We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best to avoid” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial House Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Quito
Ranked #10 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Popayan, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“best to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

defenitly one off the worst hostel we stayed at: unwelcoming, mostly unfriendly and higly unqualified staf, not providing you with any practical information about the city, they can't even provide you with a proper map nor explain exactly where to get one, they dont' seem to care to help you as a fellow traveller! Their breakfast is overpriced as well as their tours, for example gotopaxi is at least 15$ cheaper in most agencies, their communal kitchen is badly equiped with only two stoves, the staff kicthen is way better but they don't want you to use it, the showers are horrible, either hot water and no water pressure or pressure and cold water, the place is horrible cold at night and their doorbell wakes you up, plus the location is not that great at all! we really don't understand how they got all their positive feedback!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebasgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    115
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
17
174
81
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Colonial House and it was great. We stayed in room number 1, which was the top floor. If you're traveling in a couple, I would definitely recommend getting this room. It's the only room with a small balcony with a great view. The kitchen was right next to our room and was open for use until 11 PM, which was great for us. The bed was super comfortable and overall it was really affordable for a private matrimonial room with a private bathroom. The location was okay, but you could definitely walk to most places you wanted to go in the Old Town and could easily take the Trole or a cheap cab to the Mariscal area. The staff was super helpful and there was even free drinking water, coffee, and tea. There was also a really cute garden area with hammocks and such. I'm sure staying down there would be nice, as well.

Room Tip: I definitely recommend room number 1 for couples. Really cute balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hostal has several room options on three floors in large, bright colonial house in San Blas area of Quito. Found volunteers who staffed the hostal to be generally helpful, some more knowledgeable than others. Beds were comfortable and most private rooms had more than one bed. My favorite was #9, although it was on the top floor. Better value for those sharing than a single person, as you are charged the same price. Also, several communal spaces to hang out. My greatest concern was that in order to walk to old town, you have to go through a sketchy area by the central market. This was definitely not recommended at night, so made exploring downtown sort of prohibitive at night, unless you wanted to take a taxi. BTW, airport taxi service with Edison was very reliable:). He picked me up right on time at 3:45am for a 7:00am international flight. Convenient bus stops, but a long way to the northern and southern long distance bus stations. This is true for all the hostals. I loved Quito:).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doriba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed in Colonial House for a month and had the best time of my life. I'm a fan of everything "colonial" so I found the place really suitable for my stay. They have English speaking staff, clean bathrooms and the owners are amazing! During the first period of my stay, wifi wasn't working well but after 2 weeks, they've installed new modems to improve the internet connection! I didn't really want to leave but I have to carry on with Peru. I will definitely come back here!

I highly recommend Colonial House if you ever swing by Quito.

Tip: Try to sign up for breakfast at least once. It's the best breakfast I had in South America.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Colonial House for three days upon our arrival in Quito. The staff were super friendly, and there was a nice community atmosphere. They provided free filtered water & coffee and the breakfasts were only $3.50 and tasty. The Wireless and internet was also free, but painfully slow when it did work. Our room #9 was facing the street and quite loud, we were woken up every morning around 6. We made the most of it though and got an early start to the day. We also had to make sure to keep the bathroom door closed due to a strong unpleasant odour.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Virtuali78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Travelling to Ecuador meant backpacking, adventure and hostel living. First time in one so no use comparing to a hotel although this one may be superior to some. I was surprised how clean it was seeing that in fact it is colonial (200 years old) and by proper experience knowing that older buildings are harder to keep clean, or at least look the part. The staff is made up by volunteers from all over the world that although might not being the best local guides make up for it with their genuiness. A special thanks to Tom for charging his Skype account at 2:00 am just so I could call home seeing that our mobile phones did not work in the same frequency band and everything was closed.
We just went there to sleep although it looks like a good place to relax and meet new people. It´s location near the central market and just a few blocks away from the center is one of its perks. The prices for day trips are very good when in comparison with travel agencies.
After two weeks travelling around Ecuador we came to spend our last night back at this hostel and if felt like coming home.
The only "down" side is the wi-fi that is reeeaaaaallllly slow and the electric shower heads are a bit tricky for hot water. Not a major problem for us.

Room Tip: Do not choose the mountain view room if you want a good night´s sleep. Life starts at early hours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C-L-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Went here on recommendation of friends. Didn't expect much, but was pleasantly surprised, for a backpackers run by volunteers it's really clean. We had a shared bathroom and it was no problem.

The place has lots of corners to sit in and it didn't feel crowded. Free hot drinks and filtered water was good. Plenty of kitchens and bathrooms. Only $30 transfer to the airport. It wasn't a party hostel, which was perfect.

The room we had was next to the laundry, only a small window, so dark and dingy, but beds comfy.

There is a nice Italian 5 minute walk from the hostel (at the cross roads by the hostel turn right and towards the yellow house at the end of the road, at the yellow house turn right and its a few doors up, only open after 6pm.). The laundry is $2 a kg, but launderette a few doors up from the Italian restaurant does a kg for $0.50.

There seemed to be no one at reception each time we went to ask for something. Some of the staff were helpful and friendly, but others just couldn't be bothered.

Breakfast wasn't worth the $3.50 and as bread rolls are just $0.12 each from the bakery down the road I don't understand why just one roll is provided.

Overall not sure if I would stay here again, but for our purpose it was well suited.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PinkladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#2 of 226 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kinde House
Kinde House
#3 of 226 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Inn
L'Auberge Inn
#24 of 226 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Quito

Property: Colonial House Quito
Address: Olmedo 432 | entre Rios y Vicente Leon, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Quito 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial House Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing