We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, clean, modern and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Community Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Community Hostel
Ranked #1 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean, modern and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great hostel all round. Staff were very helpful and nice. Room was very big and spacious with comfy bed. It is a bit noisy out on the street in the mornings as hostel us right by a street market but that doesn't take from the hostel overall. Great shower in big modern bathroom. The $5 dinner is great value and super tasty. Makes it really easy to meet other travelers too. Highly recommended all in all!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    87
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
17
116
284
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The crew at the hostel goes above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to customer service. The food was great and it was great meeting people from all over the world. The name definitely says it all...community. Thanks staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

one of the best hostels in south america that i've stayed in. it's INCREDIBLY clean, the beds are very comfortable and the sheets are soft, the showers are HOT and have excellent pressure, the staff is incredibly nice and helpful. very easy to meet fellow backpackers and socialize. absolutely delicious breakfast ($2.50) and group dinners ($5). offer filtered water for free. have a nice movie selection that you can watch on a cozy couch in a movie room. just a great hostel. book in advance, as they fill up rather quickly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

In a word: noisy. Yes the beds are comfy, the linens are clean, and the $5 dinners are delicious. However, it's situated in a bad neighborhood (even locals avoid it!) that gets noisy starting around 5am daily. Add to that the nightly noise by other guests in the hostel (dining room on 3rd floor, tv room on 2nd floor, all within earshot of the beds) and you can bet you won't be getting much (any) sleep here either at night or in the mornings.

Worse, the staff was ineffective in regulating the noise (when they wanted to deal with it at all). Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is by far the best of 3 hostels I stayed in during my time in Quito. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, thanks so very much to Anel, Gina and Edwardo, particularly when my luggage was lost at the airport. It is in a central location. It's clean, with spacious communal areas, comfortable beds and is very reasonably priced. Breakfast and dinner is provided and is tasty also reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

When I went there for the first time I was surprised to find such an organised, clean and friendly hostel in Quito, I could only compare it with hostels I stayed in Europe. When being there you can realise that there is a lot of effort in the team to provide great service to everyone, trying to customise attention as much as possible, keeping clean all facilities and arranging experiences so that everyone feels at home. As tourism analyst in Quito, I can not compare this hostel with any other one because, only the Community Hostel has it all: strategic location, affordable prices, transportation facilities (even late at night - if the driver is not available, a person of the crew will help you to get a cab no matter schedules), delicious meals, friendly Ecuadorian people and international atmosphere. Definitely a place for travellers from all over the world.

Room Tip: Sleeping at the 4 bed dorm will make your stay more comfortable, because you will have more space fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaQcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My girlfriend ans me has started our 3 weeks trip by staying 2 nights there and booked an awesome trip to the jungle from there with hostel staff (very welcoming ! ). Cool 4 floors hostel with "front desk" on the fourth floor on the enormous dinning table. There's always something going on at the table with someone interesting to chat with. 3rd floor is a living room with a projector, nice place to nap... We've asked to be in the same dorm and they said yes, and we finally stayed in 6 beds dorm, but we had to be in separate dorm because they did not want to ask to someone (a lonely traveler) to switch room for 2 nights. We've had worst ! The hostel seems always a bit crowdy very nice place to meet people!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 254 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#3 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Hostel

Property: Community Hostel
Address: Pedro Fermin Cevallos n6-78 Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Community Hostel located in Old town Quito! Come and enjoy our FREE walking tour! our hostel offers several styles of accommodation to fulfill the needs of every traveler, including dormitory, private, and single gender rooms (female only). Our beds are the most comfortable in Quito, handmade by a local artisan carpenter. Sip on some tea or coffee from one of our two seated balconies and take in the beauty of an Ecuadorian sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Community Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing