We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Remarkable hotel”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel in October, 2013. Our stay was full of great service, smiling people, wonderful food in the exec lounge, and a pervasive atmosphere of wanting to please us in every way. Even going out for a walk on a Sunday morning, we were approached by the doormen to make sure we knew safe routes, places to stop, and how to dodge traffic in this bustling city. Some nice places to eat nearby made out stay memorable. (We used Marriott points for our stay, which made it even better!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear guest, to be an elite member of our Marriott Rewards program and enjoy its benefits makes a big difference when it comes the chance to evaluate a product. Our staff has been trained to offer brilliant experiences and offer proper information taking care of our guests. Thank you very much for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    461
    118
    25
    11
See reviews for
291
575
74
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
600 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nice rooms, nice restaurants and bars. Very good location in central Quito and was close to the airport until they moved it out of town and is now miles away. The service is very good and the lobby is a nice place to meet up. It is a bit expensive for a holiday stay but I am sure there are always deals to be had. It seemed a popular place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Guest thanks for your comments about the product that you found in the hotel. As you said there are always promotional rates and packages through internet. The airport is a bit far now but for the next year it will be highways available, making the trip from and to the airport no more than 40 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights prior to a cruise in the Galapagos. The hotel was wonderful. The room was huge. The staff were excellent. The reception sorted out a few issues that had arisen from our booking very efficiently. The concierge and other reception area staff were all very friendly and helpful, offering advice on how to get about. The hotel was well placed to visit Quito, and also very close to an excellent restaurant that we had found through TA – Zazu.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our staff in the Front Office will feel very satisfied to receive your comments, they always give his better effort day after day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights on the front-end and one on the back-end of a Celebrity Xpedition trip to the Galapagos. The property is centrally located and very well appointed, both the lobby area and rooms. One discouraging thing about this hotel, particularly since it carriers the JW designation, is that you have to use bottled water to brush your teeth; not what you would expect from a hotel of this quality, even in Ecuador. Surprises me that they do not have a water purification facility in the hotel. In addition, I have always had a problem with Marriott's policy regarding fees for internet/wifi access. $14.95 is way out of line, particularly when Marriott provides free service in most of their lower costs properties.

However, this is a great place to stay; friendly, helpful staff and very clean. Buffet breakfast was very good, and plentiful. Dinner on property restaurant was only mediocre.

In addition, the Celebrity folks work very well with the hotel and are always visible.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and were very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipBarnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, October 28 and 29. We were two women traveling alone. The hotel is very comfortable with soft comfortable beds and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The toiletries provided were ver nice and there was hair dryer in the room. The hotel is a little pricey for Quito but we were willing to pay for the security and feeling of home. I would say that it is not in a very convenient location, there is nothing within walking distance of the hotel. As is usual with hotels, the restaurants were on the expensive side. The hotel does not offer free wi-fi and the wi-fi package offered to us was very expensive. We would probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear guest thank you for your comments. Please come back as soon as possible it is always confortable to receive your visit. It is our goal to make you feel at home in a secure and confortable atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed a couple of nights as part of a galapogos package.

Posatives;
Front desk/porters .....excellent 5 star
Rooms .......................clean and luxurious.
Bed.............................large and comfortable with lovely pillows.
Breakfast,...................good selection.but not 5 star
.
Negatives;
Dinner..........Poor, 2/3 star standard (probably tour operator budget meal).
Dining room service.........poor.
Had cell phone stolen, probably from room.
Tour operator contacted Marriott who said 'nothing found'.
Almost imposible to contact hotel by email as email address seems to be 'Top Secret'

To sum up;
A good hotel but not up to standard on the food and dining front.
I was particularly frustrated by difficulty to communicate after i 'lost' my 'phone..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear guest thank you for your valuable information. It is important to clarify that the safety processes that we have in the hotel are very strict and the confidentiality of our guests has a highly importance for Marriott, therefore we are sure that all our guests have not been and will not even be stolen in the rooms of the hotel. We will review the processes at the food and beverage department in order to improve the quality in that area. Also we will review the information our guest could have about the hotel on the internet. Once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusk, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed as part of the Celebrity Xpedition Galapagos cruise. Two nights going and one night coming back. The room was fantastic and the Executive Lounge was top notch. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and the Hacienda Restaurant was enjoyable, with the food and service commensurate with the expense. The roses in the lobby had my wife salivating. We had rooms on the eighth floor with a rather plain view but we weren't there for the view. The staff was totally accomodating, with all staff very attentive. One thing, if you're there on a Sunday and want a cold brew, you gotta get it from the room fridge or buy it on Saturday and store it. Ain't no hooch on Sunday. The new airport is an hour away so take that into consideration. It not real far to the airport but the ride is SLOW. The problem is: there is not really a nice hotel anywhere near the airport. Two problems, both concerning the internet: If you don't have a "Suite" or "Executive Lounge" room, they charge almost US$15.00 a day for internet access. (!) I get free wi-fi when I stay at La Quinta for cryin' out loud, I can't really see paying 15 bucks for it. The other problem was; we wanted to upgrade to a Suite before we left the USA but the website for the hotel and the Marriott website had absolutely no email address for the Quito hotel. When I wrote customer service at Marriott, they were kind enough to offer me the phone number for Quito. We don't phone Ecuador to change our rooms, we email. But not this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest thank you for your reviews thinks like a good service, good product at the executive lounge, attentive staff are the components of a highly satisfied guest. That is our goal, on the other hand it is important to note that we offer free internet in public areas for guest that can use it for four hours. Regarding the information in the web page we will include a e-mail address in the information section. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
666 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 114 in Quito
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 114 in Quito
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing