We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel at each end of a Celebrity Xpedition Galapagos cruise (April, 2013). Great hotel. Grand-looking place, excellent service. They have a spa the size of Milwaukee. Beautiful pool area. The Hacienda restaurant (one of three in the hotel, not counting the bar) is really nice. The Hacienda has an Argentine section and a Mexican section, with corresponding menus. Had an excellent tuna appetizer. The breakfast buffet is very elaborate.

The rooms and bathrooms are very large. I did find the marble floors in the shower a bit slippery and the water pressure a little low, but otherwise no complaints. The tv has a large number of channels with all kinds of languages. The internet is fast and reliable.

I had a therapeutic massage in the spa which was expertly done by a very stern and dangerously strong woman in her fifties. There’s an upscale shopping mall next door, which you can reach without going outside, and the botanical garden (which people told us was great) was very close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needham newbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    461
    118
    25
    11
See reviews for
291
575
74
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
184 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The room is nice and the bathroom is quite big. The breakfast was good. Staff are helpful and they helped us to arrange a taxi to La Mitad del Mundo. The price is reasonable. They also provided pick up services from Quito Airport to the hotel via an agent and vice versa. Again the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
299 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of our Galapagos package. The rooms were large with a work desk, bathroom was huge with a large tub, and room had the usual amenties. The buffet breakfast downstairs was substantial and varied. Beautiful flower arrangements in the lobby. Pool facility looked nice. As we were on a tour, I'm not sure how close we were to the actual tourist sights or old town. Downside- as with most big hotels, there was a fee for internet use in the rooms. Staff was courteous.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for a night before embarking on a Galapagos voyage. Quito is at 9000 feet and my wife needed some help with altitude sickness. The hostess in the restaurant produced some coca leaves (after asking some questions about her health). Location is a ways away from the old city and from the business district.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inchkenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
230 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here pre-cruise for 2 nights, so can not comment on the price to value relationship. The hotel is very pretty and well maintained. Our king room was large and well furnished. Although we did not use the facilities, the pool looked very nice. Breakfast buffet was very good. Staff were very courteous and helpful. The lobby is full of fresh roses and a rose was in our room.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mtrodgers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest thank you for your comments, we hope you could stay some more time in the hotel and enjoy the facilities as the pool and the gym. the staff will be happy to know about your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtml0802
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The best thing about JW Marriott is the service. Everyone from the concierge to front desk to housekeeping was super friendly and helpful. Concierge recognized us and would address us with our first names every morning they saw us. They conveniently helped us book airport shuttles too. The room itself was very comfortable and we had a great view of the city and the mountains. Large king size beds with plenty of pillows and fluff. A lot of different international TV channels ranging from American to Korean. Spacious bathroom too that included a jaccuzi, shower, and a separated area for the toilet. Only strange thing was the water faucet for the sink... water came out like a shower nozzle spray instead of a solid stream of water. Not a totally big deal, just different. Room also had a gorgeous, large rose that beautifully bloomed by the second night. We tried the steakhouse here and although service again was great, we found the food to just be mediocre.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jtml0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear guest we totally agree with you about the service in Marriott, we know that a good service is very important and it marks the defference. Our staff in Front of the House and Concierge area will receive the congratulations.
The little details make a big difference like remmenbering your names.
Also it is important that you have find your room confortable and spacious because you can feel at home. In the other hand it is important to review your feedback about the food served in one of the restaurants as well as make improvements in this field. Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean View, Delaware
Level Contributor
198 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Wish we could have spent a few more nights here on our way to and from the Galapagos. Beautiful displays of locally grown roses adorn the lobby. Front desk staff very efficient. Our Spanish is bad; staff English is very good. Rooms were large, very clean. Excellent buffet breakfast, plenty of selection, and made-to-order omelets or eggs. Only fault with the property was the bar area. It is comfortable and you can carry on a conversation. Prompt service to order beverages; however, receiving them took forever. Noticed that they made my martini and it sat on the bar for eight minutes, waiting for the beer in our two beverage order. Otherwise, great place to be while in Quito (expect a one to two hour ride to and from the airport to this hotel).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msp1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear guest thank you for your valuable feed back, the roses we have in the lobby are the signature product of the high land farms. The omelet station for breakfast is very helpful in order to personalize guests requeriments. In the other hand it is important also your feed back regarding the service in the bar. We expect to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
666 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 114 in Quito
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 114 in Quito
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing