We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Casa Tolena Hostal
Ranked #46 of 245 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2014

As other reviewers have indicated, this hoste is a very good value and the location is great - very close to the historical district and a short taxi ride to other attractions. The property is somewhat showing its age - but is clean and safe. We didn't eat breakfast there but is available. Also as others have said, Carolina and her father are great, and it certainly helps if you speak Spanish, which my daughter does who I was travelling with. The top level is perhaps the best part - great views of the city and a relaxing place to hang out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ColoradoJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great spot with cute little rooms very close to the old town center of Quito. Carolina and her father run the place and are both extremely helpful and friendly. They have water, tea and coffee out all the time, and are happy to give maps and great tips about the best things to see and do in Quito.

As others have mentioned, some tips:
- We were recommended to take a taxi at night. It felt pretty safe, and we walked right after sunset, but many people told us not to walk later at night.
- Carolina is extremely willing to chat and learn English, but your conversation goes MUCH faster if you can at least understand some Spanish.
- There are a few small local restaurants near the hostel, but if you're staying multiple nights, you'll want to get dinner in old town or somewhere else.
- You can arrange an airport shuttle for $30 or take a taxi from the airport for $27. Both are pretty easy and convenient, so if you haven't pre-arranged a shuttle when you arrive, just be sure to have the names of the cross-streets. The taxis from the airports are heavily regulated, have fixed prices, and are very safe.
- There is a little street noise starting around 7am. We were up that early anyway, but if you're a late sleeper, that might be a bother.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Accommodations in Quito fall into basically two categories: overpriced hotels or overpriced hostels. La Casa Tolena fits marginally into the second category, but is about as good a value as you can find for the money. We stayed there for three nights.

Situated on the other side of a main road from the historic Old Town by few blocks, it's a good but not perfect location. It's very quiet after dark and even though it's well lit, you may feel uncomfortable walking around alone. As others have said, taxis are cheap by Western standards and that's a pretty easy option. We opted for La Casa Tolena's $35 airport pick-up and were glad that we did since we arrived so late. There are a few places to eat and buy things within walking distance, and it's really not in a bad or abandoned neighborhood, just a quiet one by night. By 6:00 AM, it's buzzing.

The building is old and the rooms and general decor could use a makeover, but it's clean and secure. Our room on the third floor had a full-size bed, private bathroom, and little sitting room. Plentiful outlets were appreciated, but it all did feel a bit worn. We had to be a bit patient with the hot water but it's there. All things considered, when you're taking a lukewarm shower, you remember that you're paying 1/4 of the price compared to other places, and that can help put things into perspective. :-)

There is an enclosed rooftop deck that offers phenomenal views of southern Quito and El Panecillo, and it's a nice place to start or end the day. Breakfast is served on the first floor and is Western fare, for an additional $3.50 - Nescafe (standard everywhere), bread, eggs how you like them, juice, and fruit salad. A good and convenient way to start the day. Wi-fi, especially on the 3rd floor, is extremely spotty, which we found to be the case all over Quito and all over Ecuador.

Fabian and his daughters are very friendly and accommodating hosts; as others have noted you are best served communicating in Spanish if possible. Ultimately, if we returned to Quito we would consider staying at La Casa Tolena again because it's convenient to the Old Town and fairly priced for what it offers: a 2-star, clean and secure night's sleep. If you are looking for luxury accommodations or the enchanting Old World experience of colonial Quito, you may want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room on the highest floor has an extra sitting room with couches that's great for dumping all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgetahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Pros: Wonderful family that runs the hostel, amazing views from upper floor, close to historical centre, good wifi, comfortable room, good breakfast, quirky building with lots of character

Cons: Spotty hot water in the shower, need to take a taxi at night to get anywhere but that's cheap and true pretty much anywhere in Quito

The family only speaks Spanish, but Carolina is trying to learn english and can help with anything you need. A short walk or cab ride takes you to the historical centre, and a slightly longer ride (under $5) gets you to the Mariscal. 45 minute cab ride from airport. Some taxis had trouble finding the place, adding "acerca de Don Bosco" usually helped.

Room Tip: The highest room is spacious and has nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattHy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This clean, safe, and well maintained hostel is located in the historical district of Quito. The owner Fabian and his two daughters Carolina and Silabana are extremely accommodating and hospitable. They have made our time in Quito a memorable one. We will visit them every time we come to this city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brixtonluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hostel is a bit tired and run down. It needs a good shake up.

Rooms are spacious and clean. Bathroom quite grubby. Room is not cleaned daily.

Breakfast: It always feels chaotic as if they a not quite sure what is going on. But eventually it consists of a cheese roll, after a bit you get a little fruit salad. Then finally you are given the option for eggs.

Location: near a few local restaurants and basic food stores.

Owners: family run, they are very sweet. Helpful with maps and directions. Father came to pick us up from airport.

Suggestion for hotel: ask guests if they would like breakfast when checking in, so you can prepare it all before. And make something of that upstairs "bar". It is a lovely space but abandoned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights last month. The good: The room was spacious, reliable pick up and drop off at the airport by the owner himself, great location, close to the historical centre, they gave us a map, stored our luggage on the last day. The price is good too. The bad: No one offered to carry our bags up the stairs, the shower was very forceful, the hot water kept turning cold in between showers, the bar of soap that was given on the first day was taken away on the second, no breakfast served the first morning as we had to leave before 7 am for our biking tour, no breakfast given on the second morning too because they had a party the previous night that went on late. The ugly: Noisy thanks to the thin walls and floors, they had a crazy, loud party complete with a raucous band on our second night to celebrate the mother's birthday. Kept us up till 3 am. And because we didn't speak Spanish, it was very tough to communicate with them. Carolina was pretty helpful at times, gave us an umbrella when it looked like rain, but at other times seemed exasperated with us and showed it openly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina R, Gerente at La Casa Tolena Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014
Google Translation

Mi estimada

Lolita

Buenas tardes.
Para nosotros fue muy grato haberles recibido en el hostal y podido ayudar en las dos noches que se hospedaron.
El hostal es una casa colonial, como se pudieron dar cuenta por lo tanto con paredes gruesas y amplias. Como les había manifestado a todos los huéspedes la noche anterior había una pequeña fiesta de cumpleaños de mi madre por motivo a ello se les invito a todos y por respeto a las demás personas hospedas ese día. La reunión se termino a las 12 noche no a las tres de la mañana como usted lo indica.
El problema del agua es solo saber como usar las llaves y yo siempre estoy atenta indicándoles como utilizar las duchas,los jabones y shampoo usados se los retira al siguiente día , proporcionándoles unos nuevos. Con respecto a los desayunos se sirven a partir de las 8 y 30 de la mañana tal como lo explican en las agencias de reservas. Siempre estado predispuesta a todos los requerimientos de nuestros clientes que mas de ser clientes son amigos ya que nuestro hostal brinda servicio, calidad, seguridad y lo primordial calor de hogar por ello hemos mantenido buenos comentarios de todos y nos han recomendado cada día a mas personas. Todos los días estudio ingles para no tener este tipo de inconvenientes y poderles ayudar con todas sus inquietudes . También practico con nuestros clientes el ingles y les enseño español sin ningún costo en sus tiempos libres. Espero en otra ocasión atenderles de una mejor manera.

Atentamente
Carolina Romero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.8 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 113 in Quito
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge INN
L'Auberge INN
#17 of 245 in Quito
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yumbo Imperial
Hotel Yumbo Imperial
#35 of 245 in Quito
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Hostal Mia Leticia
Hostal Mia Leticia
#22 of 245 in Quito
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Quito Cultural
Hostal Quito Cultural
#19 of 245 in Quito
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Tolena Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Tolena Hostal

Address: Av. Chile E4-13 y Leon | La Tola Alta Centro Historico, Quito 02, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 245 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £12 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa Tolena Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Casa Tolena Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing