We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond Service”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond Service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our family stayed here in June of this year for three nights. Beautiful location, beautiful rooms and amazing service. In particular, Jose the concierge/manager at night went above and beyond in helping our family when our 10 year old daughter became very sick in the middle of the night. He had doctors in our hotel room within 15 minutes of speaking to him. Jose brought us tea, extra towels and he went to the 24 hour pharmacy for the antibiotics prescribed by the very nice doctors they brought to our hotel room. If this had happened in the United States I am sure we would have been sent to the nearest emergency room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C. F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    40
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
129
349
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We'd been led to believe this hotel would be god and we were delighted it lived up to expectations. We stayed on 3 separate occasions in June using Quito as our base and the second time we had Terrace 2 Room with a wonderful balcony overlooking San Francisco Square. The afternoon teas are excellent - only problem is it's difficult to enjoy dinner afterwards!

Room Tip: A court yard facing room or one of the two rooms on the third floor - if you are lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Wow. What a wonderful hotel. We stayed here two nights before going on a cruise around the Galapagos. Pretty much all the other guests on our luxury cruise ship stayed in the Marriott. Ha ha ha. They missed out. This utterly stunning boutique hotel is situated on probably the loveliest square in the very lovely old colonial part of Quito. Most hotels in Quito are in the commercial district of the new town, 20 minutes' drive away. An unattractive, not necessarily always safe part of the city. The old town is safe, clean and beautiful and this hotel is amazing. Beautiful rooms, helpful friendly staff, a gorgeous lounge and atrium, stupendous breakfasts and the most fantastic roof terrace affording great views. The other reviews on this site already say it all. If you are booking a trip to Quito, make sure you stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband said it all: if we ever come back to Quito, this is the only place he would want to stay. For us, the most charming part of Quito was the old town, including the beautiful churches and museums. This is the perfect location from which to visit these sites, as it is situated on the square of the San Francisco Cathedral. It is a beautifully restored historic home/palace. A special treat was the chef, who specializes in updated dishes from different regions in Ecuador. Taxis are very inexpensive, so exploring the rest of the city is easy from here. We loved everything about this luxurious hotel!

Room Tip: We loved Terrazzo II - very spacious and quiet with a balcony overlooking the city and statue of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annielovestocook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Casa Gangotena has to be experienced to be believed. It is way above what one might expect in Quito and worth several days stay, just to enjoy the hotel. The bedrooms and public areas are among the best you will find anywhere in the world. It is not perfect, falling down very occasionally on the service. Although all the staff are courteous and friendly and clearly trying very hard to live up to the hotel's standards, well-focused training would improve performance, particularly in the restaurant where, in particular, there was a lack of understanding of wine (at least on the night we were there!).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFrogPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed at Casa Gangotena in May and it was the best hotel experience of my life. The staff is amazing. They try to serve you the best they can and are very polite. One of the front desk managers helped us to find a place to buy a simcard for my phone and walked three blocks with us holding and umbrella for me. The rooms are spacious , almost as big as an apartment in Manhattan! We had fresh fruit and a box of chocolate in our rooms as a welcome gift. Yummy! They have rooms with the view of the square, but ours was at the back with a view of the surrounding neighborhood. Anyway, it was wonderful and i highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Quito.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This place is a gem. Beginning with reservations on line, the staff were professional, helpful, and very responsive through email and very gracious. Concierge services were offered remotely and helped our family arrange a day tour, and then cancel it at no charge when our travel delays caused us to miss the tour. When we arrived, very late one evening, doormen greater us with refreshments and smiles. The hotel is beautiful on the outside and finely appointed on the inside. Our bed was very comfortable and the room very quiet. We enjoyed the Ecuardorian chocolate treats! The location is excellent for a convenient stroll in the old part of Quito. Lots going on in the square in the morning for new observers! Our stay was cut short by travel delays that cost us a night and full day in Quito and at Gangotena, so we left wishing for more time to soak in the building, the service, and the sense of place this property offers. If you are going to Quito, this is the number one choice. We left Gangotena to travel to Mashpi Lodge, an affiliated eco-lodge in the Mashpi Reserve, reviewed separately....do that, too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5329970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#7 of 110 in Quito
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 110 in Quito
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Property: Casa Gangotena
Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing