We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be more attentive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Regenstauf, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could be more attentive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Accommodation 5***** - Beautiful rooms with all the luxury you'd expect from such a hotel.

Location 4**** - The hotel is in the middle of the city however the drive to the airport can be long. So plan well ahead to arrive at the airport on time (I would say minimum 1 hour driving time - can be more during rush hour).

Staff and Service 3*** - This was a bit of a disappointment. This is not the first JW Marriott we stayed in so I know what I'm speaking of. While staff is friendly they made two mistakes which led to the title of review *they could be more attentive*.

1. We booked a room with two single beds. At check-in they gave us a room with a king size bed although we mentioned that we want to stay in a room with 2 single beds. We went down to the front desk two times to tell them that we don't want this room and it was already after 10 p.m.. Finally we got the right one after almost 1 hour and after the bellboy took action.

2. We already told them at check-in that we have to leave early in the morning next day and asked them to have breakfast ready for us (breakfast starts at 6 a.m. and we wanted to eat right at 6 a.m. to catch our cab to the airport at 6:30 a.m.). So next morning we came to the restaurant and saw that no breakfast was ready and nobody was there to help us. We went to the front desk and told them. It was the bellboy again who managed that we could get at least some coffee and a quick bite at 6:20 a.m.. There was no time left to finish *breakfast* and we departed without having anything.

Overall the hotel would be a good choice but we will not choose it again should we come to Quito again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    441
    117
    24
    11
See reviews for
274
547
73
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Highly accommodating staff and superb customer service really makes this property stand out. Greeted with gorgeous fresh cut flowers at check-in, and taken to very well maintained and clean room with an excellent view. Everyone I encountered at this property was a pleasure to speak with, from valet to housekeeping. Breakfast was excellent as well. Above average Marriot property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We arrived into the Quito Marriott after dark, exhausted and cold from having spent a last full day of Amazon adventuring, and we looked the part. I had booked the hotel for this leg of our travel knowing some well-deserved pampering would be appreciated.

I would call our check-in experience mediocre, which I may attribute to our adventurist clothing and appearance. Sorry if bandanas and backpacks offend, but we are considered professionals back home, and our money is as green as yours. Also, why doesn't the barely-skirted female out on the front steps offend?

The service at the business center was great, and as we were now heading out to a late
dinner, she even drew us a little map to a place close by. Our room was ultra comfortable, and the bathroom is very delectable with marble floors, a deep bathtub, robes, slippers and plenty of fluffy towels. The room was quite, and of course very comfy mattresses.

We checked-out at 0415, and unfortunately our reserved car failed to show up to take us to the airport and the hotel had a taxi for us in five minutes. Thank you. Thank you.
Despite our short stay, we would say this is a great property. Just don't show up in Amazon duds, because they will certainly exude an unwelcome feeling.

Room Tip: Our high room floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank returnmetokaneohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Booked by Silver Seas as a pre-Galapagos cruise venue, we were delighted with this hotel in every way. The rooms were immaculate, spacious, comfortably furnished and the service perfect. Breakfast was better than average. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel which would certainly rate 4 1/2 Stars anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: They are all good, only variable is the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was my first visit to Quito, and I had never stayed at a JW Marriott before, but quickly saw it was different than the more run-of-the-mill Marriott varieties. It was much more upscale. My flight had been delayed, but the staff was eager to greet me even at 12:30 A.M. and met me with a welcoming rose. Ecuador is an exporter of roses, and they were in abundance everywhere in the hotel. I think I took pictures of every arrangement. The room didn't have the greatest view, but I found a new rose in my room every day of my visit, which really enhanced my stay. The hotel had a beautiful pool and lovely gift shop, and the business center was easily accessibly for internet use, which I utilized every day. Breakfast is not included with the room rate, and is rather expensive at the hotel, but there is a great waffle restaurant just down the street. The hotel had a fleet of private taxis ready for use, which was great for trips into the city. The neighborhood is safe during the day, but as a foreigner, it was not recommended to go out walking after dark. Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This review is way overdue. We stayed at JW Marriott before and after our Galapagos cruise last spring. The hotel is large, clean, and very safe. We upgraded to the club floor, which was definitely worthwhile as we had access to water, coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks pretty much anytime. It also included breakfast, which was smaller than the large buffet downstairs, but IMO better. There was also wifi in the club lounge. If traveling with Celebrity to Galapagos, JWM is a great choice because Celebrity has dedicated staff located in the lobby to assist with excursions, luggage, and general questions. The rooms were very large. Bottled water was provided in the bathroom to use for teeth brushing, and a hairdryer was provided (for those of you deciding whether or not to bring one on the cruise, there was also a hairdryer in our room onboard the ship). The business center staff were very helpful, and there is also a kiosk in the lobby if you only need to print a boarding pass. The steak house style restaurant was surprisingly good, and the Mexican restaurant was OK. We did not feel the need to leave the hotel for dinners the few nights we stayed. That could be do in part to the very bad altitude sickness we both had pre and post cruise. I recommend bringing something with you for that, as I am usually not prone to altitude sickness, but I was quite effected by the Quito altitude.

Room Tip: Upgrade to club floor access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Large but friendly, very nice staff, three excellent restaurants, great swimming pool. The rooms are large and well furnished, the bathrooms are also large and nice. I liked the Mexican Restaurant as well as the Steam House. The breakfast buffet has a wide and excellent choice with fresh fruits, juices, cheeses, omelets, ecuadorian corn humitas, cereals.

The bar with dancing music was a nice place to spend time in the evenings.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Himelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#21 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing