We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make you feel like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Quito
Ranked #18 of 253 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Travelling to Ecuador meant backpacking, adventure and hostel living. First time in one so no use comparing to a hotel although this one may be superior to some. I was surprised how clean it was seeing that in fact it is colonial (200 years old) and by proper experience knowing that older buildings are harder to keep clean, or at least look the part. The staff is made up by volunteers from all over the world that although might not being the best local guides make up for it with their genuiness. A special thanks to Tom for charging his Skype account at 2:00 am just so I could call home seeing that our mobile phones did not work in the same frequency band and everything was closed.
We just went there to sleep although it looks like a good place to relax and meet new people. It´s location near the central market and just a few blocks away from the center is one of its perks. The prices for day trips are very good when in comparison with travel agencies.
After two weeks travelling around Ecuador we came to spend our last night back at this hostel and if felt like coming home.
The only "down" side is the wi-fi that is reeeaaaaallllly slow and the electric shower heads are a bit tricky for hot water. Not a major problem for us.

Room Tip: Do not choose the mountain view room if you want a good night´s sleep. Life starts at early hours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-L-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Went here on recommendation of friends. Didn't expect much, but was pleasantly surprised, for a backpackers run by volunteers it's really clean. We had a shared bathroom and it was no problem.

The place has lots of corners to sit in and it didn't feel crowded. Free hot drinks and filtered water was good. Plenty of kitchens and bathrooms. Only $30 transfer to the airport. It wasn't a party hostel, which was perfect.

The room we had was next to the laundry, only a small window, so dark and dingy, but beds comfy.

There is a nice Italian 5 minute walk from the hostel (at the cross roads by the hostel turn right and towards the yellow house at the end of the road, at the yellow house turn right and its a few doors up, only open after 6pm.). The laundry is $2 a kg, but launderette a few doors up from the Italian restaurant does a kg for $0.50.

There seemed to be no one at reception each time we went to ask for something. Some of the staff were helpful and friendly, but others just couldn't be bothered.

Breakfast wasn't worth the $3.50 and as bread rolls are just $0.12 each from the bakery down the road I don't understand why just one roll is provided.

Overall not sure if I would stay here again, but for our purpose it was well suited.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PinkladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I've stayed in over 100 hostels in 30 countries but this place had THE RUDEST STAFF I've ever seen. One refused to look away from his facebook to give me directions to the places I wanted to see. I was totally friendly and polite and he just kept trying to wave me off and saying he didn't know where each place was - he wouldn't even give a restaurant recommendation. I tried asking where to catch the bus or trolly and he told me to just walk down the street and ask for directions. WHY?!?!! We gave up and ended up going to a different hostel and asking them for directions to the market/attractions which they were super helpful with and even gave us a map. I know all this shouldn't have bothered me so much but it really did leave a bad taste in my mouth.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank expat_mbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Really good place to socialise with other travellers, plenty of common areas throughout the hostel on all its floors.

Nice kitchen, could be a bit better equipped and kept cleaner, but is alright.

Only downside: the electrical showers are very tricky to start and only turn the water from freezing to bearable... but not to warm.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Airion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice hostel with great common area and a nice kitchen. The rooms vary (size, light etc), we totally can recommend room #1. The rooms and bathrooms are quite clean (we had a room with a private bathroom). It could be a bit loud sometimes (depending on the guests of course). The owner is very friendly! The wifi is not really great but it works.
The location is ok, though staying in La Mariscal would also be nice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Easyfish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We used Colonial House hostel as a base for travelling throughout Ecuador and they were always accommodating to our needs and requests.
The rooms are great value for Quito and is in a great location about 10 minute walk from the historical centre.
We loved coming back to the warm atmosphere from the staff and decor.
We even spent a night in the tent out the back

Room Tip: Tent is cheap. Room # 1 has a balcony and a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Relaxed hostel in the heart of Quito. Staff is very nice and family running the hostel lovely to meet and experience Ecuadorean life. Hostel has great location close to everything,but it's garden makes you forget that you are in the big city. Loved the nights by the fire in the garden, many kitchens you can cook for yourself, market close by to buy fruit and vegetables very cheap, helpfully staff, home like atmosphere. Deffinetely place to stay in Quito..

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jipijapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#2 of 253 in Quito
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Quito Cultural
Hostal Quito Cultural
#20 of 253 in Quito
313 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge INN
L'Auberge INN
#16 of 253 in Quito
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 290 in Quito
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Mia Leticia
Hostal Mia Leticia
#21 of 253 in Quito
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hump Day Hostel
Hump Day Hostel
#2 of 290 in Quito
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Quito

Address: Olmedo 432 | entre Rios y Vicente Leon, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £9 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Quito 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Colonial House Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing