We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in a perfect location”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Luxury in a perfect location”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after visiting the Galapagos Islands. The hotel is an old mansion that has been luxuriously restored. We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the mountains and the main square. The service was fantastic and the quality of the food was outstanding. The hotel offered complimentary high tea every day which was delicious-they even made gluten free petit fours for me. The location couldn't be beaten. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for the best hotel in Quito.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    37
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
126
339
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were here only one night, arriving about lunch time. Check-in staff were excellent and the room was lovely. Trying to get some service at lunch was a different experience. They wouldn't seat us in the restaurant as they appeared to be having a staff lunch. We sat in the atrium and had to constantly go into the bar to haul someone out for a menu, wine list, napkins etc. Lunch was ok once it finally arrived. Dinner was a much better experience. The hotel is in a great location in the old city but it lacks amenities like a pool and especially a fitness centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Lyle K

We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. It is important to point out that there wasn’t a staff meeting that afternoon, we had a group of young food & beverage professionals visiting the restaurant and our chef improvised a quick walk around causing an involuntary delay which unfortunately affected you, please accept our apologies for that. I’m glad to know that the rest of your stay was pleasant.

With my best regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

for exploring the beautiful old city center of Quito. Casa Gangotena is right in the heart of the historical district and a beautifully restored old mansion. Reception, lounge, rooms, and particularly the roof terrace are all tasteful, elegant and very comfortable. The restaurant serves fine Ecuadorian cuisine and is a great place to unwind after a day of sightseeing...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuergenBr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guest
I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay at Casa Gangotena , thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community ,we truly hope to have you with us again in the future.
With my best regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sound Beach, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had originally booked a different hotel 1 block over but upon arrival we were told that they were overbooked for that first night. It's was about 11PM when we walked into the Gangotena, bags in hand hoping they had a room available. We were greeted by Alfanso who promptly got us settled into a room. The entire staff from the moment we walked in until the moment we said goodbye was exceptional. After hearing that it was our anniversary they even had a complimentary bottle of champagne sent up. The breakfast was the best in our entire trip. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and that was also top notch. We were supposed to go back to the original hotel the next day but decided to stay at the Gangotena for the full 3 nights instead. The kind lady at the desk (I can't recall her name) helped us get a hotel closer to the airport for our return flight home after we got back from the Galapagos and her recommendation was also exceptional!! A+++++

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tnttravelers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind worlds, it is definitely an honor for us turning your experience in a memorable one. We are proud of our staff and the way they manage to show our Ecuadorian hospitality.

With warm regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Couldnt have asked for a more exceptional stay. The location cannot be beaten. This hotel overlooks the Plaza San Francisco, which is one the most majestic in Quito. The food was outstanding.Breakfast was a treat to behold; afternoon tea on the terrace was a delight and dinner consisted of delicious noveau Ecuadorian cuisine. Our rooms was elegantly furnished and spacious. In addition to the above, the one key virtue that sets Gangotena apart from other top class hotels we have stayed at was the service. All the staff were incredible. They treated us like royalty but were genuinely friendly and so there was never a moment where we felt it was too much. The hotel is certainly chic and sumptuous though not excessively so that we had to tiptoe around it and not feel at home!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a great hotel, and is truly a luxury stay. It is at ground zero in the old city, and you will never feel lonely. The staff is excellent, abundant, and very helpful. The maid staff is also excellent. The rooms are large and comfortable, and well-appointed. Wifi is free and of good quality. The breakfast is among the best I have ever had, and the restaurant is also quite good and adventurous. The public spaces are some of the nicest you will ever see. All in all, it is what you expect.

Room Tip: If you get one of the rooms with a plaza view (which cost more) be prepared for lots of noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlindTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Blind Tom

Thank you so much for your great review of Casa Gangotena, I loved to know that we were able to make your time with us a very special one.
I am sorry to know that you found your room to be noisy, would you be kind enough in contacting me via e mail at gm@casagangotena.com , so I can have a better feed back on that issue, and we can improve the experience for future guests?

With warmest regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We spent four nights in total at CG - before and after a Galapagos trip. It was a wonderful time. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the ambience and decoration of the public areas has to be seen to be believed. It is a beautiful hotel. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated and the bathroom couldn't have been better - lots of lovely marble. The room looked out over the main square and the view was magical especially at night when the San Francisco church is all lit up. Quito itself was a delight and staying at the CG added to the brilliant experience. If we had any criticism it would be of service in the restaurant which could be slow even when there weren't many diners. However, given the excellence of everything else we could excuse this shortcoming. If you are going to Quito and want a top rate experience, stay here..

Room Tip: We had a superior room - definitely worth the money for the view over the square. Could be a bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhoslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Rhoslyn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in Casa Gangotena with the Trip Advisor community.
I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us , and I have taken note of your remarks about the service in the restaurant, your comment is very helpful and will be shared with my F&B team.

With my very best regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Property: Casa Gangotena
Address: Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing