We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great discovery!”
Review of Cafe Dios No Muere

Cafe Dios No Muere
Ranked #8 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Quito
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Ecuadorean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Classical traditional Cafe located in the 17th Century Monastery of Santa Catalina. We also own a farm 2 hours from Quito and grown our own lemons, yucca, bananas, oranges, coffee and cacao (chocolate).
pine mountain, ga
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a great discovery!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We passed this restaurant on a tour, and vowed to return for dinner. If you want charm, (reminds me of a cozy French restaurant), good food, and good value ... this is the perfect place! The salad was an abundant mix of greens .... much more than I would have expected for $3! The gumbo was excellent ... the candle light romantic, and the service was tops! It's one of a kind in old town, where most all restaurants except for the very expensive ones close after 5pm. We ate here twice without a twinge of disappointment!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goodmigrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    70
    33
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Best Bread Pudding Closest to the Equator”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This a cozy, funky restaurant tucked in a corner of what used to be an old monastery. The owner is Mathew Guillory, a Cajun ex-pat of long-standing in Quito, a gregarious larger-than-life persona.
The cuisine is Cajun with some Ecuadorian dishes. We ate there 3 times. The gumbo we had was excellent, and the parilla was good as well. Being a bread pudding aficionado, I can attest to the excellence of Matt's Louisiana bread pudding - it has to be the best bread pudding closest to the equator. I liked it so much, I asked Matt to save some portions for me, as he had run out one of the days.
Matt serves some excellent draft local micro brews.
A highly recommended stop in Old Quito.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RodMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATtheEXPAT, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Wow....."larger than life"........you actually believed al those crazy stories about my life we discussed???? What makes this Cafe so much fun is having Characters such as yourself visit our humble "hole in the wall" Cafe...it is never boring here! Thank you so much for the great comment and kind remarks. It was great to have you here on all your visits and our staff really misses you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but food a little disappointing”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We've been a few times to this lovely cafe and the first two times we were really happy with the quality of food and service. Today we went especially with the Ecuadorians who look after our apartment to say thank you to them, and were a little disappointed with our dishes and the service.

Soon after our drinks were served a black smoke rose from the kitchen and since we were on the highest floor, we had to leave the building and sit outside. The manager-on-duty apologised for the inconvenience and blamed the cook/server, whom I suspect was being trained.

The vegetable soup lacked flavour, the hamburger patties were over-salted and the salmon was overcooked. Also, for the value of the dish, I expected the salmon to come with a really nice salad but the piece of fish was quite small and the salad was a few pieces of lettuce, sliced tomato and onion. I completely understand that the owner needs to take time off during the week but the staff who are working the day shift need to be properly trained. I have always recommended friends and clients to visit Cafe Dios, but now I would likely suggest to only go if the New Orleans owner is there.

To be fair, the other times we have visited we ate a delicious, perfectly-cooked hamburger, drank artesanal beer and enjoyed bread and butter pudding.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank suyinandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATtheEXPAT, Owner at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
I am really sorry your last experience did not meet up to your previous visits but thanks for the rating and feedback. I realize the owner does make the difference and if you came in the last two weeks....our head cook was out on leave as well. But nonetheless, our hamburgers should be seasoned the same. As for the Salmon...it is always the same weight and we try not to make the side salaed look larger than the fish. And...since you are a regular customer...you should know our most popular dish IS the Salmon and we BURN it on purpose!

As for the smoke rising to your floor....I admit that does happen at times due to a large amount of business on some nights and our small 400 year old building. When we "blacken" the Salmon....the smoke can get intense. We have outside tables!

I trust your next visit to us will be like the former ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice gumbo, could have been thicker. Lovely outdoor seating”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We went there for lunch and their special of the day was gumbo, so of course I had to have it. The gumbo was very well-seasoned, but a little watery. Perhaps thicker roux was in order? Friends ordered the steak and a sandwich, both said their food was excellent. Our server did not speak any English so ordering was a bit of a challenge, but we managed in the end. Very charming place. We went all the way up to the 3rd floor but felt a little claustrophobic so we chose to sit outside.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irenenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATtheEXPAT, Director General at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Muchas gracias for the visit and nice comment. And....good to see someone that knows Gumbo enough to leave a critique. I acutally like it less heavy but others have expressed a thicker Gumbo as well. We will try a thicker one next week..but we are closed for MARDI GRAS! Maybe in two weeks......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Surprise find in Quito”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Who would have expected a Cajun homeboy to have a little cafe tucked into the corner of a 400-year-old monastery in Old Quito? With only two little tables nestled next to the gallery-type kitchen on the ground floor, it looked kind of dodgy, but we decided what the heck! We weren't very hungry, having had a late lunch, but were tempted by the sign offering empanadas, and figured that was about what we were up for. We were taken up the little staircase to one of the two tables on the second floor - never went up higher, but perhaps there were more than two tables on the third floor. Mat tried his best to tempt us, but we settled on three types of empanadas, and yes! -- chicken wings, washed down by one of the draft beers on offer. All were great, and we fully intended to come back for a proper meal, but somehow we ran out of time and it never happened. Don't be shy, and come on in, you won't regret it, especially if you want to try some excellent beers with your Ecuadorian/Cajun food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATtheEXPAT, Director de Recepción at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank yall for the nice comment and visit. Ya{ll come back ya here......and bring yu mama an dem!

Yes....we are located in a 400 year old building. To give those who have not visited us yet an idea of the atmosphere we have tried to create.........think of Port a Call, Masperos, or Jean Lafites in New Orleans and you will get the idea. Who dat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Dios No Muere also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Cafe Dios No Muere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing