We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Luxury”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA area
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Oasis of Luxury”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This is an elegant hotel with well trained, attentive staff. We enjoyed it so much that we were tempted to relax in our comfortable room rather than explore the town. Breakfast is included and elaborate. There is also an afternoon tea for hotel guests (included). In addition to all this delicious food, there was a lovely fruit tray and platter of pastries in our room. We reserved the standard room and it was spacious and elegant. The bathroom was large with all the amenities. The hotel is located right in the center of the older, historic area so much of what we wanted to visit was within easy walking distance. Be sure to visit the terrace on the top floor for a beautiful view of the city at night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lsaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Isaron,

Your kind review of our hotel is very much appreciated. We are very proud of the product we provide to all of our guests , but. most importantly, we take pride in the experiences that you have with our team that leave you with lasting impressions. An of course we love to know that you enjoyed stay-in in the hotel as much as you did.

With warmest regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    40
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
129
349
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was looking for a hotel for a group to stay in for the 36 hours (and 2 nights) before departing for the Galapagos. 10 of us all had a wonderful time and loved the hotel, as brief as our stay was. The United flight into Quito from Houston arrives at midnight. So with bags, immigration, and the long drive in from the airport (over an hour) we did not get to the hotel until 1:30 am. We were warmly greeted by the staff as well as a tray of tea and sandwiches plus fresh cookies and fruit in our room. A much welcome treat. The rooms are all quite unique (though those on the church square side might be considered a bit noisy due to the street noise). Regardless, our room was very comfortable and the others in our group reported the same. At tea time after our city tour, we had another round of very excellent hors d'oeuvres, sweets and snacks on the top floor veranda which offered a great view of the city. We did not dine in the restaurant, but those in our party who did reported it to be excellent. Further, the breakfast buffet was more than ample. This is a great hotel, as all the reviews have indicated, and well worth the stay if you can swing it.

Room Tip: If concerned about street noise, you might want an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWS312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is one of the best hotels I ever visited. Very nice situated in the centre of Quito, kind atmosphere and perfect service. I was here for an assignment as travel journalist on my way to the Galapagos. I was impressed by the way chef Andrés Dávila of the restaurant works with authentic product, bought on the near by town market. I felt comfortable and welcome in this very cosy, luxurious and well organised hotel. Really worth a detour!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrianus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Best place to stay in Quito, you don't need a car, you can walk to know old downtown, people are so kind and warm, you must visit "Plaza Grande" on mondays and taste natural and fresh food at markets, don't forget your smile and say thank you. I would like to repeat my good experience in this beautiful country I hope to visit Cuenca, Galapagos and the most important city called Guayaquil.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jairo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after visiting the Galapagos Islands. The hotel is an old mansion that has been luxuriously restored. We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the mountains and the main square. The service was fantastic and the quality of the food was outstanding. The hotel offered complimentary high tea every day which was delicious-they even made gluten free petit fours for me. The location couldn't be beaten. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for the best hotel in Quito.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were here only one night, arriving about lunch time. Check-in staff were excellent and the room was lovely. Trying to get some service at lunch was a different experience. They wouldn't seat us in the restaurant as they appeared to be having a staff lunch. We sat in the atrium and had to constantly go into the bar to haul someone out for a menu, wine list, napkins etc. Lunch was ok once it finally arrived. Dinner was a much better experience. The hotel is in a great location in the old city but it lacks amenities like a pool and especially a fitness centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Lyle K

We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. It is important to point out that there wasn’t a staff meeting that afternoon, we had a group of young food & beverage professionals visiting the restaurant and our chef improvised a quick walk around causing an involuntary delay which unfortunately affected you, please accept our apologies for that. I’m glad to know that the rest of your stay was pleasant.

With my best regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

for exploring the beautiful old city center of Quito. Casa Gangotena is right in the heart of the historical district and a beautifully restored old mansion. Reception, lounge, rooms, and particularly the roof terrace are all tasteful, elegant and very comfortable. The restaurant serves fine Ecuadorian cuisine and is a great place to unwind after a day of sightseeing...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuergenBr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guest
I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay at Casa Gangotena , thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community ,we truly hope to have you with us again in the future.
With my best regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 110 in Quito
1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 110 in Quito
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Property: Casa Gangotena
Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing