We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable hotel in Quito” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
Ranked #17 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Reliable hotel in Quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel after arriving from Miami. It is in the heart of the city, so it took 45 minutes to get there from the new airport, late at night with very little traffic. Because I was not doing any touring in the city, I would stay next time at a hotel near the airport. (Please see my forthcoming review of Su Merced in Puembo. ) That said, I would stay at La Carolina again if I were planning to spend time in the city. La Carolina was comfortable and reasonably quiet except for passing traffic and those car alarms whose use seems to live on and on in Quito. The breakfast spread was attractive, with many choices, and service came with a smile. I wish they had opened for breakfast a half hour earlier, though, as I needed to be picked up for my transport to Mindo and birdwatching along the way. All in all, a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buthraupis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Buthraupis.

Thank you so much for your comment, it´s a oportunnitty to improve our service and some conditions, however, please, accept our sincerely apologies for the noise that you mentioned.

It would be a pleasure to serve you in a future. hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Myriam Delgado
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    114
    25
    3
    5
See reviews for
48
43
23
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I spent a few days in this hotel on my way to the north border and back. It was especially relaxing on the way back, when I really appreciated the comfort offered by the extremely kind staff of the hotel. Great choice of food at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear FFossi:

Thanks for your comments, your description about the hotel inspire us to mantain our level service, if you have any additional comment or suggest do not hesitate to contact us.

Hope see you soon.

Best regards

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hello, this is my second time on vacartion to Quito and being at Howard Johnson, it has a good service, restaurant and room service are ok but a little bit expensive.

Very close to Mall El Jardin, La Carolina park is in front of hotel, has a smoke area; room and bathroom are good also.

I stayed in a double bed room, I recommend it if you plan to travel with your children, or in a family vacation trip, and your are looking for an affordable, safe, clean and neat place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALeon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you so much for the comments that you leave us, it is a reason to be proud about of service, because we have notice that the memorable experience that we are looking for, was reached on your stay.

would be a pleasure to serve you in a future, like you deserve.

Best regards

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Pretty standard hotel. Pretty good when taking the price into consideration. The rooms are a little worn including the bathroom. I spent 8 nights there with a group of people on business. Be ware of seafood in the restaurant - one in our group was very sick after eating squid.
Service was good and the staff very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THEDANE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments. We are very sorried about the experience with the food, unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to let you know that we analyze the product and all the BPM rules was accomplished, however i would like to tell that we tried to compensate to your friend for the bad moment.
Thank you again for your feedback, that helps to improve our service.

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I booked two rooms and paid a lot of money for luxury weekend relax and business. staffs are very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately what you pay what you don't get apply here. Rooms and beds are two small for couple. It is not excellent location. ceiling very low. Hotel needs urgently re-decoration. Carpets looks dirty. It is common problem in Ecuador hotels. They do not re-invest for hotels. I make sure to book new built hotel for my next trip. Breakfast is too expensive for Ecuador.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to answer our survey and for giving us your comments and suggestions. At Howard Johnson Quito, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your or our own expectations.
We understand your discontent for the room status, however i would like to tell you about our remodeling process, so we are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.
Also you can ask for a better rate that includes benefits like breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Very good stay, it is very quiet and comfortable, they have very good food, both in room service and in the buffet complimentary breakfast. the room was very neat and the service was very helpfull. very good staff. very good option for your stay in quito.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosnoboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Director General at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your comment, it's very satisfying to know how was your stay and opinion of food service, our mission is to maintain the level and exceed your expectations.

I hope you visit us again, it will be a pleasure to welcome

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

A typical "upscale" Howard Johnson hotel. I gave it 4 stars, instead of three, because of the service we received. We stayed overnight and needed to catch an early flight. The wake-up call was on-time. We were taken to the airport in a private car at no charge. The room was not extremely clean, but workable, none the less. The bed was extremely comfortable. That's about it. A typical Ho-Jo's; nothing spectacular, nothing horrible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
We are grateful for having the time to let us know your comments. It is very important for us to know how was your stay, with us.
We apologize for not exceed your expectation in cleaning your room.
Your evaluation will help us to continue providing you the best service that our guests deserve. We hope to see you soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional requests, please contact us.

Best Regards

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#28 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zen
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zen
#25 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lugano Hotel
Lugano Hotel
#45 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Quito

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
Address: Alemania E5 -103 y La Republica Avenue, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Quito
#20 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#26 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building with all the comforts of the modern life, 90 executive rooms & suites - In financial & banking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Quito
Quito Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing