We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place near Fosch square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Decent place near Fosch square”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of Gate 1 Tour. Hotel has a upscale reception area, with a seafood as well as a bakery/pizza style restaurant, couple of meeting rooms, computer terminals and a gymn (on 5th floor). Our room was decent with a flat screen TV, safe, fridge and decent fixtures. It also had partial city views. Breakfast for vegetarians included some very delicious fruits, many breads, scrambled eggs, pure fruit juices (no water or sugard added) and some Ecuadorian items (hot).
WiFi worked well.
There is a Pizza hut within a few minutes walk and a square with many restaurants and lots of night life reachable in 10 minutes (2 blocks right, 5 blocks left from hotel and then right on Fosch).
The only problem during our stay was that the room had no fan/AC that one could control and some noises carried from other rooms/outdside street (even on the 9th floor).

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Quito, November, 25 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    357
    81
    24
    9
See reviews for
88
237
78
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
849 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The Mercure Alameda in Quito bills itself on its website as one of Quito's finest hotels. It isn't - by a long way. The public areas on the ground floor have been modernised and look really modern and smart, but the rooms are dated and in need of refurbishment. The bed is comfortable and is huge, but the bathroom is old and tired, the shower is either scalding hot or freezing cold, the toilet needs to be flushed 2 or 3 times, the lights didn't all work, the staff were not so helpful (though were friendly), and although the breakfasts were excellent, the general sense we had during our 4 days here were that this place is in need of a lot of modernisation. The gym was a joke - half of the equipment didn't work and was easily 10-15 years old... Out key-cards only worked half the time too. Try other places in Quito for higher standards.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The room we got has a good separate hall, just like a Jr Suite. Service was good and food was nice as well and all the staff were very friendly and attentive. It is situated in the New town and very close to a few artesanal market just 2 blocks away and just a few minutes walking to the park. If you are here for meetings at the government offices, this hotel is very near to them.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ezzthetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a tour. Good quality hotel. Lack of AC strange but no problem in October for us. Service good. Spicy restaurant more than adequate. Location good, close to artisan market (3 blocks) Foch Street Square restaurant area (7 blocks) Need a taxi to go to the historical town centre. Would stay there again. Any hotel in the same area is a long ride from the airport. (90 minutes average)

Room Tip: If facing Amazonas Street get a room on top floors esp. if you like an open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Quito, November, 19 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Lovely hotel in the centre of Quito but a two hour drive from the airport. Could not believe there was no AC, first hotel I have stayed in with no AC ever.

Breakfast was barely average but ok. Reception was good and concierge helped us with directions etc.

Very busy for traffic, and I sure wouldn't want to live here regardless of the cheap costs. They kept telling us how safe the city was but...............police everywhere and all places had bars on windows????

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisneilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Quito, november, 19 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

After check in we had 2 staff members come to our room to be sure we had everything. That had never happened anywhere before in any class of hotel where I have stayed. The front desk, the bell man, the restaurant staff were so accommodating providing us with excellent service. We were a little perplexed as to why there were no vents for heat or air conditioning in our room but the comforters provided just the right amount of warmth when we needed it. I even opened the window to let in fresh air in the night. The buffet breakfast was excellent with choices familiar and unfamiliar.

The location in "gringo land" was convenient to shopping, banking, inexpensive local restaurants and the craft market and a handy cab ride to other places if interested.

Room Tip: higher level corner rooms have views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YolandaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Quito, November, 07 2013


Dear Yolanda;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Excellent service and accommodations. Both room service meals and cafe meals were a cut above good and good value. Excellent steak. Good breakfast buffet that opened at 4 am.
Either left behind camera item or somehow it disappeared between leaving room and checking out, but hotel found item after I arrived in the Galapagos Islands and reported it missing. Good for them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#19 of 110 in Quito
1,377 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
1.8 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 110 in Quito
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Alameda

Property: Mercure Hotel Alameda
Address: Ramon Roca E 4-122 | Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Hotel Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 320 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the MERCURE Hotel Alameda. holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hotel Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing