We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few tweaks, and this place could be great”
Review of Hostal San Blas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal San Blas
Ranked #62 of 277 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Hostal San Blas for 5 nights. I had my own private room with ensuite for a mere $15 a night. Bargain. The rooms are small, but adequate (and can be noisy- bring earplugs) and the location is pretty good. On the down side, there is no kitchen, the rooms do not get any natural light (no external windows probably make them safer- but it is a bit disconcerting at times) and there is no real 'communal area'- as a solo backpacker I rely on these to meet others! However, if all you want a reasonably priced room to rest your head at night- this would be perfect. Also, it's worth noting- there are very few restaurants/bars around here. Head to the Mariscal District if that's your thing :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hostel is in a great location in Quito Old Town, and is very close to many of the transport routes, making it easy to catch a bus anywhere around Quito.
The rooms are good value, and clean. The hostel has free wifi, luggage storage and tea and coffee. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and give some good tips on safety in Quito (sit near the bus driver, taxis at night).
Rooms can be noisy downstairs, but upstairs was much better.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoegnunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Very clean and unique looking rooms with private bathrooms and hot water. The location is excellent and beautiful just next to Plaza San Blas. It is very easy to get a taxi to/from the hostel and main bus lines are just 2 minutes walk away.

Staff was friend and always willing to help. Some of them speak only little English. The walls are so thick that wifi works only in lounge area. They had very cheap and quick laundry service. Nights were very quiet. Location and rooms are suitable for families who like simple rooms with good price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have been to Quito several times. I love the city. However, the prices can be exorbitant. Sometimes I have paid quite an expensive price for a very basic & even dirty room. Hostal San Blas is a hidden little gem. The price is so low when compared to other b&bs in the area that we thought there had to be a trick somewhere. However, the staff (and their 2 little dogs) are extremely friendly, the rooms are quite basic, but they're quiet, clean, can be en-suite & have a TV. I never had breakfast there as I prefer to have it in the city, so I can't rate it. The location is great, as it's just a few minutes' walk to the colonial centre.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I've travel 5 times last year, 3 times I went to Ecuador, this is a great place to stay, cheap, secure, clean and nice beside is closed to everywhere to visit the city and tourist locations. I recomend 100%, we'll be back sometime this year.
Thanks for a great service

Room Tip: Choose the inside room with windows to the inside,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband and I only ended up staying here for 1 night as we found somewhere bigger and half the price just round the corner. For Hostal San Blas we payed 16us for a double with a private bathroom. A double with a shared bathroom was 14us per night.
The room was small but cozy. The bathroom was too small but had hot water. Soap and towels were provided. The room also had a TV but was only the rubbishy local chanels.
The rooms had windows which opened onto an intertior patio so the rooms were nice and quiet - unless you are on the bottom floor and can hear the staff before 6am!

There was kitchen access on the top floor. It was pretty pathetic and dirty. Not even a fridge, only a 2 stove cooker with barely any utensils. Only good enough for a bowl of cereal, not enough utensils to actually make a meal. The view from here is nice though.

The staff were friendly enough. The location is good. Its right off the San Blas Square in Quitos Old Town. It is also right near the tram line that takes you into the new town or terminal terrestre for buses to all destinations.

I wouldnt come back here only because I wouldnt stay in the Old Town again. It was too quiet and not enough restaurants for me. You are better off staying in the more commercial New Town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed here a few times in Feb/Mar 2011. Very good deal for the solo budget traveler who doesn't want to stay in a dormitory. Rooms are small and cozy, but clean with a wardrobe, table and chair, TV, and comfortable bed with warm blankets. No outer windows (probably a good thing given crime in Quito) but windows open into interior courtyard. I had a shared bathroom but think there are also some rooms with private baths. The family running the place is very friendly and helpful. The shared kitchen on the roof is not too exciting, and too cold to spend much time in, but other than that, can't beat this place for the budget traveler. The restaurant next door serves great chicken skewers fresh off the grill for a couple dollars. And if you need a haircut, try Nelson and Giovanni's around the corner, it was the best haircut of my life for $3 (+tip).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
10.8 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.5 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#40 of 244 in Quito
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Blas

Address: Caldas E1-38 Y PF Cevallos | Plaza San Blas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 277 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £21 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal San Blas 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing