We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful, informative and will go the extra mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ShineGalapagos

ShineGalapagos
Ranked #33 of 117 Tours in Quito
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Travel Agency have the best offers in last minute to Galapagos, the jungle and different amazing places in Ecuador . We can help you to organize your trips in Ecuador. Shine Galapagos gives reliable tourist service for you
dallas, tx
1 review
“Very helpful, informative and will go the extra mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

After visiting various agencies around Quito for a last minute galapagos cruise for three, Diana and the staff from Shine Galapagos called everywhere to try and get us in. With nothing was available, they put together a great multi-island tour. When one of our group members realized he was on an earlier than expected flight, they went out of their way to re-arrange the rest of the trip making sure we still saw all the mostra important site. All in all an amazing trip that was plannd perfectly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank resivedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, Northern CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Responsive, diligent, and efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We booked our cruise through Diana at ShineGalapagos and it was very easy to arrange. I started planning at the beginning of December. Diana sent me the different options for ships and itineraries for the dates I wanted to travel (mid February). She responded quickly and knowledgeably to every question I had. Our family spent one day in Quito (Diana arranged airport pick-up) before flying to Galápagos, so we had a chance to meet her, pay the balance, and pick up the documentation. She also offered advice on what to do on one day our ship stopped at a port town. Everything went smoothly and we asked her to find us a hotel for our last night on the islands (right after our cruise). I only have good words for her.

The only BIG pain is something that seems to be generalized in Ecuador, which is, credit cards have a big surcharge, so the only reasonable way to make reservations is by wire. Wiring money is not easy either, and costs about $60 ($30 on each side) per transaction. We first tried to use Western Union but got a call from the fraud department not allowing the transaction (as soon as they heard we hadn't met the receiver in person), so we needed to use a bank. I wish the government of Ecuador was more tourist friendly...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lameri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Competent, friendly and extremely helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

ShineGalapagos are a small travel agency in the Mariscal area of Quito. We cannot recommend them highly enough! They have a good selection of Galapagos cruises at competitive prices. They go out of their way to try and understand what aspects of a trip to Galapagos are most important to you and do their very best to meet them. They took extra care in explaining every aspect of the trip to us and we were 100% satisfied with the whole experience, the itinerary, the boat (Estrella del Mar), the nature guide (a knowledgeable and keen naturalist born in the islands), and the company.
What was refreshing about them is that they were never pushy, but they were genuinely keen to arrange every detail of the trip to our satisfaction. Thank you very much, Diana and co.!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very freindly and helpful staff! I booked a last minute trip to the Galapgos and they were truly interested in helping me and proposed me many acceptable offers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great deals, variety of options and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We got a great last minute Galapagos tour which exceeded our expectations and wasn't too harsh on the hip pocket. The deal we got here was much better than everywhere else and the staff are friendly, patient and are genuinely helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whereisteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ShineGalapagos also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to ShineGalapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing