We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing - location ”
Review of Hostal Ecuador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Ecuador
Ranked #75 of 259 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only good thing - location ”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The title says it all really. We struggled to find anywhere nice & affordable in the old town of Quito. I'm sure this is a regular problem in lots of capital cities where prices are naturally higher than elsewhere in the country. This is where we ended up, and whilst we're glad we didn't stay in the Mariscal area, the location of Hostal Ecuador was the only good thing about it. We were able to walk everywhere from the hostal safely, close to lots of key areas & sights of the old town.

We were given a spacious maisonette type room but the floors were dirty & the bathroom smelt bad. There was a good shower tho with hot water.

Wifi worked and there was also an old computer to access internet.

Breakfast was not great, so bad in fact we avoided it altogether on our last morning and ate at a cafe our guidebook recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    15
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
19
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked 4 nights at Hostal Ecuador in Quito. We took the precaution to call the hostal over the phone and re-confirmed through E-Mails, with its manager, Dante Garcia. At our arrival, late at night, we found out that there was no room available although they had sent a taxi to the airport to pick us up as arranged. Mr. Garcia apologized and drove us to Chicago Hostel. We spent the first night over there. The following morning Edison came for us. Edison is Dante’s brother, which happened to be the same driver that met us at the airport the night before. Upon arrival at Hostal Ecuador we were accommodated in very dark room. The next morning the girl at the front desk asked about the accommodation, we complained about the lack of light in the room. She then offered another room and showed us different rooms to choose from. We decided for a very nice room with 2 windows to the street, 2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor, living and dining rooms, refrigerator etc. It was like a two floors apartment at no additional cost. The only minus was that the bathroom is in the 1st floor while the bedrooms are in the 2nd floor. We were very happy. On the 3rd day in the morning, the same girl at the front desk informed us that the room was needed to accommodate a group arriving latter. Therefore, we were transferred to another interior and dark room.
Conclusion: 4 nights in Quito, 2 hostals, 4 different rooms that made our stay very uncomfortable.
The front desk staff as well as Edison, the driver, are nice and accommodating but the administration (Dante Garcia) is very poor. No excuses by saying that Hostelworld.com overbooked. They knew that we were coming since they sent a car to the airport to get us that evening. We were not along; they had to accommodate another person from Australia at Chicago Hostel that night.
To us it looks like they systematically overbook with no concern for the guest’s time and comfort.

Room Tip: Pichincha and some other rooms are very nice. There are interior and dark rooms, stay away from them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

It's a clean and friendly hostal, with helping staff, good free breakfast and in the middle of the Historic Center, very easy to go by foot to the main attractions. The single rooms are very small, because they built bathrooms inside them, that is a good thing, but lets very little space for you, your luggage and anythihng else you have. Anyway, the cost-benefice is positive!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyphen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

It's good location and friendly staff are the best things about this Hostal. It is in need of repair and is showing its age. It's charming but with little work could be brought up to decent standards for the price. Don't get the room right off reception!! It's a cave with the only window looking out to the front door & reception and it's small and no room to move. Moved to an upstairs suite, which was more pleasant but little or no light at night because light bulbs burned out. Floors of kitchen area need repair so be careful not to trip on trim falling apart where you have to walk. Also, wifi in this corner suite is extremely limited due to the concrete walls not allowing signal. You have to go out to sit in alcove or on terrace to get it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TriciaLyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Do not trust a reservation booked at this hotel!!!
I booked a room for two nights at Hostal Ecuador for our family of four who were arriving in Quito very late at night. I had a confirmation email from Dante and I reconfirmed 2 days before we arrived. As planned his driver Edison picked us up. And Edison was great. But when we arrived at the Hostal Ecuador and hauled in all of our luggage and our two sleeping daughters (ages 5 and 7) they were told they had no record of our reservation! We loaded back up in Edison's car and went to their "other" property, which ALSO had no vacancy. Thankfully Edison stayed with us and drove us to three, yes three, more hotels before we found one with vacancy. We tumbled into bed at 3:30am. Some welcome to Ecuador. No thanks to Dante and the Hostal Ecuador.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marlisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Short walk to all the main icons of old town including being a 3 minute walk to Al Rondo, the happening street for music and restaurants. My room was huge, the building very charismatic.
The staff were super helpful with their limited English...even helping me get a better seat on my flights.
Breakfast was just the Ecuador norm. Security was great. The only down side was the bathroom had not one single hanging hook for your clothes.....you must hang them on the floor!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

The Good:
Great location very near historical Quito and restaurants.
Staff friendly just not knowledgeable about getting things done around city.
Nice old building.

The Bad:
The price. We stayed in three different places in Quito the cheapest being $20 and was fine. For price not much of a step up at all.
Not all rooms look like that advertised on Expedia. We certaintly didn't get some facilities in photo such as tv.
Breakfast was ok. Nothing special but for price I was expecting a higher standard than a typical hostel brekky. Had eggs but was only a small step up with double pricetag of other hostels around Quito (obviously not so close to town though).
The Ugly:
Rooms noisy - you'll hear everything going on. Fortunately wasn't too busy when we were there but one guy did leave at 1am for a flight and we must have heard everything.

You'll find better value around town but if hard pressed this place is ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.8 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 259 in Quito
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Marcos
Hotel Casa San Marcos
#14 of 232 in Quito
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yumbo Imperial
Hotel Yumbo Imperial
#36 of 232 in Quito
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Quito Cultural
Hostal Quito Cultural
#19 of 232 in Quito
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 232 in Quito
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ecuador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ecuador

Property: Hostal Ecuador
Address: Venezuela S-128, Quito 170130, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 259 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Ecuador 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located in the heart of the historical centre of Quito, near to the most important historical and cultural sites of the city. Just 20 minutes by taxi from the international airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Ecuador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing