We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average at best.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

main grounds are good, but the rooms are outdated. I have stayed here 3 times out of all only once I was placed in a renovated room to which I ask the bellman when the renovations will be done for all rooms and he said they actually did a few rooms then stopped.
Room service food is awful, the selection terrible, and the restaurant food is ok not up to JW Standards.
it is comical to use the coffee maker as the cord isn't long enough when you open the stand, amenities are a hit and miss sometimes you get the robe, only one nigt during my different set of stays I received a dental kit, and a shower cap.
all 3 times I requested a high floor and was placed on the 8th, which has dark dingy hallways.
service is good but this location is more of a courtyard than a JW.
The private car service is good and affordable, just educate some of the drivers not everyone wants to have a long conversation regarding religion as I was stuck with a driver that wouldn't stop taking about religion on the way to the airport, very unprofessional.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikiland89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena A, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I´m glad to know that our service met your expectations, it is always a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate very much your feedback; It is a pleasure for me to inform you that we will have our rooms renovation very soon, I hope you have the opportunity to enjoy our new product next time you stay with us.


Cordially,

Ximena Altamirano C.
Director of Rooms Operations
JW Marriott Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    471
    120
    25
    11
See reviews for
299
586
75
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were a party of four staying for two nights prior to our Silversea Galapagos cruise. Perhaps there are better located hotels in Quito but the Marriott is only a short cab ride from all the attractions and is very effective at insuring guest safety in a city that has a somewhat sketchy reputation.
The lobby is impressive with it's glass atrium and multiple displays of the beautiful roses for which Ecuador is famous. It is a very well maintained older property which translates into spacious public areas and rooms with extra large bathrooms with separate shower and WC. All of the staff we encountered from reception to housekeeping and in the restaurants were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. The staff at the front door appeared focused on guest safety and insuring that guests use only appropriate taxis.
There is a travel agency near the business center that we used to book a private afternoon tour and the experience was terrific with our own guide and also a driver. For four people the cost was only $42 per person. Highly recommended.
My partner discovered that he was missing his I-phone after we left the hotel. When he contacted the hotel they had located the phone and quickly helped him make arrangements to ship it back to the US. It's when things go wrong like in this case that true customer service can be measured and in this case they were stellar. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida-Traveler-888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena A, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

It is very pleasant for us to know that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel; I hope you have the opportunity to come back some time in a near future.

We are proud of our staff service. I will share with them your kind comments.

Cordially,

Ximena Altamirano C.
Director of Rooms Operations
JW Marriott Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our family stayed after a trip to the Galapagos. Beautiful hotel. While modern, it's very tastefully decorated. Large and beautiful flower arrangements and art in the lobby. Spacious rooms and very large bathrooms. Comfortable beds. Great service and attention. Restaurants are pricey, but very good. Efficient transportation taxi service available at hotel (nice vehicles). While somewhat relatively more expensive versus the alternative, there have been incidents involving street cabs; probably worth the extra cost to avoid the risk.

We have stayed at other Quito hotels, and this is the best based on our experience. Would definitively stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBHarrisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena A, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to comment regarding our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, specially our staff service and food quality, and that you took home good memories about JW Marriott Quito.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards,

Ximena Altamirano C.
Director of Rooms Operations
JW Marriott Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed while on business travel. Nice hotel, good service. Spacious and clean rooms and bathrooms. Beautiful flowers at the lobby. 24 hour service. Good location.courtious personnel. Wifi. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena A, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

It´s a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at JW Marriott Quito. Providing excellent service is our goal, and I´m glad that we fulfilled your expectations.

We look forward to receiving you again.

Cordially,

Ximena Altamirano C.
Director of Rooms Operations
JW Marriott Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of the Celebrity Cruise trip to the Galapagos Islands. My wife was given a rose at check-in which was a very nice touch. The hotel was very nice and the food selection was great. The food in the steak house was excellent and they had a nice wine list.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena A, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff service and food quality. I´m glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at JW Marriott Quito.

The Hacienda Argentinean Restaurant at our hotel is really great, and we have received many compliments from our clients.

I hope you have the oportunity to come back again.

Best regards,

Ximena Altamirano C.
Director of Rooms Operations
JW Marriott Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here three nights in two visits.
First visit we had a standard room. It was clean, spacious, well appointed, firm king sized bed, nice linens. Bath had standard JW amenities (i.e. upscale), separate shower, ‘closeted’ toilet with frosted glass door, nice towels. Upon check in, my lady was given a rose, which she put in the vase with the existing rose all ready in the room. Internet access in the room was fee based. Only one bathrobe was provided.
Second visit we had a room on the executive floor with club lounge access. Our room was identical to our first, without the rose -- either at check in or in the room. However, we got free Internet access, but still only one bathrobe.
Lounge provided packaged snacks as well as some very nicely presented appetizer/dessert type food bites, free coffee and soft drinks, but charged for other beverages. Not up to JW standards. Breakfast in the club lounge wasn't quite ready 20 minutes after the stated opening time.
Hotel car is available to take you anywhere, for a fee, slightly higher than a taxi – except for the airport, which cost 100% more than the taxi from the airport. Taxi service is available, but not from hotel staff—see the travel agent instead. Since we had a very, very early departure flight, we used the hotel car.
Did not use the in-house restaurants. Did not walk in the local area.
Staff is professional.
The hotel is very nice, and we would probably use it again, but the extra charge to be on the executive floor with lounge privileges is not worth it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family stayed here as part of an all-inclusive trip to the Galapagos Islands.
If you are arriving from the US, you are probably arriving really late and want to get into your room. When I first walked into the lobby, I was very impressed with the abundance of beautiful flowers. Further, the lobby had a grand feel with it's high, slanted glass ceilings.
Check in was a breeze and we went to our rooms. The rooms were large, very clean with comfortable beds.
The bathroom was immaculate with a well-appointed bathtub, shower and water closet.
The breakfast buffet in the basement level restaurant was excellent. It had a large assortment of breads, meats, eggs, waffles, omelettes to made to order, fruit.... And the main restaurant next to the elevators was an Argentinian Steak restaurant. And of course I had to be different and ordered the salmon. It was excellent. Also, there were several people in our group that ordered the steak and I tried it. It was very good.
The hotel had a beautiful looking pool that we didn't use because we just didn't have time. My son used the gym and he said it was quite large.
Overall, I was very impressed with the quality of the hotel and its service. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapamire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#1 of 110 in Quito
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 110 in Quito
1,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 110 in Quito
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#4 of 110 in Quito
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing