We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hostel with community feel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Community Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Community Hostel
Ranked #1 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant hostel with community feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Easily one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Very clean, helpful staff, friendly people; good to meet people and exchange travel info and opinions.

Airport pick up was great as we arrived late & they ensured we had water & got to our room okay.

Quito tour was really useful and well worth doing. Good breakfast and evening meals too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    85
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
17
113
280
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the windows to the walls, this place has got it on lock. Every morning there is fresh fruit and someone to greet you! The community table setup allows a safe and inviting atmosphere for everyone to share their stories and make new companions to travel with. There is an abundance of outings from the hostel including, the free walking tour, ladies night and movie nights. The beds are comfortable and there is enough room to sit up on the bottom bunk without hitting your head! The staff is comedic and does their best to create personal relationships with everyone that comes in!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This is my fourth time staying at Community Hostel - I just keep coming back here because it feels like my home in Ecuador. The atmosphere is really nice, with delicious breakfasts and dinners that bring everyone together, and the staff are all so friendly and welcoming, and they really make you feel part of the family straight away. They are also very helpful on any questions about the city or country. And the free walking tour from the hostel and the food tour on Friday nights are a really great way of getting to know Quito. The beds and pillows in the hostel are super comfortable too, and the bathrooms and kitchen and rooms are always clean. Remember to book in advance cause its often booked out!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kiri_Libbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first place to stay on our trip and boy did it set high standards for all other hostels! The staff are unbeatable, the group events at night at fun, everything is clean, showers are hot, and breakfast is out of this world. Two weeks later, this is still the best hostel we have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burban91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a awesome little hostel located in old town. Clean, awesome staff, and great breakfasts and dinners. Great to meet other travelers and have a good time. They have daily free walking tours of Quito. Do it on Monday to see the change of guards at the plaza.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Community hostel was the best hostel ever!
I ended up not being able to leave for a long time!
Staff are wicked always up for having a groovy time and have limitless knowledge of Quito.
The food is amazing. Beds are comfy. Awesome place to meet new people because of the community feel.
Location was perfect with really good transport links.
Seriously wish I oculd go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed in Comunity Hostel, service was great and rooms too..... but the internet was terrible, when you are travelling is very important to have it, also they don't have enough bathrooms for all the clients they have and the locations looks unsafe .....any way good staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Hostel

Property: Community Hostel
Address: Pedro Fermin Cevallos n6-78 Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Community Hostel located in Old town Quito! Come and enjoy our FREE walking tour! our hostel offers several styles of accommodation to fulfill the needs of every traveler, including dormitory, private, and single gender rooms (female only). Our beds are the most comfortable in Quito, handmade by a local artisan carpenter. Sip on some tea or coffee from one of our two seated balconies and take in the beauty of an Ecuadorian sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Community Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing