We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience and fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna
Ranked #5 of 236 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here with my 2 teenagers both before and after our trip to Galapagos for a total of 3 nights. What a lovely boutique hotel! The staff is amazing - so friendly that they feel like family. The physical structure is beautiful and you feel like you are right on a hacienda with the center courtyard (enclosed), beautiful artwork, and nice furnishings. Beds are super comfortable and rooms are quiet (unless people are talking out in center room). The attached restaurant is lovely as well and so beautiful. Breakfast is wonderful - eggs to order, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and fresh bread with jam. The location can't be beat and since it is near Plaza de San Francisco, taxis can drop you there and it is so easy to explain because everyone knows the plaza. We felt very safe walking here at night as the streets are brightly lit and there are always lots of people (and police) about. Loved the location - so close to the parks and historic buildings.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows, so ask for one if this is important but know that it may be a bit noisie...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckeye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your review. We are grateful for your positive feedback and hope to see you again soon Portal de Cantuña.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed again at Hotel Portal de Cantuña, and, again, I had a wonderful time. The hotel is cozy, comfortable, and the staff makes you feel at home. Located in an old house in the historic center of Quito, it is close to many of the sights (San Francisco and La Compañía churches, Museo del Alabado, Plaza Grande), so it makes it very convenient to visit this part of town since traffic in Quito can be a nightmare! Bernardo, Sonia, Claudia and the rest of the staff made our stay wonderful.
The only minor complain is with breakfast. Although they tell you that breakfast is served from 7 a.m., it never happens like that. One day, it was 7:30 a.m. and the breakfast buffet was not set up. It is a comment I made during my last stay, and there is room for improvement. I would also suggest having more fruit for breakfast. Portions are on the small side.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are larger than those on the second floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aguhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Portal de Cantuña. We do whatever we can to make sure our guests feel welcomed. We want to see you again. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This quaint hotel in the colonial section of Quito was great for our purposes. It's not overly fancy, but it's completely adequate and clean with a very charming atmosphere. The location is right on the San Francisco plaza, which is in the heart of the colonial area without being loud or too busy. The B&B is inside an old colonial home with a beautiful central courtyard! The staff was more than friendly and accommodating, and they spoke good English. They went out of their way to arrange a safe airport transport for us at 3:45 am and also made sure we had breakfast and everything we needed before leaving for our day tours each day. The WiFi is mostly only available in the common areas, but sometimes you could get access in your room as well. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Quito! We stayed for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest: thank you for share your experience, This is your house in Quito. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay in Historic Quito. Right next to the Church of San Francisco and within walking distance of most attractions. Bernardo, the owner is very sincere and friendly. Ask him for help and directions and he graciously helps. The staff is excellent and the accommodations typical B&B. Wifi is adequate and there is plenty of hot water. Highly recommend, a great place and value.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nevdeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your review, for us was a pleasure to serve you, for us is nice to hear about our satisfied guests. We do hope you will come back sometime. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We used Portal de Cantuña as a base of operations during our visit to Ecuador, leaving our bags in the hotel when we explored the Galapagos and the Mindo area. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful during our five nights at the hotel, going out of their way to serve us. One of the two rooms we stayed in had 2 window opening to an external courtyard, making the room bright and well ventilated. The second room's only window opened on an interior patio and was rather gloomy, compounded by dark colors on the walls. Both rooms lacked details: throw rugs that should be thrown out, in one bathroom a door handle that was broken not fixed in spite of our pleas, a general level of cleanliness well short of excellent. Bathrooms in both rooms were small, but clean and well appointed. The upstairs commons areas are spectacular with beautiful furniture from the 20th century. The downstairs commons area, however, needs work: the floor needs a good scrubbing, the plants need regular watering, a rug needs replacing. Breakfasts included a limited offering of fruit, juice, eggs, bread, coffee or tea. A more generous and varied fruit serving and alternatives to eggs would be welcome. Having said all this, we would return here again. The personnel is wonderful. The location is excellent. It does have a "homey" feel. Portal de Cantuña has won recognition in the past, but must try harder to maintain that fine reputation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows to the outside courtyard.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jhawk662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest, thanks for your review, for us is very important what you think because we want to improve every day, the details mentioned we will be taken into account. We want to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Don't look for fancy trimmings but if you want a truly personal touch in Quito this is the place. We had different bookings due to our changing itinerary and they were more than willing to accommodate us. .Altogether we were their guests for 7 nights. The staff is #1. The owner sat with us and gave us the history of how a convent was changed to a hotel. Couple of thoughts... rooms are of different sizes even though they may have two beds. Room # 1 is the best in terms of size. Downside is that it has four windows facing the courtyard and thus it may be more noisy specially when the rooster decides to call its mate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRDJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest, There are several details that must improve. thanks for the comments. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

the staff at the hotel are absolutely dear and the location is fantastic, right in the main plaza! the rooms however, could be cleaner and the bathrooms definitely need some TLC. Breakfast is pretty good and even dinner was ok at their restaurant, however, not sure how the house can have 4.5 out of 5, but I will guess it's because the staff is just so nice...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalCitizenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest, for us your comments are important, we hope to improve every day. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 111 in Quito
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 111 in Quito
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#36 of 111 in Quito
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 111 in Quito
285 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#15 of 111 in Quito
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna

Address: Bolivar Oe 6-105 | Centro Historico, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £47 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing