We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat boutique hortel in heart of historic district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna
Ranked #7 of 247 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Don't look for fancy trimmings but if you want a truly personal touch in Quito this is the place. We had different bookings due to our changing itinerary and they were more than willing to accommodate us. .Altogether we were their guests for 7 nights. The staff is #1. The owner sat with us and gave us the history of how a convent was changed to a hotel. Couple of thoughts... rooms are of different sizes even though they may have two beds. Room # 1 is the best in terms of size. Downside is that it has four windows facing the courtyard and thus it may be more noisy specially when the rooster decides to call its mate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRDJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest, There are several details that must improve. thanks for the comments. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

the staff at the hotel are absolutely dear and the location is fantastic, right in the main plaza! the rooms however, could be cleaner and the bathrooms definitely need some TLC. Breakfast is pretty good and even dinner was ok at their restaurant, however, not sure how the house can have 4.5 out of 5, but I will guess it's because the staff is just so nice...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalCitizenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest, for us your comments are important, we hope to improve every day. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed 1 night in this hotel, on 2nd floor room facing the courtyard.
The BB is in the historic center of Quito. The hotel's interior is very nice, traditional design. The room was nice and comfy, the bathroom is a bit basic but was fine too. The breakfast was good (great juices made of local fruits!). The manager (a very nice lady) was extremely helpful: she made a few phone calls on our behalf to arrange a minivan to Tena (Napa valley) and she even helped us find the minivan.

We had a very good experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Andras, thanks for the review, for us is important that you have been well attended, Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Excellently located, this quaint hotel is right around the corner from San Franciso Church - there could not be a better location!! The staff, Claudia and Bernardo and others, were beyond friendly and made us feel like part of the family right away. The conditions were excellent, always clean and tidy, and all of the staff went above and beyond to make this one of the best stays of my life! The food was excellent and plentiful - any time of day or night, even after returning from a long hike, they waited on us and ensured all of our needs were taken care of - and always with a huge smile on their face! There were so many personal touches throughout our stay, it was truly hard to leave. I would most highly recommend this place to any and all travelers - you won't be disappointed! Highly, highly recommended for an excellent price - GO!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Margaret, Thank you for your wonderful review, For us was was nice to meet you and we hope to see you again, your were special guests. Regards...Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was one of the best, most authentic hotels I've stayed at. The restored and carefully preserved old family home was converted to a really nice hotel with modern amenities but still felt like we were staying at someone's home. The staff and owner were super friendly.

There was an initial mix-up when we were picked up at the airport. They sent a small car for two, but there were four of us as per our correspondence. Our driver was very nice though, he found a taxi for two of us, while the other two went in his car. When we arrived, the hotel was only able to find one reservation. Luckily there was a cancellation (which I suspect was our other reservation, which was made under a different name; more on this later). In the end we got two rooms as we initially booked.

Breakfast at their restaurant downstairs was excellent, basic but very tasty. We also had dinner there one night, the food took forever to prepare but was reasonably priced, and the wine was delicious. One gripe is that the smell of cooking somehow permeated my room and lingered (#5) but not my friend's room (#6). Very strange.

Our check out was reasonably speedy and taxi arrived on time as ordered. However, later the hotel realized that the payment was supposed to be made at check out (which I informed them about at check out, but they said it was going to be charged to Agoda.com and Booking.com). They checked again, and FINALLY found the missing booking. Somehow my booking at Agoda (under a different name, made for my friend) was rerouted to Booking.com and they didn't realize it was made by me. Booking.com tried to charge me for a no-show after I left, but I told them that we did honor the booking (which we did). So confusing. Anyway, no harm done, but perhaps the hotel and the booking websites could have got their records organized better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest, we are sorry for the confusion that existed, but we hope you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this wonderfully located in old historic part of Quito. The staff and owners are warm and knowledgable and very helpful with suggeons, transportation, and sights. Very clean , highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Guest, thanks for your nice review, we want to see you again. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Sonya the owner is such a nice person she gave us chocolate, and not the cheap stuff either, she offered to send more home to us, she fed our waiting taxi driver breakfast, and gave a history tour of the B&B which used to belong to one of the richest families in quito. A lot of the home and even furniture has been maintained making this such a unique place to stay. And it's right near the plaza San Francisco, so you're
in the heart of old town. Walking distance to the main plaza, central market, and Calle La Ronda. Sonya was so nice, when we had a few hours to kill a few days later we went to go say hi to her, and you should too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miablee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed every detail. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#6 of 112 in Quito
541 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna

Address: Bolivar Oe 6-105 | Centro Historico, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £46 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing