We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$551
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
444
149
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
149
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townchocolate shoppedestrian streetlovely hotelspiral staircaseon friday and saturday nightsno liftfiltered waterboxed breakfastinside roomreading roombreakfasts were excellenthistoric districtcentral atriumlounge areapotato soupmain sights
Filter
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The boutique hotel Casona de la Ronda is almost brand-new and quite comfortable.

If I had to be critical, it would be the location. On one hand, it's nice being in the heart of the Old City of Quito. On the other hand, there's not much to do in the evening that you don't have to take a taxi to. Thankfully, the cabs in Quito are dirt cheap. I'd stay here again for an Old City experience.

Our room was on the second floor and faced the street in front. There's a lot of activity in the evening, but almost all the noise is shut out nicely by good double-glazed windows. If you need total quiet, ask for a room away from the street. I'm sure these nice folks will give you one. There's enough closet space and the bathroom is quite large. We were not able to get internet in our room because of REALLY thick stone walls that blocked the signal. This was easily solved by using a large easy chair on the inner landing right next to the router. Perfect signal there. One wonders why they didn't install ethernet cabling to the rooms while they were building the hotel... When I first mentioned the problem, it seemed to be the first time the staff had heard of it. BUT, they were extremely nice and even offered us a free upgrade to a junior suite right next to the router. We didn't really want to move, and the chair by the router has served us well.

Management has done a really excellent job of hiring people. Everyone was just great.

Breakfast is very good. Also, we had lunch the first day here, and it was excellent as well.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Casona de la Ronda to anyone who wants a comfortable, well-appointed, and new boutique hotel right in the middle of Old City Quito.

Room Tip: For VERY quiet, a room away from the street would probably be best.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce_santarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisella P, Manager at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear guests:

On behalf of The Casona de La Ronda Hotel and our staff, we want to thank you for taking the time to write, such a nice overview, about our hotel, its staff, and the surroundings in the old town. Your recommendations are very much appreciate and kind.

Your opinion is really important to keep improving our service, including the internet issue, we are working to increase de signal installing Ethernet inside some rooms that are far away from the router and with the thick walls. For us, it was a pleasure to offer all the recommendations during your trip in Ecuador.

If you return to Quito in the future, please remember that you have a new “home” to stay and we will be delighted to attend you again.

My personal regards,

Gisella Petrilli
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here twice en route to the Amazon & to Galapagos. Calle Rona is the "la Rambla" of old colonial Quito with music & shops & cafes. The Casona is a lovely old home which has just been converted to a very charming little inn. We met the owners, who are very concerned that everything is just right. Decor very well done with walls painted with flowers & rooms are very comfortable. We were not on the main street, which I understand can be noisy.
Had lunch there...just right! Something to see...in the little garden are "foliage walls" of tropical plants. Very cool.

Room Tip: Try not to get on the street...might be noisy. Take. 1/2 day tour of old city with a guide.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisella P, Manager at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear guests:
In the name of all the staff and my own, we want to thank you for such a beautiful overview of all the aspect of our Hotel and the surroundings of La Ronda St.

Your comments about our staff and the service are very important for us, we are always trying to improve our service, because we want to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible.

We always love to attend you and have you in our Hotel, if you ever return to Quito. It was great to have you with us and we remember with great affection.

Kindest Regards,

Gisella Petrilli
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here only briefly, for two overnight stops either side of an 8-day trip to the Galapagos Islands. The situation, in the old part of the city is perfect, and the night-life is lively, to say the least. However, the hotel itself is in a pedestrian precinct so is really not too noisy. The inside is spectacular and the rooms are sumptuous. The staff could not have been more helpful and recommended tours and restaurants for us. The hotel has only been open a few months but is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambridge_Tourist85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisella P, Manager at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear guests:
On behalf of The Casona de La Ronda Hotel and its staff, we want to thank you for taking the time to write, with such a nice overview, about our hotel, its staff, and the surroundings in the old town. Your recommendations are also highly appreciated.
Your feedback is very important, and incentive us to keep improving our day to day service. For us, it was a pleasure to serve you during your trip to Ecuador.
If you return to Quito in the future, please remember that you have a new “home” to stay and we will be delighted to serve you again.


Kindest Regards,

Gisella Petrilli
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I made the La Casona our home base for our trip to Ecuador. We stayed a total of 5 nights over 15 days, also visiting Mindo 3 days and a week in the Galapagos. We found the owner and staff very attentive and the hotel charming with very nice rooms-each is different. Easy walk to all the sites in the historical center and some good and inexpensive resturants with local flavor. A tip: don't venture out of the "protected" zone, even in broad daylight. Stay on the streets that are closed to traffic and have an obvious police presence. This is easy to do, and you will be fine. The wifi was a bit spotty some days, but we could usually log on when we wanted to, and they also have a computer available for guests. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: While the balconies overlooking La Ronda with its active nightlife are very nice, weekend nights can be noisy until 2 AM. Bring earplugs if you are in a room facing the street, or request a room on the opposite side.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukealumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisella P, Manager at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear guest:
I want to thank you for taking your time writing about us, such a beautiful description of our Hotel and the staff.
Your feedback is very important for us to keep improving our service. It was a pleasure to serve you during your trip to Ecuador.
We are very sorry that you had some problems with the wifi, sometimes the signal is a bit weak , but we are taking action on it so it won’t happen again.
Regarding your comments about the noise in the front rooms, even though that the windows are soundproof, we are making some changes to make it more anti noise windows.
If you return to Quito, don´t forget you have a place in “your home” in Quito waiting for you whenever you want to come back.

My personal best regards and thanks.
Gisella Petrilli
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

very nice experience, in a great area in Quito and with good infra-estructure to avoid noise
nice meals and very nice rooms

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisella P, Manager at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to let us know your feedback, which is very important for us and our staff to keep improving our service, you have to know that it was a pleasure to attend you.

Don´t forget you have a place waiting for you whenever you want to come back.

You will always be welcomed. Best regards
Gisella Petrilli
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews