We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good service, good value.”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Located in a convenient spot near Carolina park and one shopping mall, it's near the business district, not the historic part of town. My room was huge, service was very attentive and helpful. Excellent value. Breakfast was typical fare, also very good value. As it is in the northern end of town, it is closer to the airport and the planes noise can be a bit loud at night, but this is true for most hotels in that part of town and would not keep me from staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for your valuable comments about our Hotel, this guide us to improve our facilities and maintaining the excellent service that our guest deserve.

We hope us to visit again, at a future ocassion.

Myriam Delgado L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    118
    27
    4
    5
See reviews for
52
46
24
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dljr60
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Howard Johnson in Quito is a good hotel. Especially for Americans who may not be familiar with Ecuador. The rooms are ok. I did have a strong cleaning solution smell in my room that affected my sinuses. But I adapted. TV and Internet are reasonably good. THe restaurant has reasonably good food as well. However, there are many other eateries near the hotel that are really good. There is a huge shopping mall close to the hotel: maybe 20 minute walk. Of course, if you are not used to the altitude, that walk can be a little tough. Overall, a good, safe place to stay in Quito.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the highway if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dljr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, we apologize about the smell in your room, thanks for your understanding about that, we hope you to visit us, at a future ocassion.

Myriam Delgado L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent four days at this Hotel and the service and amenities were just what I needed. The Ecuadorean hospitality is one of their best treasures and this hotel did not lack any bit of it. Breakfast was served buffet style with nice decorations and food quality. I highly recommnend this hotel if you're looking for a medium-size hotel with good comfort, cleanliness and great customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that have a view towards the Volcán Pichincha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RD_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for your valuable comments about our Hotel, this guide us to maintaining the excellent service that our guest deserve.

We hope us to visit again, at a future ocassion.

Myriam Delgado L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We booked our hotel online so really did not know what to expect. We were so pleased with both the staff and the rooms. We always choose a hotel with complimentary breakfast and we were not disappointed. Their breakfasts were so delicious and filling and had local fruits in abundance as well as cereals, juices, coffee, waffles, eggs, meats.....just awesome. There was juice, water and coffee always available free of charge at the hospitality desk and we took advantage of that.
Our room was clean and very comfortable with a large bathroom and two double beds. We enjoyed the free wifi and had a strong signal right in the room. We were never bothered by the cleaning crew and as a matter of fact the entire staff was both helpful and cordial. We really loved the location because it was a matter of an inexpensive cab ride of a few minutes to all of the sites in the city center.Most cab rides we took were $2.00 or less. We were right across the street from a huge park that housed a truly awesome botanical garden. There were lots of places including a shopping mall and restuarants that were all within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarieCoppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, it is nice to know that you found and unique service here, the porpose of our work is to offer our guest and specific service that they can't find in another Hotel.

We hope you to visit us, at a future ocassion.

Myriam Delgado L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolivia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is very well located, close to the Park, to a shopping mall and over 2 important avenues which allow you to get practically anywhere in quite short time.
Staffs are more than helpful, and really, they make the whole difference!! Helena at the front desk must be of the most attentive hotel employees I have ever come across with. She should be cloned!!
Rooms are light and clean. Beds are good, and rest would be just perfect, if it wouldn't be that windows are not sound proof. If you get a room over the avenue and in a lower floor, then you will wake up quite early as soon as the traffic starts.
Food is good, and breakfast has good options. For some reason, I didn't find coffee good, it is too light, more like dirty water and not tasty at all.If you are not a coffee fan, then, I presume will be OK.
Amenities are fine, and considering the rates they charge, it is really a great option in terms of value, service and comfort.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor, street noise will be a bit lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, it is nice to know that you found and unique service here, in a future ocassion you could ask for a room on a high floor, so the noise wouldn't be a problem.

We hope you to visit us, at a future ocassion.

Myriam Delgado L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

You can't go wrong with this hotel. It's very affordable, the staff's attention is superb, the breakfast buffet is outstanding. It offers free Wi Fi and a very efficient business center. It's very clean, quiet, yet close to wherever you wanna go. A 5 min cab ride takes you either to the historic center or to the "party part of town". Also the hotel will pick you up and drop you off for free at the airport. Outstanding. Ah! and that "fruity tea" at the lobby is to die for!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, it is nice to know that you found and unique service with our coffee station, the porpose of that is to offer our guest and specific service that they can't find in another Hotel.

We hope you to visit us, at a future ocassion.

Myriam Delgado L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed twice at this hotel because of its location. You can see park from your room. La Carolina is very close to the hotel, the only thing you have to do is walk some meters and cross street to be at park!
Rooms are OK, there are spacious but have an old style. People staff is kind.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clatar1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, it is nice to know that you found and unique service with our staff, the porpose of that is to offer our guest and specific service that they can't find in another Hotel.

We hope you to visit us, at a future ocassion.

Myriam Delgado L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#27 of 114 in Quito
344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 114 in Quito
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
1.2 mi away
Hotel Quito
Hotel Quito
#31 of 114 in Quito
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Quito

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
Address: Alemania E5 -103 y La Republica Avenue, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Quito
#20 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#26 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building with all the comforts of the modern life, 90 executive rooms & suites - In financial & banking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Quito
Quito Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing