We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay, but very disappointed with taxi service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    350
    81
    23
    9
See reviews for
86
229
78
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, WI
Level Contributor
262 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a very nice Hotel with a staff that is very helpful. Many of them speak good English. The room we had was a suite with a small balcony, kitchen area & separate lounging area with table and sofa. The bed was comfortable with nice bedding. The room had a safe with separate key for free. There was WIFI at no charge in the room. There was a buffet breakfast included with the room that had a good choice of foods. The hotel is located 2 blocks from a large Ecuadorian market and 5 blocks from a large park where local people gather for outside activities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiggPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Quito, january, 03 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Marisol Mosquera
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is very upscale and wonderful. The staff is very accomodating and there for your every need. The rooms were clean large with a nice desk area as well as a small balcony. This is located in an interesting part of Quito...lots of neighborhood shops and the HUGE market is just a couple of blocks down, where you can spend hours if not days shopping, picking up lots of souveniers and trinkets...everything from clothing to leather goods. People watching is great here too, but rather crowded. Totally safe feeling though.

Room Tip: All rooms were located in a rather quiet area, as the building is built on an angular shape. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salukigirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Quito, December, 16 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Marisol Mosquera
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 2 separate occasions. First time had a nice, two room suite on an upper floor. The second time had a Mecure "preferred" room on a lower floor, which was actually nicer then the suite. It was definitely renovated, felt comfortable with nice decorations and newer amenities (robe, better bathroom offerings, etc) the suite didn't have. Both rooms were acceptable, although lacking heat-a heater was promptly brought up by the staff. Hotel was clean, public spaces nice, breakfast adequate although lacking water (you could pay for it.) Wifi was clear in lobby but often went out in rooms (had to get a password-which was free-but didn't stay connected). I did find connectivity better on the lower floors.
One thing that bothered me was the lack of concerige service provided by the hotel. If they don't want to staff a concierge, okay-but your front desk should then be knoweldgeable of the area. We wanted to find this amazing market we stumbled upon on our first stay that was close by-the desk stared at us blankly then at the map when asked. No one could recommend a store to by cigars or a place to shop. Very odd.
Other then that, in a good location near a lot of places to eat, drink and shop (and ATMs). Safe area (I was worried based on stories I'd heard), which made me feel a lot better.

Room Tip: Lower floors seemed to be renovated and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chisistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of Gate 1 Tour. Hotel has a upscale reception area, with a seafood as well as a bakery/pizza style restaurant, couple of meeting rooms, computer terminals and a gymn (on 5th floor). Our room was decent with a flat screen TV, safe, fridge and decent fixtures. It also had partial city views. Breakfast for vegetarians included some very delicious fruits, many breads, scrambled eggs, pure fruit juices (no water or sugard added) and some Ecuadorian items (hot).
WiFi worked well.
There is a Pizza hut within a few minutes walk and a square with many restaurants and lots of night life reachable in 10 minutes (2 blocks right, 5 blocks left from hotel and then right on Fosch).
The only problem during our stay was that the room had no fan/AC that one could control and some noises carried from other rooms/outdside street (even on the 9th floor).

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Quito, November, 25 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
850 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The Mercure Alameda in Quito bills itself on its website as one of Quito's finest hotels. It isn't - by a long way. The public areas on the ground floor have been modernised and look really modern and smart, but the rooms are dated and in need of refurbishment. The bed is comfortable and is huge, but the bathroom is old and tired, the shower is either scalding hot or freezing cold, the toilet needs to be flushed 2 or 3 times, the lights didn't all work, the staff were not so helpful (though were friendly), and although the breakfasts were excellent, the general sense we had during our 4 days here were that this place is in need of a lot of modernisation. The gym was a joke - half of the equipment didn't work and was easily 10-15 years old... Out key-cards only worked half the time too. Try other places in Quito for higher standards.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The room we got has a good separate hall, just like a Jr Suite. Service was good and food was nice as well and all the staff were very friendly and attentive. It is situated in the New town and very close to a few artesanal market just 2 blocks away and just a few minutes walking to the park. If you are here for meetings at the government offices, this hotel is very near to them.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ezzthetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.6 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Alameda

Property: Mercure Hotel Alameda
Address: Ramon Roca E 4-122 | Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Hotel Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 320 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the MERCURE Hotel Alameda. holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing