We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stinginess from JWMarriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights after a Cotopaxi hike and while the in-room giant tub was great for sore legs, I was expecting far more for the amount paid. Room was clean as is all Marriott rooms. But......
- No microwave in the room was a huge disappointment. We had a lot of frozen stuff that we couldn't use thanks to lack of a microwave. Even regular Courtyards have this facility.
- No free wifi in-room and free wifi available in lobby only for 4hr a day.
- No complimentary breakfast. While there was a huge paid buffet spread available, it also costed 20$ per person.
- The front desk staff also gave us some misleading information to get us to avail of the Marriott hourly vehicle while heading to Pinchincha teleferico. We didn't appreciate this.
- And, worst of all, there was no free water available to fill one's water bottles!

The hotel gives you a taxi for $50 to the airport but it only costs $22$ in a regular yellow cab. It is a great room in a great location but a little too snooty.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SKLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in total before and after a celebrity cruise to the Galapagos. The hotel was very impressive although our first room was a bit tired with noisy AC. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. What let them down on our last night was the awful meal that was served to the Celebrity guests. Not one of our table enjoyed it at all and we left with a poor opinion of the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TomandaliUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This Marriott was beautiful this Christmas. Stayed here a couple of nights before and after a trip to the Galapagos and the service and comfort was outstanding. The staff is very helpful and there is always someone there who can speak English. The hotel is very clean and rooms are large. Ate at both restaurants - Bistro Latino and the Argentinian steakhouse and enjoyed excellent meals. The steakhouse had a romantic atmosphere and the food was extremely tasty! Got some lovely, tasteful, and reasonably priced souvenirs at the stores in the hotel. Lovely sterling jewelry and handmade ornaments and nativity scenes. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone. The only drawback is that it's located an hour's drive from the Quito airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

After a long flight from the US it was wonderful to check in to a familiar place. Stayed 3 nights total on the executive level. The executive lounge was really nice and convenient. Excellent staff and excellent service. Look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Any room will be a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRWAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of a Celebrity Tour package. However, as a Platinum member, I was able to get a room and access to the Executive Lounge on the 9th Floor. The lounge has a 2 drink maximum per person but Sundays they are not allowed to serve alcohol. Also, another tip is that the breakfast in the lounge is better than downstairs. In the lounge, there is someone who can also make you eggs cooked to order. It was a more enjoyable experience eating in the lounge than the crowded restaurant.

The rooms are a bit dated with the typical Marriott décor which isn't too exciting.

There is an in room safe, slippers, WIFI. WIFI was complimentary based on my status. It was fast. Couldn't really fault the hotel for anything but as a JW Marriott, you would expect a room that is a bit nicer than a regular Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

What a wonderful start to our vacation in Ecuador! We chose to stay at this hotel a couple of nights before our tour. We could not be happier with our choice. After a long day of travel upon arrival we were treated to a glass of sparkling blackberry juice and a friendly check in. The lobby was beautiful decorated with stunning roses. We found the executive rooms to be well worth the splurge with the included internet and lounge access including snacks and drinks. Definitely a haven after a long day of touring! The rooms were very nice with comfortable bedding and a large soaking tub. Breakfast was delicious and service outstanding. We had left early for a tour one morning and would not have had a chance to confirm our dinner reservations which we had made previously from home. The concierge was not available yet so I spoke with another employee to leave a message for the concierge to see if he could reconfirm our reservations. When we got back from our tour sure enough there was a note from the concierge in our room stating that he had reconfirmed our reservations with detailed directions. Now this is service! If we ever have the pleasure of coming back to Quito, we will plan to stay at the JW Marriott.

Room Tip: The executive lounge is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheeseheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

On a recent trip to Ecuador I had an accident which required surgery and the use of crutches. This required me to stay at a hotel and not with family friends as planned.This hotel promptly put me in a handicap room and provided the hotel wheelchair for my personal use on and off the property if needed. The doormen came to recognize me as needing additional attention because of this condition and where always jumping to my aid when I can into their view. The entire hotel staff went out of their way to seek ways to help me in my hour of need and I will never forget their kindness and attention. Marriott properties are always the best, but this one went way above the call of duty for me and I will never forget it.
The rooms were clean and nicely furnished and the king bed was like sleeping on a cloud...unbelievably welcome after spending two sleepless nights in the hospital. The lobby and adjoing restaurants, stores and bar area were beatifully decorated and wonderfully staffed with friendly people always ready to attend to your every need. It is worth a visit to the lobby just to gaze at the hundreds of fresh roses in massive arrangements.
This is definately the most accomodating and beautiful hotel in which it has been my pleasure to lay my head. I only hope that I have occasion to go back under healthier circumstances!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elconejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#21 of 112 in Quito
1,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#14 of 112 in Quito
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#7 of 112 in Quito
1,168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £122 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing