We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hostels I stayed in”
Review of Community Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Community Hostel
Ranked #1 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the nicest hostels I stayed in”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Definitely one of, if not the best hostel I stayed in in five months. The comfiest beds, amazing home-feel bathrooms (yes, there's only three but when they're this nice who cares!), great communal areas, delicious food, lovely helpful staff, friendly guests, great location and a good walking tour offered. Couldn't ask for anything more! It might be a dollar or two more expensive than the absolute cheapest that Quito has to offer but it is so worth it as overall it is much better value. I stayed in two other places in Quito (Vibes and the Hostelling International place in La Mariscal - on that note I would highly recommend staying in the historic centre rather than there) and they had absolutely nothing on Community Hostel. Recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dance_lre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    90
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
122
294
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Pros: The beds are very comfortable, nice location, provide clean drinking water, clean and nice facilities (great bathroom but only one per floor of about 16 people)

Cons: One of the greatest advantages of staying in a hostal is being able to ask about the area and if you have a question about the foreign country you're visiting, the staff is there to help you. This hostal (I have stayed at close to 30 hostals) has by far the least helpful staff we have ever come in contact with. In fact their sheer lack of knowledge made me question how they were hired in the first place. We asked several basic questions about highlights around Ecuador (within an hour from Quito and around Quito itself) and both staff members we spoke with on separate occasions could not help us whatsoever. In fact they began to tell us incorrect information (possibly due to their lack of knowledge) that if we had listened to would have severely affected our trip. There is a travel guide who lives in the hostal but was unavailable the entire day and the staff made no effort to put us in contact with him. Although they were very nice, their ignorance is cause for me to absolutely not recommend this hostal.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed in the community hostel several times during my trip in Ecuador. The atmosphere in the hostel is simply amazing. There is a big common area upstairs, where everybody meets, exchanges news and eats tasty breakfasts and dinners. They have a cook coming in at night and even though the meals are a little expensive (5 Dollars) its totally worth the money. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the beds are really comfortable. The only negative aspect of this hostel is, that they only have 3 bathrooms, so you might have to wait a bit in the mornings.
I definitely recommend this hostel to everyone who likes a friendly atmosphere. It almost felt as if everybody in the hostel was a big family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Absolutely fantastic hostel!! Stayed at the secret garden for my first night in Quito and was very disappointed (don't stay there!) so moved down the road to here and was so glad i did. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the free walking tour and food tour that Ovi does are brilliant! The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are amazing (Hotel standard), although there could be more of them. There is an excellent common area at the top where there are evening meals and another common area with sofas which are great places to meet other travellers. Would definitely recommend this hostel and will definitely stay here when i come back next time!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Easily one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Very clean, helpful staff, friendly people; good to meet people and exchange travel info and opinions.

Airport pick up was great as we arrived late & they ensured we had water & got to our room okay.

Quito tour was really useful and well worth doing. Good breakfast and evening meals too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the windows to the walls, this place has got it on lock. Every morning there is fresh fruit and someone to greet you! The community table setup allows a safe and inviting atmosphere for everyone to share their stories and make new companions to travel with. There is an abundance of outings from the hostel including, the free walking tour, ladies night and movie nights. The beds are comfortable and there is enough room to sit up on the bottom bunk without hitting your head! The staff is comedic and does their best to create personal relationships with everyone that comes in!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This is my fourth time staying at Community Hostel - I just keep coming back here because it feels like my home in Ecuador. The atmosphere is really nice, with delicious breakfasts and dinners that bring everyone together, and the staff are all so friendly and welcoming, and they really make you feel part of the family straight away. They are also very helpful on any questions about the city or country. And the free walking tour from the hostel and the food tour on Friday nights are a really great way of getting to know Quito. The beds and pillows in the hostel are super comfortable too, and the bathrooms and kitchen and rooms are always clean. Remember to book in advance cause its often booked out!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kiri_Libbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#1 of 110 in Quito
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 263 in Quito
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 263 in Quito
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Hostel

Property: Community Hostel
Address: Pedro Fermin Cevallos n6-78 Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Community Hostel located in Old town Quito! Come and enjoy our FREE walking tour! our hostel offers several styles of accommodation to fulfill the needs of every traveler, including dormitory, private, and single gender rooms (female only). Our beds are the most comfortable in Quito, handmade by a local artisan carpenter. Sip on some tea or coffee from one of our two seated balconies and take in the beauty of an Ecuadorian sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Community Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing