We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights after flying in from London and then visiting the Galapagos Islands. The hotel was lovely and the staff were delightful. We had rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the plaza which was a great view but meant the mornings were quite noisy! The hotel was really well located for visiting the old city of Quito and meant we could wander out and see a little bit at a time which was particularly good given our jet lag! The food in the restaurant was excellent with a real modern twist on Ecuadorian cuisine. In particular we had some absolutely delicious ceviche. The concierge helped link us up with one of the best guides I have ever encountered (Julio Rivas Garcia) who took us on an amazing tour of the old city. We travelled with our three kids and the hotel was very child friendly. Our rooms were large and very clean (great showers!). The view from the roof terrace is fabulous - especially when the sky is clear and you can see the volcanoes. I would really recommend the hotel - my only criticism would be that rooms at the front can be quite noisy so maybe request a room overlooking the internal courtyard if you value your sleep (but you will miss out on a great view).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GoldfishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Goldfish London,

Thank you very much for your review, Iam very happy to know how much you enjoyed your time with us, and your adventures in family discovering colonial Quito with Julio.
I regret that you found our Plaza rooms too noisy, and have made a note to see how could we improve the acoustic isolation.

All the Best

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
There are newer reviews for Casa Gangotena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed checked-in to Casa Gangotena two different times on our trip to Ecuador. The first time was when we first arrived in Ecuador (for three nights) and the second was after we took a cruise in the Galapagos and then flew back to Quito as a stopping-off point from the Galapagos to the Cloud Forest (for one night). We had a huge, beautiful room with murals on the walls and a view of the courtyard and the Virgin statue on the mountain. They gave us two roll-away beds for our two children. With the king sized bed already in the room, we had plenty of room.

There was always a plate of exotic Ecuadorian fruits on the table with a little menu describing them, which we loved. Turn down service was top notch with gold dusted chocolates, beautiful mini pastries, and other delights. They even put out tiny slippers for each of you, placed carefully on pressed, cloth mats. Indeed, the housekeeping service was rather amazing and invisible. It seemed as though every time we left our room the staff entered, remade the beds, straightened up, and replenished the toiletries, which were plentiful and all of high quality.

One day our 7 year old had pretty bad altitude sickness and was looking a bit grey around the face due to low oxygen. We went to the front desk and asked what to do and they told us they would send up a pot of coca leaf tea. I asked if this was okay for kids, since we were unsure if the content would result in her running around and acting hyper. They said it would be fine for her. They promptly sent room service up with the tea and it worked like a charm. That stuff is a miracle remedy!

The breakfasts in the hotel restaurant were amazing and had tons of local Ecuadorian dishes and produce. We were there on Father's Day and they had a Father's Day Brunch buffet that was to die for, with all sorts of seafood cooked to order, ceviches, gorgeous salads and side dishes, at least 20 kinds of desserts, and, of course, champagne mimosas and fresh juices. We also ate in the hotel for nearly every meal, and every meal was wonderful and extremely well executed.

My wife had a massage one night in the empty room next to ours and she said it was very nice and relaxing, which was obviously the desired effect. We did not partake of any of the other spa services, although my understanding from others that stayed with us in the hotel, is that the spa services are all top notch.

The location of the hotel is fairly far (45 minutes) from the airport but right in the center of old town, where all the old churches and sights are right outside the front door. Keep in mind that the airport is new, and there are very few things close to it, which accounts for the majority of the travel time. I would not let the distance deter you from staying here, however. The hotel is very close to shopping and wonderful "Old Quito" sights, and, if you need to go anywhere, taxis are ridiculously cheap and plentiful.

Overall, this hotel was probably one of the top three hotels I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many. It is definitely worthy of a five star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear WShort,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your experience in Casa Gangotena. I am delighted to know that we were able to help your little one coping with altitude sickness, and i fully agree with you: coca tea is almost magical.
The father´s day lunch is one of the highlights of our gastronomic year in Casa Gangotena, I am so glad that you enjoyed it so much. Remember if you come back to the middle of the world casa Gangotena is your Casa.

All the Best

Fernando Delgado V.
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Recently stayed twice during a trip to Ecuador. When we arrived very late on our first night we were greeted with sandwiches and tea. The experience continued to wow us with beautiful accommodations, afternoon tea, drivers always available, service. All comes with a price but we felt completely spoiled. You can find much cheaper accommodations but our experience only added to our vacation. Only comments Wi-Fi was intermittent and food did not meet the same caliber.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Barbara C,

Thank you very much for your review, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am sorry that the Wi-Fi was not up to the task, my chef has also received a copy of your comment, thank you for your feed back, it help us improve.

Best regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is very central and stunning. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights on the way to the rainforest and were spoilt here. Good food, great service and a great position made for a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Glacy.

thank you very much for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community, I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us, an hope to be your host again in the future.

Best regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Catching up on some reviews...
Our family stayed here for 2 nights in 2/2014. The location is fabulous (couldn't be better in the Old Town on one of the main plazas). The hotel is beautiful. Rooms are large, comfortable, and well-appointed. The service was lovely. The (included) breakfast was delicious...and they even made us breakfast boxes for our super-early flight to the Galapagos to take on-the-road. Loved the complimentary in-room local fruits (with explanation on what they were and how to eat them). Five-star Diva luxury all the way!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 5StarDivaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We checked in three times on three different days. We were on a tour. Superb service. Our last night we had to get to the airport very early. We said we needed nothing but coffee. We got a continental breakfast and a box lunch. It was 4:30 am and there were 4 people there to help us. The room was great. We had a wonderful view of San Francisco Square. Walking around we found a small shop that was selling guitars, motorcycles, power tools, and sewing machines.

We wish we had more time during the day, thanks (no, thanks) to American Airlines we missed our daylight hours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sjordan93436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel in Old Town Quito. It is right across the square and just beautiful. Outside, very nice architecture and once inside, just beautiful. The rooms are super comfortable…nice sheets and very clean, modern bathroom…white marble everywhere. Our rooms were connecting and both looked out into the quiet courtyard. The breakfast was very filling and many fresh fruits and juices to choose from…something different each day. What made this hotel stand out was the staff. They greet you at the front door and can help you with anything. We were a group of ten…four adults and six kids in ages 16-10. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip to Ecuador for a few days and then for one overnight when transferring between the Galapagos and the Amazon. The staff held many of our bags and belongings for us when we were in the Galapagos for a week. Everything was safe and sound. The hotel also offers an afternoon tea, which is quite nice…be sure to make reservations. We ate dinner there one night because we were too tired to go out and it was great…not your normal hotel food. People were coming in to dine there that were not guests at the hotel. Each night they had snacks/fruit/chocolate/etc in our room. When we came back from the Amazon, we opted to try the Marriott because it was in a different location of the city and had a pool for the kids. I wish we had come back here because the Marriott was a disappointment…room not as nice and food was not that great. If you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed. It is worth the extra cost. Our family loved this hotel. Also would be great for a romantic getaway or a solo traveler who is concerned about safety.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out into the courtyard are very quiet…I think most if not all of the rooms are set up...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aggiemom4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 112 in Quito
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 112 in Quito
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £404 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing