We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the price in a city the size of Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Ranked #15 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here twice, once at the start of a Gate 1 tour of Ecuador (three nights) and again at the end (one night). The rooms are not large, and space is a bit limited, but we managed quite nicely. The room was clean and it was certainly nice to be able to just flush the toilet paper!! (At least there was no sign saying we shouldn't, so we did.) The location is ok. I think there may be some less desirable areas rather close, but there is also an interest artisanal market nearby. The breakfast had good choices and the fact that it was available very early the morning we flew home was very convenient. The desk staff was very helpful at getting us things we needed and the laundry was very efficient and good.

The minibar prices, however, were ridiculous. Be advised that there is an "Oki-doki" mini-market right across the street where you can buy water and beverages for a small fraction of the price of the same stuff in the mini-bar.

Our first room was not as spiffy or newly remodeled as the one we had the last night, but it seemed a bit more spacious and had a much better view. While the last one was considered "Premium" and had some extra little amenities, I regarded the one at the start of the trip the more habitable.

Room Tip: I'd go for higher floors and try to get on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DonBB1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the Mercure several times as we toured Ecuador. The staff were very friendly and the rooms spacious and quiet. The breakfast buffet opened at 4am. That was a nice convenience because we had early flights to the Galapagos and Amazon. I can't really comment on the hotel's location relative to restaurants and attractions because we arrived late and left early each time we stayed. I also can't say much about cost/value because the stays were part of a package tour. However, given the overall reasonable cost of the tour, the hotel could not have been out of line.

Be warned it is a solid 45 minute trip to the Quito airport (UIO) in non-rush hour (an hour or more in rush hour). Quito opened a new airport a few months ago and it is quite far (Dulles to DC?) outside the city. The highway to the airport was not open as of March 2014. And, there are virtually no hotels at the airport. In short, every hotel in Quito has this problem -- it's not the Mercure's fault. You just need to factor it in to your planning until the highway opens.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Like a previous reviewer, we stayed here while on an OAT trip and found the hotel to be exceptionally nice. Spacious suite, good food and service in the restaurant and a great (but small) gift shop. Nice location for walking about to shop. No A/C controls in the room but we opened our windows and slept just fine.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikerDave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Alameda Hotel Mercure in Quito as a part of an OAT trip to Machu Pichu and the Galapagos. The hotel is very nice, rooms were spacious (we had a two room suite), very helpful staff, and thelocation was central to all of Quito. Huge breakfast buffet with both American and Ecuadorian choices.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rusty1cub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Quito, march, 10 2014


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Marisol Mosquera
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed three nights after a ten day trip to the Galapagos islands, and really enjoyed it, the location was excellent for walking especially if you happen (as we did) to be there on a Sunday when many of the roads are closed to traffic and locals go out cycling ... a real family atmosphere and a good time to walk as there are so many family groups about so it feels a bit safer. Hotel staff were really lovely, though at times service was a bit slow at front desk due to large group check-ins, they were always very pleasant though and there was always someone on with good English. We enjoyed it so much we have recommended it to others who have also stayed and enjoyed.

Room Tip: If you don't want twin beds make sure you book 'matrimonial' suite ... found this in may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Quito, March, 10 2014


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Marisol Mosquera
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This property was a very nice option in a great part of Quito with many restaurants and clubs within walking distance. Spent two nights on two separate bookings. The first evening we had a spacious suite; the second night we had a run of the house suite. Both accommodations were nice but the larger room was exceptionally nice. Staff was always helpful even when rushed; never saw housekeeping as both departures were very early. Did have a need for maintenance to fix a space heater and blow dryer -- very professional and prompt. Buffet breakfast was served at 0400. It was a very nice presentation of various foods -- don't pass on the hot chocolate or the chocolate croissants. No heating or cooling in the rooms other than space heaters -- you're on the Equator!

Room Tip: Ask for a large suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EndlessSummerCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Quito, January, 27 2014


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Marisol Mosquera
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
794 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#9 of 113 in Quito
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#21 of 113 in Quito
1,465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Alameda

Address: Ramon Roca E 4-122 | Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £66 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Hotel Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 320 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the MERCURE Hotel Alameda. holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing