We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guayunga es perfecto para empiezar tu viaje!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Guayunga Hostel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Guayunga Hostel Quito
Ranked #37 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Guayunga es perfecto para empiezar tu viaje!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have been there twice, the first time when we arrived for 3 nights since Quito is a pretty nice city and the last night before going home, 6 weeks later. The dorms are decent, very quiet for the time we have been there and the toilets are clean. Overall we really appreciated this place, you can also leave your backpack downstair after you checked out before your flight. Ciao!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Michel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    18
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
11
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We only spent a night here. Our room was on the first floor and was loud, with the parking lot in front of it so there were lights coming through at night. There was a big group there so we couldn't switch rooms. When we checked into our room there were sandals, toothpaste, a DVD, and a not clean bathroom from the previous guest, which were definitely off putting. The bed was fine. The rooftop deck is amazing. What won the place over was the nice staff. Our prearranged ride never came to get us in the morning to take us to the airport for the Galapagos and the man upstairs let us use his cell phone to call and got us another taxi proto. Really, really nice of him. We are grateful for that! Maybe a different room would be better. The street is beautiful. We were told not to walk around at night, but we were always told that as we're super gringo looking.

Room Tip: Not the first/entry floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaraScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Guayunga works with the organization for which I am a trip leader, the Global Student Embassy. This past season, this remarkably hospitable and friendly family-run hostel aided us in every single way possible to meet our travel and rooming needs in Quito, and they did so with trademark Guayunga style! They would host parties and dinners upon the stunning view top terrace, from which one can gaze out over Oldtown Quito, the Basilica Church, and the TeleferiQo. They would aid us with dreary smiles at unreasonably late hours anytime we asked anything of them. Theirs beds and rooming situations are both very comfortable and versatile, with a great capacity to host many. The food they cook and serve at the hostel is delicious. Guayunga is a 5 star experience with a wonderful family. I'll never forget the mariachi party upon the terrace! Thank you Guayunga!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_W701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

After working in Ambato I returned to Quito to catch my flight home. I was looking for a nice hostel close to the old town and found La Guayunga in the Lonely Planet. I booked two nights in a single room on the ground floor. I was afraid that it would get noisy in the morning, but it did not. The room was clean, huge with wooden floor and nicely decorated walls. The shower was awesome: hot water and high water pressure. The breakfast was very good as well. Besides, the hostel offers two computers and internet, recreation rooms to hang out, talk or watch TV and a rooftop terrace with great views. Mary and his family are very friendly and really make you feel welcome. Just the opposite of Hotel San Francisco de Quito (stayed there in November 2012) which is very popular among tourists - I don't know why.

From the hostel it's an easy 2 min walk to Avenida Guayaquil, where the old town begins. Following Av. Guayaquil (5-10min) you'll reach the heart of the old town with Plaza Grande etc. On Av. Guayaquil you'll also find many restaurants and fast food. I can highly recommend you Guayunga Hostal!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoH239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We were a family of four and lucked upon this hostel. Run by a friendly, helpful family, they really made us feel welcome. A nice rooftop terrace and communal kitchen, decent wi-fi, free computers and amazing breakfast, cheap. Our travels took us in and out of Quito five times and we kept returning to this fine place. A close walk to the Old Quito sights, a bakery, Chinese food and great Italian pizza on the same street make this place a great base camp for coming and going from the rest of Ecuador.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cave_Park_Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wesminster, md
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Guayunga Hostal was great for us. We actually arrived planning to stay in Secret Garden, but the rooms were expensive & tiny, so we hopped across the road & found Guayunga. Big, comfortable room, boling hot shower, & the best breakfast we had in South America! Its in a good location between old & new town, & they also offer taxi & laundry services for very reasonable prices, & the family running the hostel were really nice.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwetzel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We wandered around the Old Town looking for somewhere to stay and came across this great hostel. It's not quite in the centre of the Old Town but it's easy walking distance (5-10 mins) from the main sites and right opposite the bullring, if you're into that kind of thing.

We were very impressed by the hostel, we were given a private double room (which was huge! and very light and airy) with a shared bathroom, and we even managed to negotiate the prices a bit because we were staying a few nights.

The hostel is spread over 3 or 4 floors, with a central balcony system running around the central courtyard. The view from the big roof top terrace is great. There is also an inside social area with a few books and lots of DVDs.

The rooms were clean, the bed was made up nicely with lots of blankets. Our room even had an electric heater in it because it was so big. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was always clean and the showers were hot AND powerful!

We went on a day tour with the tour operators downstairs to Cotopaxi, which was great, a really good day out. We also made our own way to Mitad del Mundo following the very accurate instructions given at the hostel.

Overall we got the feeling the hostel owners (I think they were Ecuadorian) genuinely cared about us, especially when we decided to leave the hostel at night to go to a cash machine - the hostel owner told us it was too risky and even offered to lend us the money if we needed it immediately!

We had some food there too - some chicken sandwiches. Very tasty. There is also a good selection of food on the menu at reasonable prices.

Only slight downside is that they ask for a small contribution to use the internet (2 dollars for unlimited use during your stay, or a smaller contribution if you're only planning on being on for half an hour or so).

It's a shame this hostel isn't mentioned in the Lonely Planet (maybe because it's too new?) because it's a good price in a nice location. There aren't that many hostels mentioned in the old town area.

Room Tip: Get a room on the central balcony - the others seemed smaller and darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Vista Hermosa Quito
Casa Vista Hermosa Quito
#45 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quito Backpacker Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BoutiQuito Design Hostel
0.1 mi away
Casa CarpeDM
Casa CarpeDM
#4 of 226 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chicago Hostal
Chicago Hostal
#69 of 249 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Guayunga Hostel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Guayunga Hostel Quito

Property: La Guayunga Hostel Quito
Address: Antepara E4-27 y Leon, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Guayunga hostel! Guayunga opened its doors 30 years ago, starting as a small guesthouse. In 2010, a restoration project was in place to convert the guesthouse into a Hostel. Guayunga hostel is strategically located at the heart of the historical Quito. Quito was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in the 1970s for having the best preserved and least altered historic center in Latin America. Becerra Garzón’s family, the founders of Guayunga Hostel started off with the dream of creating a place where travelers from all over the world would feel welcome and could interact. Over the years, they have learned more about the wishes and desires of the international traveler, which of course is more than just a bed and a shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Guayunga Hostel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing