away, so that was very convenient as well. The morning breakfast was also great, the elevator have keycard access which makes the place extra safe, and the drive to the airport was pretty good compared to hotels located in the city center. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cristina411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Finlandia, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Cristina,

Agradecemos sus comentarios, para nosotros es valioso saber las experiencias de nuestros huéspedes para mejorar siempre en el servicio.

Deseamos que tenga el mejor de los días y esperamos contar con su presencia en el futuro.

Saludos cordiales,
HOTEL FINLANDIA STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    137
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
61
45
38
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in the center of Ecuador's capital, Quito. Quiet and safe neighborhood. Clean room. Wi-fi available for free. Couldn't find a hair-dryer. Tv with Spanish channels only. Great breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marius_ro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Finlandia, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Marius,

Agradecemos su comentario, conocer las experiencias de nuestros huéspedes es importante para nosotros puesto que nos impulsa a mejorar siempre en el servicio y facilidades.

Esperamos que tenga un excelente día y que podamos contar con su presencia en el futuro.

Saludos
HOTEL FINLANDIA STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed at the Finlandia en-route back home and was pretty disappointed.

PROS:
- Location: safe and close to Quicentro, a big shopping mall which provides abundant (if unexciting) dining options
- Quiet-ish (if you insist on being lodged in the NEW part of the hotel): the concrete structure of the hotel tends to carry vibrations coming from all heavy-stumpers and bed-fallers (can't better explain these sudden booms!)
- Great cable on TV (I can't believe I am listing this but TV there was great)
- Decent complimentary breakfast
- 40-minute drive away from the airport

CONS:
- No business center (although Wi-Fi is complimentary: how easy would it be to purchase a cheap PC and printer and dedicate a room for it?)
- Terrible bathroom: small, shower comes with complimentary "hovering" shower temperature, going from scalding to freezing at you try to rinse. Terrible.
- Staff a little unpredictable: one of the desk clerks despondent, another one snickering, another one wonderful and helpful. It's a bit like service lottery: exciting.

Stay there if you are stumped. I personally much preferred Reina Isabel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikoPseudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Finlandia, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Niko,

Agradecemos su opinión y comentarios acerca de nuestro hotel, son temas que debemos tomar en cuenta para mejorar en nuestro servicio. Nos disculpamos si le ocasionamos algún inconveniente pero esperamos que regrese a Quito.

Deseamos que tenga un excelente día.

Saludos cordiales,
HOTEL FINLANDIA STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I just use it for sleeping, spent out most of the day but it filled the purpose fine. great located, just one block from the best shopping center in Quito. Small rooms though. Staff was very helpful. wifi internet connection was really fast and easy to access. you need your key in order to use the elevator to your floor so it's very secure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Finlandia, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Diana,

Agradecemos sus comentarios, para nosotros es importante saber la opinión del viajero. Nos complace saber que su estadía estuvo bien y esperamos mejorar siempre en los items que nos indica.

Esperamos tenga un excelente día y que, cuando visite Quito de nuevo, nos escoja para atenderle de mejor forma.

Saludos,
HOTEL FINLANDIA STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The complimentary cocktail delivered to my room was only a finishing taste of a wonderful 9 hours I had at this hotel.
Late arrival and staff on their toes to greet and please and checkin was easy. Room was very clean and adequate with internet connection in place in a snap.

Breakfast buffet was a delight and a pleasure to see the staff attentiveness to the food items as well as the patrons. If hotel staff are happy in their jobs, it naturally spills over to the guests. Lucky for us~!

Room Tip: Worth the fairly quick trip from the new airport to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotterlady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Finlandia, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimado huésped,

Agradecemos su comentario y nos complace saber que tuvo una estadía maravillosa. Para nosotros es importante conocer su opinión, eso nos enriquece y hace que mejoremos todo el tiempo.

Esperamos tenerlo de nuevo con nosotros y deseamos que tenga un excelente día.

HOTEL FINLANDIA STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Hotel Finlandia is located in excellent part of Quito, walking distance to several shopping centers, close to embassy of many countries (this affecting overall security feeling), and 100 m from great park.
Hotel has two parts - old, and new. Works are still being done in between of two parts, and this should be known by guests - since it affects functionality of hotel.
If possible - try to get a room in new part.

I had room in both old and new part, and had bad luck to have a leaking water pipe during night, and this should not happen to any guest ;)

Rooms are OK, bathroom is a bit small, in old part, and decent in new part of hotel.
Rooms do not have safe - and there is no separated safes in reception, and this can be problem.
Service is excellent, trying to help in any way possible, great English spoken on reception, but still - as long as works are in progress, be aware that it is not perfect.

Breakfast buffet is full of fresh fruit and do not miss any of fruit given, even if you do not know what it is!

Room Tip: Rooms in new part of hotel should be first option! Some of them have view on street, some have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praziluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Though our visit last week was for only a matter of hours as we arrived very late and left the next day for Cuenca, the staff was extremely helpful. Our room was delightful and the complimentary breakfast buffet was lovely. We hope to return for a longer stay and have already highly recommended Hotel Finlandia to a few people we met on our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
0.5 mi away
Lugano Hotel
Lugano Hotel
#47 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Zen
Best Western Hotel Zen
#25 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#28 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western CPlaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finlandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finlandia

Property: Hotel Finlandia
Address: Finlandia 35-129 & Suecia St, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Finlandia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO FINLANDIA HOTEL, the best accommodation in Quito Ecuador. Our hotel ensures that every detail is perfect for your Ecuador travel. Finlandia Hotel is located in Quito's business center. Near our Ecuador hotel in Quito are the best restaurants, banks, malls, spas, beauty sallons, gyms and stores. Our Hotel is a block from La Carolina Park, heart of the modern city, and just 20 minutes away from Quito's Old Town, declared World Heritage, the most beautiful and the best preserved in all Latin America. Thank you for prefering our Hotel in Quito-Ecuador, we are the best place to stay in Ecuador for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Finlandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing