We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Quito”
Review of St. Gallen Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Gallen Haus
Ranked #35 of 277 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent 2 month in Ecuador because we wanted to learn spanish before we travel in south america. We picked the St-Gallen Haus because let's be honest the name was quie apealing for swiss people... ;)
Sebastian picked us up at the airport, and starting from this point he always made sure our stay would be perfect! Our time in Quito could not have been better! We stayed one month in the house and one month in the "Suites"
To the house: Great room, stunning rooftop terrace, friendly people, great kitchen as well as a cosy common area! Big plus: it was only a few steps away from our spanish school and all the shopping facilities!
To the suite: we decided to move because our room was already rented for our second month (we initially booked only one month). The Suite is exactly in the same "type" as the house: nice location, well equiped and friendly roomate!
We would definitively come back to Sebastian's place and of course we recommend! ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fabienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGH-Quito, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at St. Gallen Haus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016


We really have a great time guys, especially at the world cup, but I did pay the bet! I hope everything is going great with you and your travel plans all over the globe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good location near to greenery and also shopping areas.

Friendly and professional staff. Next door to Park Metropolitano and very near to Park Carolinas.

Rooms are clean and airy and you can look across the city onto the hills

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank josephj1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGH-Quito, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at St. Gallen Haus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Joseph thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you are doing great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Unlike most of the reviewers , I had an expensive and uncomfortable stay there.
As a world traveler for almost two years now (thanx this site), I never expect high comfort but a decent price/quality room and honest managers… Here’s what I had for 5 month last winter 2012-2013 (Quito=3000m high./-0°C some night) for 350$/m room w/bath and shared kitchen (higher this year);
Equipped kitchen; includes fridge with broken-open door (= rotten food, same cost as in US) but note “Please keep the door close”, stove isn’t half broken, it’s just “delicate”… + some sudden energy breaks (from the dying plug?). Note modern condo nearby, same price, w/view… Luckily, I don’t really cook.
Freezing rooms, I really mean it; w/dew coming out from my mouth from the depth of my bed! (from the gaps in the walls and window?) But Seb’s helpful ... close the window (…?)/get another blanket (it’s traditional here)/rent him (sight..) a heater. Nevermind, I’m a frost dwarf…
No shower. Had to use the shared bathroom (no discount offered) and then the mainhouse shared bathroom, but no repairs; too expensive/not broken/need the money for my daughter... (from his own mouth, at the charge of her “loaded mother & stepfather”, but he shows off with a 25$ haircut and brand new cellular…) ??!?!! Honestly…
Shall I mention… 3$ taxi ride vs 20$ transportation?
I understand people try to make money, so do I, but I think there is manners… I moved to thirdworld Guatemala; daily hot shower, good internet, fast repairs… for 3$/a night...
Too bad! Should and would be worth the price with real professionals. Anyway! My experience, your choice… enjoy Ecuador!

Room Tip: First floor, rooms in the front, in the main house. Noisy but the less cold, most lightful,...and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank ShaddyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGH-Quito, Gerente at St. Gallen Haus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

As always we try to make a comfortable stay for all of our guest, and we treat them all with respect as they deserve, and of course we cannot be love by everyone, but in this case we see some personal issues instead of an objective review. There are many inconsistencies and false facts, not to mention the comparisons between countries. We always try to fix any problem that may occur as soon as possible, so we invite you to see the other reviews not only here in this site, but to live the experience with us. Happy new year 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend have arrived in Quito and the Sebastian who is the Manager of St. Gallen House, picked us up from the airport as we planned.
After he showed us our rooms, he gave us some useful information about the neighborhood, Quito and Ecuador in general and also sightseeing and day-trips.
We enjoyed talking with him and the other guests that became friends, having BBQ together, going out at night together and also a trip to Esmeraldas that was offered.
St. Gallen House is place to meet international people, hang out together and either stay a few nights or a few month.
I am looking forward to come back some day.

Best regards,
Justus

Room Tip: Dependiendo del precio. Hay habitaciones individuales y dobles, baños privados y compartidas. Hay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Goldhahn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGH-Quito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at St. Gallen Haus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Justus was a pleasure to meet you, indeed we had some adventures. I hope now you are doing great and all your plans will come true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Through my stay at St. Gallen I got many new friends and had many good times with the people living in St. Gallen and friends of St. Gallen. Sebastian the owner was alway helping us when we needed help. St Gallen is centered in one of the most attractive streets to live in Quito. It is a quite neighborhood with small businesses and only steps from the Parke Metropolitano were you can do your outside exercise or have fun with friend. In this street my favorite cafe were situated too Los Vecinos Ecológicos. They have the best coffee and juices and serves you sandwiches and cakes perfect for a Sunday breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lemjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGH-Quito, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at St. Gallen Haus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Lene thank you very much for your review, I so glad that you liked your time here. And I hope you are doing fine and all the best for your future projects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I went to Ecuador three times and stayed in homestays the first two times and then chose St. Gallen Haus for my third trip. It was by far the best living experience that I had in Ecuador! I found that many of the families who offer up their homes for homestays were just in it for the money, and they cared nothing about whether their guest was happy. Sebastian was extremely friendly, always organizing fun times for the house and the people staying there, always had great advice for where to go or see during my trip, and overall made my experience living there a really great one. I am so thankful to him! Plus the house has amazing views and is right next to a beautiful park. It really doesn't get better than the St. Gallen Haus!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGH-Quito, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at St. Gallen Haus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Diana we haven't seen you lately, I hope you have a trip to Ecuador soon, thank you very much for your review and you know that you are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: acá hay para todos los gustos y presupuestos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eylin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Stanford Suites Hotel
Stanford Suites Hotel
#77 of 113 in Quito
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lugano Hotel
Lugano Hotel
#51 of 113 in Quito
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akros Hotel
Akros Hotel
#50 of 113 in Quito
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#31 of 113 in Quito
379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#35 of 113 in Quito
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bed and Breakfast La Uvilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Gallen Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Gallen Haus

Address: Guanguiltagua N37-04 y Diego Noboa, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 277 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Gallen Haus, Suites and Host Families were designed as the ideal place to stay, whether short or long term accommodation, and is a place where students and residents will experience the warmth of Latin heat and a special touch of European style that will make them feel at home. The organization consists of three main branches: The first is a student residence of 560m2 with capacity of up to eighteen students, it has rooms with private and sharing bathrooms, communal multipurpose rooms, kitchens, dining rooms, terraces, patios, restaurant, garage for visitors, permanent cleaning service, Internet and laundry, the second stage consists of two suites of 65m2, two rooms, with maximum capacity of 3 persons, equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay in the best neighborhood in the northeast of Quito "Jardines del Batan "with the desired security; finally SG Host Families which promotes a wide range of opportunities for you to understand the Latin culture and daily customs and routines, practice the language everyday while having a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Gallen Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing