We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, really stunning!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, really stunning!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Wow, really stunning and unexpeted! Perfectly situated in the middle of Quito's charming old town, you will find Casa Gamgotena, which posseses all the touches, thoughtfulness and feel of a cosy historic town, combined with the luxury of an impecably and efficiently run pro like a Four Seasons or Peninsula. I cannot say how I was made to feel at home, the staff were warm and caring yet attended effectively and proactively to all my needs: I was travelling on a volunteering trip but was also there on business, so needed both business suport and traveller tips. Each and every detail delights, from the fresh roses in all the corridors, orchids on my desk, delicious english style mid-afternoon tea and treats in the atrium, lushious floor to celing marble bathrooms, butleresque room service, and dreamy bed with egyptian cotton sheets. I cannot say how perfect it was in each and every way/ Thank youi so very much for such a marvelous home away from home!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheaonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southerner057, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Pheanoah,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review about your experience with us in Casa Gangotena. We want to be a showcase of the best that Ecuador has to offer, , but specially sharing with our guests our culture and the hospitality of our people.
We all , look forward to be your hosts in Quito again
Wishing you a very happy 2014
All the Best
Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    35
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
124
334
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We also stayed between Cloud Forest and Galapagos trips, and felt sad not to have experienced the hotel fully. It lived up to its reputation, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, even making a backup disc for our many photos so far.
It was strange but delightful to have an afternoon tea in beautiful surroundings in a lovely atmospheric part of the old town.
The fresh flowers were stunning, and the fruit in the room delicious, even with instructions!
Breakfast was an absolute trea, with champagne available for the brave.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms, both spacious and well equipped.It was good overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katrinamc322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Many reviewers have described how stunningly beautiful Casa Gangotena is and how lovely the setting on colonial San Francisco Plaza. All true; the restoration of this historic villa is perfect in every detail and each comfortable corner is filled with roses, orchids and gorgeous views of the city. And it's hard to leave the marble bathrooms. But what makes staying here extraordinary is the gracious hospitality and the warmth evident in every encounter with the people who work here. You can arrive bedraggled and late from the Quito airport as I did and be welcomed like family. The hotel has anticipated everything you might want. From the first greeting with a refreshing herbal drink, to the Ecuadorian fruits in your room, to the wonderful breakfasts, and even the loan of a cell phone while you explore Quito, Caso Gangotena is a marvel; the hotel deserves very accolade it has received.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel prior to our Galapagos cruise. It is a really fine hotel. Great staff and food. It is a ways from airport but everything is in Quito. You will love this place. The location is in the historic area which makes hotel very interesting.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
314 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This has to be one of the best service hotels we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. We arrived very late in the evening, 11 PM and the hotel had sandwiches waiting for us as soon as we walked into the hotel. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and on the top terrace floor with a view of the winged Mary on the hill. Just a few steps away from our room was a terrace with seating where one could enjoy the view of San Francisco Plaza, beautiful at night with the lighted domes in view. With some communications before our arrival, the hotel arranged our private guide, with our desired itinerary, for our stay. The concierge also scored hard to get reservations at restaurants that we requested and dealt with our airline reservations as well. The included breakfast was outstanding every morning and they had a huge selection of food to choose from. Honestly, we cannot say more about this incredible hotel, except we cannot wait to go back for another visit and we know we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orkney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A lovely hotel situated right off a central historic square. Everything looks brand new and is very clean. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rainfall shower in the white marble bathroom is something to look forward to every morning-I didn't want to get out! Lots of little touches that make this place special- the fresh fruit in the room on arrival, the handwritten welcome note from the concierge, the chocolates and cookies left by the turn down staff in the evening were all apprciated. We didn't eat dinner here but the buffet breakfast was wonderful- lots of local cheeses and fruits guaranteed a healthy start to the day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

On our recent trip to South America we stayed at this hotel in Quito. It was booked by the tour company we were travelling with - lucky us! We had three consecutive stays and each one was as good as the other. The staff in all areas were helpful and friendly and put up with our lack of Spanish. Each time we returned we were allocated the same room and welcomed "home". We all agreed that we would not hesitate to recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Property: Casa Gangotena
Address: Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing