We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Ecuador food with gracious service”

Achiote Ecuador - Cuisine
Ranked #23 of 1,818 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$40
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ACHIOTE ECUADOR-CUISINE, we are the entrepreneurship of a small Quito family that has an extensive culinary tradition, where you can not only enjoy Ecuadorian food, but also feel the warmth of a home and a country located in the heart of the Andes . The restaurant offers an unforgettable cultural experience, with an extensive menu of innovative recipes that includes vegetarian options and a diversity of flavors that challenge the palate and bring an exquisite and renewed touch to Ecuadorian cuisine. All this in an intimate atmosphere, accompanied by good music and bilingual attention; in one of the most emblematic neighborhoods of Quito, La Mariscal. The ingredients used are organic, endemic and of high quality, always subjected to a process of gourmet preparation that pays homage to a town that knows how to make the heart happy from the palate.
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This Upscale Ecuadorian restaurant is in Mariscal. To get into the restaurant, you need ring the doorbell... Clean Morden deco and display local scene drawing for sale. They serve fancy upscale Ecuador but it still based on traditional Ecuadorian food. I recommend for the tourists who want to try Ecuadorian food but to be safe. I wanted to try Cuy but I was afraid the visual. They served roast cuy cut in quarters. I am glad I tried it. The amazing cow feet soup was very delicate, I was surprised. The service was top notch- very gracious and attentive. They also serve great local drinks too. Overall very good value.

Thank skimny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achiote Ecuador C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Achiote Ecuador - Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing us! We're charmed to hear your experience in our restaurant was innovative. We fell undoubtedly proud and we hope to have you back soon to share more about our culture and delightful traditional dishes.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

Had the Ceviche, but better offerings are found in Peru. Restaurant was clean and located in the Plaza Foche area.

Thank rhondaw859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achiote Ecuador C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Achiote Ecuador - Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you for visiting us and choosing a ceviche, this typical dish debates its origin in our Latin American peoples but especially our neighbor Peru where it was declared a National Cultural Heritage, the preparation varies in small details of ingredients between one nation and another and, the taste itself may vary among diners. We regret very much that the ceviche you could enjoy at Achiote was not completely to your liking but we will be waiting for your next visit very soon to share more of our delicious traditional dishes.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

We asked our guides for a place for authentic Ecuadorian food and both said Achiote. Very good food and friendly service. English is spoken. We had goat and a coconut shrimp dish. Both were delicious. Definitely recommend this place. 3 people with wine $100.

Thank nmashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achiote Ecuador C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Achiote Ecuador - Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you for choosing us! Our main goal is to bring our customers an unfogerttable experience during your trip in Quito and we overjoyed to know we achieve it.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

My friend and I dined at Achiote on our last night in Quito! Ravenous after 10 days of outdoor sports (we had just finished the most wonderful tour with Ecuador Adventure Journeys), we ordered the tasting menu.

In the US, a tasting menu using means tiny portions with a huge bill. The opposite was true at Achiote! We enjoyed plates and plates of incredible, authentic Ecuadorian food. Highlights were the empanadas and ceviche. On a whim, we also got the cheese and potato soup, which was probably the best thing I ate that vacation.

The atmosphere was inviting and unpretentious. The living tree in the middle of the restaurant was a unique and beautiful touch. There were families, friends, solo diners and romantic couples enjoying their evenings. A gentleman playing the guitar provided delightful background music. Our waiter was kind and attentive with excellent English language skills. We met some local characters, including an aging American hippie who is friends with the owner and has lived the most fascinating life.

Dinner at Achiote was a great end to a fabulous trip to beautiful Ecuador.

Thank FMP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achiote Ecuador C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Achiote Ecuador - Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Customer,
We're charmed to hear you experience in our establishment was amazing! We fell undoubtedly proud and we hope to have you back soon to share more about our culture and delightful traditional dishes.

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Authentic Ecuadorian food catering to tourist whims. Clean and great location near Plaza Foch and my hotel (Sebastian). Each meal they bring a starter, which was a treat to try something new. Tried a fish dish and soup. Both delicious. Wines by the glass.

Thank GHamp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achiote Ecuador C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Achiote Ecuador - Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Customer,
We're happy to know that your experience was so good. We hope to have you back soon to share more about our culture and delightful traditional dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Achiote Ecuador - Cuisine also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Achiote Ecuador - Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing