We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine savior”

Barlovento Restaurant
Ranked #454 of 1,371 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: US$18 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, Ecuadorean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1989 Barlovento is the most traditional restaurants in Quito Ecuador, Seafood/Ecuadorian cuisine,Open Tuesday to Saturday 10 - 10 pm/Monday and Sunday 10 - 7 pm.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Valentine savior”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We showed upnon Valentines Day without a reservation. Every table was full but the manager greeted us and put us at a table where somone had a later reservation. Thwy have a manager that speaks english and spanish and their service was great. The seafood was great.

Helpful?
2 Thank andermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    41
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hongkong
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Decent food”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Been there for lunch three times already, because I really love their seafood boulabaisse and the garlic shrimp. Price is reasonable, won't break your bank.tried their oyster, sadly it's too small in size. The ambience is quite nice, up in the hill near a round about, overall, it's serve comfort food. Worth a try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank edwinHongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle., WA USA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience in Quito with excellent seafood!!!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were in Quito several different times during a three week vacation in Ecuador, and we found ourselves back at this restaurant three times. The service was outstanding. The staff was warm and friendly, and the food was superb. The steamed sea bass was the best I have ever had, and the seafood paella on a separate visit was excellent! Prices are reasonable as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice seafood selection near Abraham Lincoln Circle”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Cab drivers have trouble finding this place. It has a nice selection of the freshest seafood served in the Ecuadorian style.
The decor might use an uplift. Otherwise it. Was delicious

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Freddiemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Lorenzo, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Quiet Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were at the Hotel Quito, so the Barlovento was just a short walk. It was very quiet the night we ate there, but the service was efficient and the waiter very accomadating. There is a pretty bar with a waterfall wall. Food and drinks were reasonable and the fish excellent. I asked what was fresh, and was given a long list. It amazes me, that Quito and Bogota, both in the Andes can both have such good FRESH fish. Actually, better fish here than at Lo Nuestra which is much more expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barlovento Restaurant also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Barlovento Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing