We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place to stay”

Hostal del Piamonte
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal del Piamonte
Ranked #122 of 232 Quito B&B and Inns
Lewisville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK place to stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

OK, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was good. The shower is ridiculous. There is some electric apparatus attached to the shower head, and you have to open it very slowly to get hot water, and not much hot water I might add. While the staff was very cordial, it felt very cold and impersonal at Hostal del Piamonte. Not like the other places that I stayed in while in Ecuador.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    19
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked a different hostel but when we arrived were told it was full and was walked round to hostal del piamonte, the staff here were very helpful even with our terrible Spanish they were a great help. Location is good, close to bars and restaurants, it can be a bit noisy in evening but can't expect to be silent in this area. Our room was very large with a tv and wardrobe, the shower was quite tricky to get hot water. The room was cleaned every day and bedding changed. Breakfast was good, toast and eggs and coffee or fruits and yoghurt for free they also had a fridge where you could buy bottled drinks and snacks also. The wifi worked fine in the bedroom. We did have a police raid at 3am, they were checking passports so this is why my rating for sleep quality isn't the best, obviously this is not fault of hostel. Overall this was a good place to stay, it is great if you are on a budget and the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The location is great just next to the Foch Square, restaurants etc. Hotel itself is nicely furnished, beds are comfortable. Bathroom not so good, hot water only leaking, if you want more preasure, you only get ice cold water. Take your ear plugs if you want to stay on Friday or Saturday, or go our and party, otherwise you will not be able to sleep - there are some party places just over the street and the noise will not let you sleep well. Breakfast is just small, better to eat outside in on of the restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We booked here for two nights and enjoyed it so much we extended to five. Before we arrived we were concerned it might be noisy at night as we are quite close to the central Foch Plaza and a huge main road, but it was quite quiet and we slept really well. The staff and friendly and helpful and our room price included a breakfast of juice, scrambled eggs and toast - the coffee and hot water urns are on all day. There were computers in the lounge and the wifi worked well in our bedroom. I agree with another reviewer that the TV quality is poor and number of channels is minimal, but we weren't visiting Quito to sit and watch the box. The location is GREAT, near bars and restaurants. We are on a long trip and needed to visit shops, get laundry done and we even found a seamstress to alter some trousers. The old town is only a 25c bus ride away, the rest of the time we walked everywhere - and taxis are so cheap. A great place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed at the hostal del piamonte for two nights and it was great! The beds were made every day and they were very clean and fluffy. The free WIFI worked well too! Even the bathrooms were very well maintained and were sparkly clean. Even though we had encountered some problems with our hot water heater, it was fixed immediately and without question. The customer service was absolutely fantastic as well! Juan (not sure how to spell his name) at the front desk was extremely courteous, honest, and polite. He was probably the most professional and respectable young hostal worker I've met in Ecuador and made the trip infinitely better.

The hostal also offers a breakfast for 2 dollars (eggs, toast, coffee, juice), which is a GREAT value in Quito. I would definitely recommend this hostal to travelers. It is also in a great location, right by the echovia and the Foch mariscal (main square in new quito).

The only downsides are minor -- no laundry service, the rooms could use some more amenities (like a trash can in the room maybe?), the bunkbeds were kind of creaky, and perhaps more shelving space in the bathroom area to help travelers put their clothes, tooth brush, etc... Although the TV quality wasn't so good -- it didn't bother me too much, but if you're an avid TV watcher, this is not the place to be. Otherwise, this was a great place and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms either have their bathrooms inside of their room, or they have semi-private bathrooms outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Del Maple
Posada Del Maple
#31 of 232 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Urban Inn
Urban Inn
#52 of 259 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Del Piamonte 2
Hostel Del Piamonte 2
#128 of 259 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mitad del Mundo
Hostal Mitad del Mundo
#104 of 259 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#36 of 232 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#40 of 259 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal del Piamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal del Piamonte

Property: Hostal del Piamonte
Address: Mariscal Foch E8-58 Y 6 De Diciembre, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal del Piamonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing