We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Very nice, very comfortable, just like you'd expect"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“"Very nice, very comfortable, just like you'd expect"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

Yep, this place is top notch. I managed to get sick on some local grub at one of the nearby eateries, so I spent most of my time in Ecuador locked up here. I can say with confidence you won't need anything here.

The other reviews capture the fine points of this hotel. My only complaint, as is the case with the rest in the chain, is that you will pay top dollar to sleep here. There are probably better deals elsewhere in Quito. That being said, you know what you are going to get here for your money, so if you don't want to be disappointed, this should be your choice.

Oh, and the pool is great too.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    446
    118
    24
    11
See reviews for
280
556
73
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Ga.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

The Marriott in Quito is by far the nicest hotel to stay at. The rooms are typical Marriott style. The restaraunts and bars are all very good. And the pool scene is among the best that I have ever stayed at. They also have a spa that is very reasonable (50 min massage for $50). I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Quito. Oh, and one more thing. When you tell the doorman you need a cab @ the Marriott a nice, clean, large cab or SUV pulls up. Not a small, smelly, tiny cab. Spend the extra money and stay here, you won't regret it. Bryan (Atlanta)

  • Liked — Pool area.
  • Disliked — No negatives here.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

I stayed at this Marriott with my wife and her family on the front and back end of a Galapagos trip. This was definitely one of the top Marriott hotels I've stayed in. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. The staff was exceptionally helpful and (mostly) spoke English. The hotel is also located fairly close to a major eating district, though it is a bit of a cab ride from Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4BiznFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

Granted, we got a bargain rate because of my husband's employer, but still, it's worth every penny. It was really a home away from home for us. The hotel is gorgeous - we absolutely loved the pool area. Even though Quito is kind of cold, the outdoor pool is heated like bathwater so you can always swim. The staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Liked — The property itself was beautiful (including the rooms and the pool area)
  • Disliked — It cost a fortune to use the internet, it's really far from Old Town Quito
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

The JW Marriott www.marriott.com in Quito was our 1st destination in Ecuador as part of our 12 day visit. My family of four (teenage daughter of 13, and son of age 19) stayed at the Marriott while visiting Quito and the surrounding area. We were here for 5 nights and used our reward points for our stay. Everything at this Marriott was first class. Everyone on the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend getting the executive lounge privileges on the 9th floor. It was well worth it, with the excellent food and internet service. The first day we walked around the New Town, La Mariscal, to get acclimated to the altitude. The 2nd day we took a taxi to the old town and saw some beautiful old churches & buildings. The 3rd day we ate lunch at Café Mosaico which over looks Quito and then we visited the Museo Nacional del Banco Central del Ecuador. The 4th day we hired Carlos through the Marriott to drive us to Cotapaxi National Park. Cotapaxi is the world’s highest continuously active volcano and Ecuador’s 2nd highest peak. Carlos was an excellent driver and Cotapaxi was breathtaking. I would highly recommend eating at Tambopaxi Restaurant/Lodge inside the Cotapaxi National Park. Delicious food and beautiful scenery. If you want to see where else we visited in our 12 day trip, check out Tripadvisor ( Ali-Shungu Otavalo. San Jorge Eco-Lodge Quito and Caskaffesu Mindo)

  • Liked — Staff and amenities
  • Disliked — Location in Quito
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

We had three nights total at this hotel as part of the Celebrity Xpedition package. The hotel has a beautiful lobby, helpful staff, large rooms with huge bathrooms and great views of Quito. We found everything comfortable and quiet, and we would definitely stay at this hotel again. Food in the restaurants was pretty good. Swimming pool and spa looked great, but we didn't get a chance to try them out. Nothing negative to report on this hotel!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank foxyroxyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

I stayed at the JW Marriott Hotel Quito June 26 - 29 in order to attend a wedding in the suburbs. I regularly stay at Marriotts in order to earn points, and the only previous "J.W." brand I visited was in Washington D.C. Thos was my best Marriott experience to date. It is a beautiful hotel - the lobby has an atrium that enhances the spacious feel.

Staff was consistently courteous and helpful. I was concerned about reviews that mentioned rooms having "noisy" locations. But we requested a quiet room and there was no problem. The room was was very comfortable, large, and I loved the huge bathtub with complimnetary bath salts, and it was nice to have a separate shower.

We arrived mid-evening after a long flight, hungry, and room service was prompt and I could not believe how affordable the menu prices were! The next day, we asked the concierge if he could find an English - speaking driver to hire for a three hour tour - and he found an excellent guide at a reasonable price within 30 minutes.

We ate daily at the breakfast buffet at the Latin Bistro, and it was an excellent mix of Notth and South American hot and cold foods. The omelette station was welcome.

We asked the restaurant management to arrange a last minute pre-wedding dinner - and they did a great job.

My stay was one of luxury at an excellent price. I noticed that Celebrity Cruises was using the hotel for pre-cruise excursions, and now fully understand why. You will love staying here.

  • Liked — High standards for food, great service, luxury class
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank harrymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing