We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Marriotts in the WORLD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I stayed at this Marriott with my wife and her family on the front and back end of a Galapagos trip. This was definitely one of the top Marriott hotels I've stayed in. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. The staff was exceptionally helpful and (mostly) spoke English. The hotel is also located fairly close to a major eating district, though it is a bit of a cab ride from Old Town.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveling4BiznFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2008

Granted, we got a bargain rate because of my husband's employer, but still, it's worth every penny. It was really a home away from home for us. The hotel is gorgeous - we absolutely loved the pool area. Even though Quito is kind of cold, the outdoor pool is heated like bathwater so you can always swim. The staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

The JW Marriott www.marriott.com in Quito was our 1st destination in Ecuador as part of our 12 day visit. My family of four (teenage daughter of 13, and son of age 19) stayed at the Marriott while visiting Quito and the surrounding area. We were here for 5 nights and used our reward points for our stay. Everything at this Marriott was first class. Everyone on the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend getting the executive lounge privileges on the 9th floor. It was well worth it, with the excellent food and internet service. The first day we walked around the New Town, La Mariscal, to get acclimated to the altitude. The 2nd day we took a taxi to the old town and saw some beautiful old churches & buildings. The 3rd day we ate lunch at Café Mosaico which over looks Quito and then we visited the Museo Nacional del Banco Central del Ecuador. The 4th day we hired Carlos through the Marriott to drive us to Cotapaxi National Park. Cotapaxi is the world’s highest continuously active volcano and Ecuador’s 2nd highest peak. Carlos was an excellent driver and Cotapaxi was breathtaking. I would highly recommend eating at Tambopaxi Restaurant/Lodge inside the Cotapaxi National Park. Delicious food and beautiful scenery. If you want to see where else we visited in our 12 day trip, check out Tripadvisor ( Ali-Shungu Otavalo. San Jorge Eco-Lodge Quito and Caskaffesu Mindo)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We had three nights total at this hotel as part of the Celebrity Xpedition package. The hotel has a beautiful lobby, helpful staff, large rooms with huge bathrooms and great views of Quito. We found everything comfortable and quiet, and we would definitely stay at this hotel again. Food in the restaurants was pretty good. Swimming pool and spa looked great, but we didn't get a chance to try them out. Nothing negative to report on this hotel!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank foxyroxyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

I stayed at the JW Marriott Hotel Quito June 26 - 29 in order to attend a wedding in the suburbs. I regularly stay at Marriotts in order to earn points, and the only previous "J.W." brand I visited was in Washington D.C. Thos was my best Marriott experience to date. It is a beautiful hotel - the lobby has an atrium that enhances the spacious feel.

Staff was consistently courteous and helpful. I was concerned about reviews that mentioned rooms having "noisy" locations. But we requested a quiet room and there was no problem. The room was was very comfortable, large, and I loved the huge bathtub with complimnetary bath salts, and it was nice to have a separate shower.

We arrived mid-evening after a long flight, hungry, and room service was prompt and I could not believe how affordable the menu prices were! The next day, we asked the concierge if he could find an English - speaking driver to hire for a three hour tour - and he found an excellent guide at a reasonable price within 30 minutes.

We ate daily at the breakfast buffet at the Latin Bistro, and it was an excellent mix of Notth and South American hot and cold foods. The omelette station was welcome.

We asked the restaurant management to arrange a last minute pre-wedding dinner - and they did a great job.

My stay was one of luxury at an excellent price. I noticed that Celebrity Cruises was using the hotel for pre-cruise excursions, and now fully understand why. You will love staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank harrymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel 2 days pre-cruise (1-day at Hostal Santa Barbara, see other review) and 1 day post cruise as part of our 10-day Celebrity Xpedition Galapagos cruise package, a cruise and a ship not to be missed. The hotel is exquisite-just what you would expect for a 4-5 star hotel, with spacious, clean, quiet rooms with tv and private bath, internet available (we were on the exec floor), and nice restaurants and several large pools and a hot tub and health club, and a $200+ price tage which is a lot of money in Ecuador for the avg citizen. The hotel is within a 2 block walk of the cafes/restaurants and shops on Ave Juan Le Mera, easily walkable despite the hotel's caution to take a taxi-somethng which definitely should be done at night to and from that area, and which we had no need to do--avg age around the cafes was 20 something. The Exec floor room --we had a volcano view from the 11th floor --included free snacks and two drinks per person each night, internet access and exec help for directions, transport, etc. Staff on that floor and in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. Marriott special taxis are more money than the yellow cabs which can be requested and, in my view, are safe. It is a $4-5 taxi ride to the centro in a yellow cab-and the price should be specified in advance and the meter should be turned on. Also, bring a card with the hotel logo and website map directions which may come in handy for some taxi drivers. The airport is a $5-10 10 minute ride from the hotel. Try to visit the Central Banco museum, noted in my Hostal Santa Barbara review-and if you are not in quito as part of a cruise package at this hotel I would recommend you stay at Hostal Santa Barbara which is a lovely small guesthouse halfway between the old and new towns and easily walkable to the musuem and La Choza restaurant., $65 for a double with breakfeast in July. Bring small $ bills-nothing larger than a $20 bill for purchases, wear a neck wallet and/or a waist wallet, and just be careful in the old town. You need i.d --a copy of your passport --to visit the Governor's Palace courtyard and admissions are timed. Calle Ronda, a revitalized street, a few blocks from the palace, was empty during our visit and so we avoided viewing the shops and cafes on that street. Also try to view the handicrafts at Olga Fish, which has a location in the centro at the Patio Andaluz hotel and one near Hostal St Barbara; and if time permits the Guayasamin museum, something which we were unable to do. Dress in levis, inconspicuously, cameras should be kept out of sight., and familiarize yourself where yuou are going rather than stopping to open a guidebook--recall that you are a rich gringo/tourist. In other words, blend in as much as possible. And drink only bottled water and nothing from the tap-even at the Marriott.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Just what you would expect from The Marriott, great service and American pricing.

The staff is excellent, the rooms nice and large, TVs are old, beds are not up to Marriott standards. The bathrooms are huge with shower and tub.

Good location. Pricey. A good place to use up your reward points.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Skinnywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#21 of 113 in Quito
1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#15 of 113 in Quito
1,001 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#6 of 113 in Quito
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £128 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing